The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Fri May 25, 2018 12:37 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Free AW16G
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 12:07 am 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 8:07 pm
Posts: 14
Favourite food: Donuts
Machine type: AW16G
I am giving up on this device. It will do everything but record, which is elemental to its use to me. Before sending it to the recycle bin, I thought I would offer it to someone who might be able to salvage parts from it to restore another similar unit. It is cosmetically excellent, but functionally deficient. You pay shipping only. Let me know if you want her.

CWK


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Free AW16G
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 2:14 am 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5083
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Hi CWK,

I would be interested but what I would really like for you is to get it functional. We've had so many visitors here that were happy with their G, so you should be able to be happy with it too.

You say it is functionally deficient, do you mean "broken" or do you mean "I can't get this to work"?

In case of the latter, I'm sure that with some help from the forum, you will get some recording done.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Free AW16G
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 3:14 am 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 8:07 pm
Posts: 14
Favourite food: Donuts
Machine type: AW16G
Thank you. I actually came to this forum last August and received excellent guidance and advice. After trying all the suggestions the unit is still unable to record. I’ve since transitioned to a Presonus interface and StudioOne DAW. Let me know if you want the unit and I’ll figure out the cost of shipping.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Free AW16G
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:21 pm 
Offline
HamelnStock Survivor and Midi Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:20 am
Posts: 2650
Location: Belgium
Favourite food: the edible kind
Machine type: AW16G
Hi CWK. I'm interested to know what the unit does or does not do. Sometimes there are really silly reason for the device not doing what you expect. It can be as silly as moving the faders all the way up and down or arming a track for record and i even seen a case in which the user did not reallize you have to push record and play at the same time for the device to start recording. There is no shame in that and there are no dumb questions. depending on your timezone we could even do a skype video call or facetime so we can see what is happening.

I think you should start by checking if you can see incoming signals by going to the view page and pressing the input on which you have connected your gear. It may take some patience but usually we get the device going. Good luck.

Dirk

_________________
In a minute it might be gone. Life is a bear in a bubble.

http://www.soundclick.com/bearinabubble


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Free AW16G
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 9:47 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5083
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Hiya CWK

Take Dirk's advice. Please try to get the unit working with his help first. I don't want to have it if you haven't tried first :)

If Dirk and Byron are out of options, then is the time to send the unit to Holland. Not sooner.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Free AW16G
PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 6:16 am 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 8:07 pm
Posts: 14
Favourite food: Donuts
Machine type: AW16G
I'm sure I am not the sharpest tool in the shed, so I wouldn't be surprised if I am missing something. Had I never been able to record with the device at all it would be fair to assume operator error. But I successfully recorded for several years with the device before running into this problem. Nevertheless, I set up the device this evening with a microphone and headphones, just to verify that I wasn't missing something obvious. The result - still no recording. Here's what I did to test the unit, and a description of the results:

1. Tried recording directly to a sound clip. Press RECORD+PLAY results in PLAY. When I press the RECORD button it lights up. RECORD light goes out when the button is no longer depressed, and the PLAY buttom remains illuminated. No movement of the meters when I tap the microphone. No recorded sounds during playback.

2. Tried recording a track, linking input 1 to track 1. Press RECORD+PLAY results in PLAY. Same button behavior as when attempting the CLIP recording. The time measurement advances for as long as the PLAY button remains active. No movement of the meters when I tap the microphone. Time measurement stops when I press STOP, and returns to zero when RTZ is pressed. No recorded sounds during playback.

Last time I was on the forum someone suggested I try the autopunch to see if it could be tricked into recording at the punch point. I didn't set that up tonight, but it didn't work last time, and I don't see any indication that it will work tonight.

I have previously taken the unit apart just to make sure there aren't any obvious discoloration or physical discrepancies in the boards. I did not see anything that would indicate a physical problem. The only issue of which I am aware is the previous owner removed the foot switch jack from the board. Last time I had the unit apart I clipped off the stubs, thinking there may be some ambient polarity causing the unit to think there is an open switch. Doing that didn't change anything, but there may be other things that can be done to remediate the amputation of the switch prongs. Open to suggestions for fixing that.

So that's the story. If anyone has suggestions, I'm all ears.

