The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Thu Oct 06, 2022 7:04 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Global Scene Memories
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2022 5:39 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 4:14 pm
Posts: 14
Favourite food: fish
Machine type: AW16G
Hello,

There have been several posts on how to create scene memories in the AW16. I was able to create scenes for every track. In one of the posts Byron mentioned he recommended to create a global scene
for each song.

I did not see the global scene process in the manual. Can anyone please let me know how I can get this done.

Thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2022 7:14 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3803
Machine type: AW2400
Scene generally refers to a saved template that covers ALL the parameters that can also be be adjusted individually. A scene stores all current settings, which enables a quick recall of a stored set of global parameters.

If you are saving the settings for only one parameter ( such as track/input, DYN, EQ etc.) to be recalled later for that parameter only (such as an EQ setting for a vocalist , these are generally referred to as LIBRARY presets). When working with an individual parameter such as EQ or DYN, -- scroll to the (virtual) LIBRARY button on the screen display for the parameter that you are tweaking -- hit the Library button and new options appear -- hit Store - name the preset you are creating -- then in the future use that preset to recall those individual parameter setting. Often you will start with recall of a factory preset from that parameter's Library. Tweak it a bit and then name/store your tweaks as a new preset that you can quickly call up later. These libraries are specific to the project though and will unfortunately not appear for use in your next project

If you want to save the whole picture for later recall, then use the (real) SCENE button ( below the UNDO button , positioned to the right of the screen. this is very important to your workflow. When you hit the (real) Scene button, a preset will be created that includes ALL parameters, -- volume, pan, DYN, EQ etc. It is VERY important to do this, because when you switch from one project to another, all the settings from the project you are leaving remain in place. To get back to where you left off when you last worked on a recalled project You would then use the (real) Scene button >> and then the (virtual) Library option on the screen, to access ALL the settings you stored before you last exited from that project. If you did not save a global scene, you will be forced to recreate all the work you last did on that project. Make it a habit to store a scene every time you exit a project.

There are impacts upon the functioning of Volume settings after recalling a Global scene. I will explain them to you as needed, but first make sure you are confident using the scene button to store all your hard work. This is essential if you want to have more than one project on the go.

Scenes can also be used in coordination with the TEMPO MAP, but that is a discussion for another day.

Pg 79 of the manual is where you want to look for Scene recall info. Pg 74 - 78 discuss the creation/recall of individual settings for specific parameters. But look at pg 79 as it covers what i have been explaining here. I reiterate -- It is VERY important to do this, because when you switch from one project to another, all the settings from the project you are leaving remain in place. A scene is the only way to get them back, as they were.

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2022 1:41 am 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 4:14 pm
Posts: 14
Favourite food: fish
Machine type: AW16G
Thank you so much Byron for this extensive explanation. Much apprciated:) I will get busy on cresating these scenes.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2022 5:23 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8548
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
Late to the party as usual. Once you create a master scene (everything set to flat responses), you can call that up for your new song. Just remember that once you begin tweaking things (ie: fx, pan, reverb etc) save as a new scene and name it for the current song. Then for every tweak, I like to save the new song scene as I go.

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2022 9:54 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3803
Machine type: AW2400
RZ wrote:
Once you create a master scene (everything set to flat responses), you can call that up for your new song. Just remember that once you begin tweaking things (ie: fx, pan, reverb etc) save as a new scene and name it for the current song. Then for every tweak, I like to save the new song scene as I go.


As Ron suggests - save scenes regularly as you work. A really good habit ( which i often forget to do as often as I should!!)

The scene button takes you to the library of scenes you create along the way. BUT -- Every time you start a new Song (new Project), the scene library from the previous song disappears. That library will will reappear when you reload that previous song -- but a new song starts with a clean slate in the Scene Library. One exception is a protected scene that appears in all newly created song projects, called Initial Settings. When you recall that scene everything is set to flat and all the volumes are set to zero.. Then it becomes a matter of raising faders and turning on the inputs and track channels you want to use.

If you do want to make a master scene of your own, such as Ron suggests, you would need to create it in a song, and then when you start a new song import the scenes from the song you are leaving into the new song. You are given a window allowing you to do this, as you create that new song. The problem here though is that all the other scenes you created while working along with the first song will also go to the new song. They won't have utility in that new song though. so I have found that using the Initial Setting scene is the best way to start -- then lift the volumes and do the ON for the needed channels. And make a scene for that and work on from there.

If you are working on a G or a 1600 and using scenes, make sure you look at the Fader screen, shown using the View button. That screen shows the actual volume settings, which sometimes differ from the slider placements. You have to slide the hardware fader past the level shown on the (virtual) Fader screen, in order for the hardware fader to "pick up" the setting, and then that real fader is able to adjust the volumes, at least until another scene is called that may again differentiate the virtual setting on the screen from the physical slider placement. This becomes an issue sometimes when you try to use the Tempo Map to "automate" during a mixdown. 2400 users and 4416 users avoid this because there is automix on those machines.

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group