The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 3:48 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 3:35 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5011
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
I'm using Magix Notation 2 to write some midi files. For practice purposes and to get to know the software, I'm trying to put a Level 42 song into midi. It works great but I have one problem.

When I export to midi and play the midi file, all sounds are reset to piano. When I play the original file in Notation, I hear the different instruments, which makes it sound more natural. But the exported midi file plays all the parts in piano sound only.

Downloaded midi files do have the "original" sounds so it's not the player (winamp).

Any ideas?

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 2:11 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Generic computer synths (microsoft's for example) use general midi.

Your sequence can be set to call any instrument on any channel. If the patch selected on midi channel one is general midi program change #1 , then a grand piano is heard. If channel two of the sequence is also set to PC#1 then a grand piano is also heard. Sooooooooo in a nutshell , make sure each midi channel of the sequence is set to the desired instrument that is correct for that channel. Default is #1 , grand piano.

Only synths that use general midi conform to this. Most soft synths require a bank and patch number to select the desired patch.

A more realistic way to do this is to create a piano midi sequence , play this into a soft synth with the desired piano patch preselected and record the audio into your G. Do this for each instrument in the sequence in turn.

Holler back if none of this makes sense. :lol:

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 11:06 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5011
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
mrskygod wrote:
make sure each midi channel of the sequence is set to the desired instrument that is correct for that channel.


I think I did that. In the channel list, I assign each sound to a channel which can be heard by playing back (in notation). Problem is that the sound that is assigned to a midi channel, seems to be not written in the midi file.

Strange thing is that when I open the file in notation and I start playing back immediately (so, before I do anything else), they are also all piano sounds, even with the list in front of me. A single click on each item in the list (channel), not changing any setting, will change the sound into the desired sound.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 1:42 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Quote:
will change the sound into the desired sound


Now yer thinkin like a midi guru =D>

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 8:57 am 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5011
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
That's a coincidence. :lol:

More like an accident.

What does it mean?

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 5:58 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5011
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
OK so I want the file to contain the information that any player needs to be set to the correct sounds.

Still haven't figured it out. Discovered a lot of different stuff along the way, but getting the right sound attached to each channel is still a mistery.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:13 pm 
Offline
Footswitch Genius
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:54 am
Posts: 534
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Favourite food: Jarlsberg
Machine type: AW16G
never used Magix Notation 2 but assuming it's similar to any other midi sequencer, you should be able to write a patch change event for each channel at the song start (or preferably slightly before, during the count in)

you may have to insert it manually in the event list

_________________
Wanted to buy: one Right Word Clock, in good condition.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group