The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Sat Nov 17, 2018 8:36 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2016 9:21 am 
Offline
Sodbuster

Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:07 am
Posts: 51
Location: Sydney Australia
Favourite food: Curried Watermelon
Machine type: AW1600
Greetings
I want to record a live performance, I will be linking a 1600 and a slave 16G by Midi. Hopefully I will be backing up and deleting all the stuff on both units.
My question is; any one know approximately how long the recording can be done. Ill be using all 8 tracks on both units, most tracks will done dry, I may be using the inboard compression for the base & percussion (4 of the 16)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2016 12:21 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5126
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Hi Graham,

The G has a 6.5 GB song limit, so, even if you start with an empty HD (having 20 GB of room), the song is restricted to 6.5 GB.

Recording on the G will take around 5.3 MB per channel per minute, so when you record using all 8 channels it'll take around 43 MB per minute.

6.5 GB : 43 MB = around 150 minutes = 2½ hours.

A bit of warning though. It's always a good idea not to push it to the limit. I've worked with 6.2 and 6.3 GB songs and I ran into problems when I wanted to edit or copy.

My advice would be (assuming it's a multi-hour performance) to pre-define a number of songs on your machine (so they already exist before the actual recording takes place) and switch from one to the next after every hour or so, when you have the opportunity. The song data will remain "handlable" (is this proper english), even when you will be editing. The scenes organisation on the G supports this type of work flow as they will remain active the way they are, even when you switch songs.

The 1600 has no song limit other than the 40 GB disc size.

I hope this will help a bit.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2016 2:32 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3490
Machine type: AW2400
Robbie wrote:
The scenes organisation on the G supports this type of work flow as they will remain active the way they are, even when you switch songs.

The 1600 has no song limit other than the 40 GB disc size.

I hope this will help a bit.


There are scenes and there are "current settings". A scene is a "snapshot" of a the total bank of setting, preserved when the operator creates the scene.

As Robbie indicates, the settings do not change when you close a song (project) and create or open another. So, when you do as Robbie suggests and switch to a new song, what you had on deck in the way of setting, will remain in place. Very convenient. but if you have any need to return to a base line,after tweaking a bit during the first set, for example, it is best that your "base line" settings be preserved in a scene. A scene can be quickly recalled, to re-establish predetermined setting. So when you are satisfied that the stage is set as you want, create a scene, using the Scenes button on your G.

Further notes. --- A scene does not have the capacity to re-establish input >>> track connection, to enable recording. So each time you switch songs, leave time to re-arm the tracks for recording.

Further --- when you are using two machines --- If you are using the two machines to send the signal to the Front of House, the slave signal will have to enter the master deck, in order to be sent to the mix, So, that signal will occupy one or two inputs on the master (mono or stereo). The reduces the available track count for inputs, by one or two.

I have done as you plan, with good results.
good luck.

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2016 4:30 am 
Offline
Sodbuster

Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:07 am
Posts: 51
Location: Sydney Australia
Favourite food: Curried Watermelon
Machine type: AW1600
"Wow" fantastic information from you both.
rely appreciate your effort in replying.

Once I've cleared the decks on both units ill start doing some testing & practicing before
our gig.

Still love this site after all these years


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 3:35 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8204
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
I never recommend pushing the machine much past 90% of what it can do. I like to leave 10% for the "what if's". If you're going to be behind the controls, consider pausing the "tape" in between a group of songs to give you more space. Since you'll be editing anyway, you can easily put together though fades, seamless transitions. Sounds like a fun time!

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 2:10 pm 
Offline
Tinhorn

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 12:50 am
Posts: 317
Favourite food: overmuramovingcake
Hi,
there's other possible problem when syncing 2 machines for long few hours session.
If you link via MIDI only - it is simple and work - but 2 audio clocks will be out of sync. Usually not noticable on short sessions (few ms probably), but for longer sessions it could mean seconds (= lots of post production work to sync by hand).

So split your songs/sessions like others mentioned, or use also audio sync (you'd need coax to optical SPDIF converter and some more tweaking). Search sync topics on this forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2016 12:01 am 
Offline
Sodbuster

Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:07 am
Posts: 51
Location: Sydney Australia
Favourite food: Curried Watermelon
Machine type: AW1600
Thanks for the tip on the time lag, good tip.
It's will be arduous enough without trying to re syncing the tracks post the gig.
Thanks again.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group