The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 4:52 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Sorry about this....
PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 10:40 am 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 10:42 pm
Posts: 24
Location: UK
Favourite food: Curry
Machine type: AW1600
I do hope that this isn't a stupid question!

If I purchased a SPL Goldmike preamp....where do I fit it in relation to my AW1600? I take an XLR out of the SPL and put it into...?

Also, what is the concensus opinion about the AW1600's preamps? I mean, unless you have lots of cash, surely it's an expensive trip to find out if it's the quality of the microphones rather than the preamps!

Incidentally, I have made several acoustic guitar recordings on my AW1600 and they sound fine to me! Perhaps my ears aren't that fussy!?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sorry about this....
PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 11:11 am 
Offline
Mr. Blues
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:51 pm
Posts: 3369
Location: Germany
Favourite food: Sauerkraut ;-)
Machine type: AW2400
Hi,

there are no stupid questions except the one what is Robbie´s main food :D

You have to connect the Xlr-Out of the preamp to the Xlr or Line Mic-Input of the AW.
I once bought an MPA Art Gold preamp, because I record acoustic guitars like you and I got some noticeable hiss when I had to raise the preamp gain of the AWs preamps. With the MPA preamp the problem is solved and the sound gets more precise and warmer. Its noticeable but not a dramatic difference in sound.

The AWs preamps are not bad for my ears, problem is the hiss when you have to raise the preamps a lot.

Andreas

_________________
Blues aint nothing but the blues!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sorry about this....
PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 11:18 am 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 10:42 pm
Posts: 24
Location: UK
Favourite food: Curry
Machine type: AW1600
Thanks for the advice.

I must be a bit of a twit though, as I still don't fully understand....I mean, surely that means I would still be ultimately using the AW1600's preamps, doesn't it? If I'm taking a line out of an external preamp, into the line in on the 1600?

It could possibly be the case that the AW1600's preamps are not good enough simply because they're using lower quality microphones?

I really wouldn't like to spend £00s on a preamp only to find out that my mics aren't up to the job! (I use Rode mics).

PS - what is Robbie's main food? Oh, and who is Robbie?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sorry about this....
PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 1:00 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5011
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Robbie, that's me.

Coffee and cheese, please.

Rode condensors don't really need external preamps, the internal preamps are up to the job. The hiss you hear won't be printed to track. Give it a try first.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sorry about this....
PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 1:08 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 10:42 pm
Posts: 24
Location: UK
Favourite food: Curry
Machine type: AW1600
In the same cup?

Thanks for that. Yes, I have recorded with the rode condensers several times, using my acoustic guitar (Takamine EAN16). It sounds really sweet, and I can't believe I could get a better sound, but if I could, I would be interested!

Actually, I used the Yamaha AW1600 to record my band live a couple of months ago. All we did was gaffer tape 2 rode mics together, crossed, on one mic stand about 30 feer from the stage, and, well, you can hear the results on the videos here;

http://www.myspace.com/mojohands4

The mp3s on the site where taken from the same gig, and we used the AW1600 recording on the youtube videos too.

So the sound is exactly what was coming out of the stage PA.

I dont think it came out too badly considering it was such a 'botch' job, do you?

There were about 100 people there, out of view, and they enjoyed the gig.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sorry about this....
PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 6:09 pm 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1254
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
Different mics have different output levels. On some (dynamics in particular), you would have to increase the AW1600 gain so much that you start hearing some hiss. In this case, an external preamp would help. It would increase the level of the signal to the AW1600 and you could put the gain control at the "line" position, where you hear no noise. Yes, you are still going through the 1600's preamp, but you aren't getting the noise from it. BTW, there is no way to completely bypass the 1600 preamp.

Also, depending on the quality of the external preamp, you might still get noise at its high gain setting. In this case, back off on its gain and increase the 1600 gain a bit to get the proper input level for recording.

Record on,

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sorry about this....
PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 8:03 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3359
Machine type: AW2400
Well stated, as usual Ralph.

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sorry about this....
PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 10:06 pm 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1254
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
Thank you, Byron. I'll be waiting for my sticky gold star in the mail. :)

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group