The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 4:43 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Exporting Tracks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 4:07 pm 
Offline
Roper
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 4:22 am
Posts: 2515
You can export up to 16 tracks at a time onto CD for use in other G's or, indeed, for any machine that can use WAV files. Ideal for taking the audio over to PC for additional mixing and processing for example.

To achieve this do the following:

1. Press the EDIT button until you get to the EXPORT screen.

2. Use the cursor key to move to the pane on the screen marked TR:

3. Use the data wheel to scroll through the options until you reach 1-16. It's the second last option available.

4. Use the cursor keys to move to the top row of zero's that look like this - 00:00:00:000 being hours, minutes, seconds and milliseconds. This indicates the start of any track times you have recorded. Leave it just at the zeros.

5. Use the cursor keys to move to the second rwo of zero's (again, 00:00:00:000) and use the data wheel to enter a time slightly longer than the duration of your tracks. So, if your song is 3:55 long then enter, say, 4:00.

Your two rows should then look like this:

00:00:00:000
00:04:00:000

6. Use the cursor keys to move to the EXEC pane.

7. Press ENTER. A small pop-up window will appear asking for confirmation. Use the cursor keys to move to OK and press ENTER.

8. The G will begin to export your TRACKS in WAV format - you will see a progress bar following the completion of the export.

9. When the G is finished it will pop your CD out and that's it. Job done.

Using the 1 - 16 option will export all tracks you have recorded on said tracks. So, if you have 8 recorded then it will export those 8. If 16, then 16 and so on. You don't have to worry about them being recorded sequentially either. If you have recorded on tracks 1,3,7,8 11/12 & 15/16 then it will export just those and ignore the empty tracks.

Courtesy - Lysdexia

_________________
The Euphrates:

Yesterday I was born here

Tomorrow I'll be gone


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 4:16 pm 
Offline
Wants You
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 9:52 pm
Posts: 5276
Location: Hamilton Square, NJ
Machine type: AW16G
A cool trick I learned from Drum. If you only want selected tracks while using the 1-16 option, just toggle the unwanted tracks to a blank virtual track temporarily and the export will only write the desired tracks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 4:35 pm 
Offline
Roper
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 4:22 am
Posts: 2515
You can also download and utilize AWExtract

_________________
The Euphrates:

Yesterday I was born here

Tomorrow I'll be gone


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 3:45 pm 
Offline
City Slicker
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 11:37 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Anglesey ( Isle of Chavs )
is it possible to take the cd of exported tracks and then load them into a pc on a programme like sonar

_________________
"It's not that I'm afraid to die, I just don't want to be there when it happens".
Woody Allen


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 4:31 pm 
Offline
Wants You
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 9:52 pm
Posts: 5276
Location: Hamilton Square, NJ
Machine type: AW16G
The exported tracks are in .wav form so I'd say that's a yes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Exporting tracks
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2005 7:25 am 
Offline
City Slicker
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 10:31 pm
Posts: 38
Location: Socorro, NM
I'm trying to export tracks to a friend with a Mackie HDR24/96 so he can mix & master for us. Problem is, the Mackie won't read wav files.
We tried plugging it into the oprical ports with no luck. Can't find any useable documentation on using optical I/O, either.
Does anyone know of a way to export tracks thru the optical I/O?
Thanks in advance...

_________________
No one ever looked back and wished they's spent more time at work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2005 10:25 am 
Offline
Guitar Ho
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:25 pm
Posts: 7793
Location: A la belle Côte d'Azur sans chaussettes
Machine type: Other - please inform admin
There's no data transfer with the optical ports. The only thing you can do in your case is to play them one at a time and record them on the Mack. If all you are going to do is master there, you might just play the stereo track and record it, but you mentioned mix, so that's the best you're going to have given WAV files are not an option.

_________________
Honor is a debt you owe to those that see it in you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 6:20 am 
Offline
City Slicker
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 10:31 pm
Posts: 38
Location: Socorro, NM
Thanks, DC. I was afraid of that - just hoping otherwise.

_________________
No one ever looked back and wished they's spent more time at work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:29 am 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:12 am
Posts: 14
Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne - UK
Machine type: AW16G
It should be fairly simple to convert from Wave files to AIFF or SDII or another format the Mackie supports, programmes like Peak or Spark for the Mac do this, and I'm sure there are even more PC progs that will do the job.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 3:55 am 
Offline
City Slicker
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 10:31 pm
Posts: 38
Location: Socorro, NM
Thanks, snipedog! It looks like I can export AIFF right from Audacity. I'll give it a try!

_________________
No one ever looked back and wished they's spent more time at work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:53 am 
Offline
No More Coasters!
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:33 pm
Posts: 1793
Machine type: AW1600
The export feature works great, and by selecting in and out time points it's very easy to sync all your tracks up to the zero point when importing them into most PC based software.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 12:06 pm 
Offline
Dude
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 6:56 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Seaton Carew,Hartlepool,UK
Can this method be used on an AW?.

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/brendaneyre


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:06 pm 
Offline
The Reverend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:45 am
Posts: 4047
Location: dusty border town
Favourite food: cheddar-lol
Machine type: AW16G
Sorry to be thick here, but what method?

_________________
it's funny, the older you get, the older you wanna be


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 5:13 pm 
Offline
Dude
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 6:56 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Seaton Carew,Hartlepool,UK
bokchoy wrote:
Sorry to be thick here, but what method?


You can export up to 16 tracks at a time onto CD for use in other G's or, indeed, for any machine that can use WAV files. Ideal for taking the audio over to PC for additional mixing and processing for example.

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/brendaneyre


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Exporting Tracks
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 4:30 pm 
Offline
Review Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:12 pm
Posts: 1156
Location: Connecticut
Favourite food: Vegetable Lasagne
Machine type: AW16G
welll YES YOU CANNN!

_________________
http://joelbooska.wixsite.com/thevideofringe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Exporting Tracks
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2010 4:34 am 
Offline
Dude
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 10:44 pm
Posts: 23
Favourite food: Curry
Machine type: AW1600
60's guy wrote:
5. Use the cursor keys to move to the second rwo of zero's (again, 00:00:00:000) and use the data wheel to enter a time slightly longer than the duration of your tracks. So, if your song is 3:55 long then enter, say, 4:00.

Your two rows should then look like this:

00:00:00:000
00:04:00:000


I remember at one point thinking "how come none of my exported tracks will play?" It was because I hadn't set a value to the second set of numbers and therefore the end time was pretty much immediately when the track started. Wrong footed by Yamaha once more. Haha.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Exporting Tracks
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 6:08 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 3:12 am
Posts: 22
I'm just trying to do this right now. I want to transfer my files onto my music PC that's running Cubase 7.5. I just hope they all fit onto one CD.
I'll get back and let you know how this works out.

Been gone way too long!

Jeremykeys

_________________
Why scratch with the turkeys when you can soar with the eagles?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Exporting Tracks
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 10:47 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 3:12 am
Posts: 22
Well, I'll be happy to report that this indeed did work! I imported all 16 tracks from my song on my AW16G to my PC running Cubase. I discovered that I had to import them as audio files and because they aren't individually named it took a bit of messing around but once I got it figured out it was simple.
One thing to remember is that your or in my case my effects and compressions didn't get transferred. Nor did the pannings. I just moved over the raw audio files.
If you have any questions about doing this I might be able to help.

Jeremykeys

_________________
Why scratch with the turkeys when you can soar with the eagles?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Exporting Tracks
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2016 10:09 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8103
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
Congrats on the transfer. As for effects, you're probably much better off using the cubase effects track at a time. Look forward to hearing your work.

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group