Thanks, all, for your patience and counsel. I look forward to hearing from you.

CWK


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Free AW16G
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:08 am 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3429
Machine type: AW2400
I am not an electronics guy, but I have used the foot pedal a few times. It seems to me that the footswitch works with a double tap, in some instances, If i recall correctly. I will have to look at the manual. But perhaps the machine (software? hardware?) is tricked into "waiting" for a tap. ??? I'll look at the manual and get back.

stand by to standby

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Free AW16G
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:25 am 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3429
Machine type: AW2400
After a review of the 2400 manual I found no mention of the need to double tap in the manual's Auto punch-in description. However, The FS was noted (recommended in a hint) as useful for manual punch in. I do recall using it with the auto Punch though , so I guess it means a bench test! My old 1600 is getting some work with these bench tests. I was just yesterday exploring Pad operating properties for another thread.

I will look in the 1600 manual just to be sure too.

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Free AW16G
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 6:49 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8164
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
Seems to me I recall where plugging the foot pedal into the wrong thing caused the unit not to record. So, if there's open wires, perhaps . . . . ?

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Free AW16G
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 12:05 am 
Offline
HamelnStock Survivor and Midi Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:20 am
Posts: 2650
Location: Belgium
Favourite food: the edible kind
Machine type: AW16G
Just a silly thought but factory reset may also help if you no longer need anything that's still on the drive. I believe Robbie has formatted his drive a couple of times in the past. If i'm remembering right you have to reinstall the os after that.

_________________
In a minute it might be gone. Life is a bear in a bubble.

http://www.soundclick.com/bearinabubble


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Free AW16G
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 2:54 am 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 8:07 pm
Posts: 14
Favourite food: Donuts
Machine type: AW16G
Nothing silly about that idea. I did most of the administrative actions I could think of - updated the firmware, reset to factory settings, formatted the hard drive. It's a clean system that stubbornly refuses to record.

Thanks for all the good ideas.

CWK


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Free AW16G
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:34 pm 
Offline
The Reverend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:45 am
Posts: 4054
Location: dusty border town
Favourite food: cheddar-lol
Machine type: AW16G
Have you thought of using the AW as a control surface for Studio One? I'm thinking of trying that out soon so my lonely G doesn't waste away in the closet...

Salud!

_________________
it's funny, the older you get, the older you wanna be


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Free AW16G
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 6:59 pm 
Offline
Ranch Hand
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:39 pm
Posts: 1141
Machine type: AW4416
bokchoy wrote:
Have you thought of using the AW as a control surface for Studio One? I'm thinking of trying that out soon so my lonely G doesn't waste away in the closet...

Salud!


Definitely the way to go.

T.

_________________
http://tmacstudio.wix.com/tmac

http://www.soundcloud.com/t-mac-12

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmCjAzN ... ture=watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GETYJUJKu0

https://www.reverbnation.com/tmac


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Free AW16G
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:09 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 8:07 pm
Posts: 14
Favourite food: Donuts
Machine type: AW16G
Might be a silly question, but how does the AW16G talk to the DAW?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Free AW16G
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:42 pm 
Offline
The Reverend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:45 am
Posts: 4054
Location: dusty border town
Favourite food: cheddar-lol
Machine type: AW16G
cwkelly3 wrote:
Might be a silly question, but how does the AW16G talk to the DAW?


Through midi... Set up can be a pain for dolts like me, but T.Mac (see above) seems to know the procedure within the Utiity menu on the G in order to get it working... AFAIK, it works for fader and transport controls only... With assistance from T.Mac, which I will be eternally grateful, I hope to get it up and running this week... check out his websites--- he's quite accomplished!!

Salud!

_________________
it's funny, the older you get, the older you wanna be


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Free AW16G
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 6:38 pm 
Offline
Ranch Hand
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:39 pm
Posts: 1141
Machine type: AW4416
cwkelly3 wrote:
Might be a silly question, but how does the AW16G talk to the DAW?


What DAW are you trying to connect to?

T.

_________________
http://tmacstudio.wix.com/tmac

http://www.soundcloud.com/t-mac-12

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmCjAzN ... ture=watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GETYJUJKu0

https://www.reverbnation.com/tmac


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group