The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Mon Aug 20, 2018 2:16 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 9:34 pm 
Offline
Greenhorn

Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 2:36 am
Posts: 185
I just saw this and thought "I wonder"...
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/128GB-USB-FLA ... 3f0c6378d2

...So, doable?

FTI


Last edited by free trade inn on Fri Mar 08, 2013 1:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 9:46 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5105
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Yes, doable. But a normal price for a 128 GB version would be around $ 300,-. I've even seen 256 GB versions.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 10:14 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3469
Machine type: AW2400
Expensive flash drive at $300 !!! -- This is just an ordinary flash drive is it not? The price on the listing was 15 pounds. Not a banker, but i don't think the exchange rate is quite that unfavourable.

As far as bulk archive - you would have to go through a computer. you can't just plug a drive of any size or kind into the USB of an AW series machine. But saving to a flash drive can be done.

You can get flash drives up to several GB in size.

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 10:26 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5105
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Given the fact it is 128 GB (that's like huuuge for a flash drive), $ 300,- as a regular price is not unexpected. Obviously there are cheaper alternatives, but they involve mechanical disc drives that are easy to damage.

In the top segment of flash drives, it's always been common practice that finding a drive twice the size of the other, it will be three times as expensive. So, $ 300,- at this moment is just about right.

It has nothing to do with the price you see on the ebay page, it's just what someone bid. It'll probably get a lot higher, but then again, I don't know how reliable things like this usually are. But the question was: "doable?" and it certainly is.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 11:02 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5105
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Giving this somewhat more thought, FTI, what Byron says (I think) is that a pen drive like this is not the obvious solution for mass storage of your projects. Assuming you won't carry it around much, you're better off buying a small external HD. A 500 GB version is around $ 70 or so. And indeed, you have to go through a computer. The AW and the external drive (or pen drive) are both clients that need a host (computer).

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 4:01 am 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3469
Machine type: AW2400
Sorry robbie, when i saw the ebay price and the number 128 i went into old school mode and thought 128 megs, which when i think of it would be useless for audio storage. I wondered - you being the math teacher and all. !!! That's what you get for jumping in without reading properly. The thing i worry about with flash drives and important stuff is having the little drive get lost in a shuffle of papers.

Just had a friend whose phone got water exposed, due to his stupidity. He had all his business contacts on it and no backup if you can believe it of a guy who does all his business by phone. The phone is now in the bowl of rice, but he tried to turn it on several times at the time of the incident. I am told that is the worst thing to do??? until it dries. can you get info off a damaged phone, if you pay the right guy to fetch it???

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:27 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5105
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Byron wrote:
That's what you get for jumping in without reading properly.

I've been there. Numerous times :)

Whatever medium you use, always make a backup. Preferably two. In 2003 I bought my first digital camera (still have it) and put the pictures on several computers. I even have two external HD's one of which is in a safe place in Ria's parents house, I swap them on a regular basis so it's always more or less up-to-date.

I think there are companies that can salvage your friends contacts, but it'll be very expensive. That information is written in an electronic memory which probably isn't damaged. The hardware to read, write and display the data probably is.

Talking about old school mode... I have a 4 MB CompactFlash card in my drawer. That's old. My first computer was a VIC-20 that had 3.5 kilobytes of memory. That's not much but it was soo cool.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 1:57 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3469
Machine type: AW2400
And the jump from a commodore 64 to a 128 !!! Those were the first guys to go "apple" chasing.

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 2:09 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5105
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Yes and I went from a VIC-20 (3.5 kB of RAM) to an Atari 1040 ST, one full megabyte of RAM, 800 kB free for GFA basic programming! And drag and drop!

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:18 pm 
Offline
Greenhorn

Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 2:36 am
Posts: 185
OK I now have a massive PC HD and an external drive for backing up.
What I want to do is dump everything from my AW2400 onto the PC and then copy that onto my ext. drive for safety.
The latter seems simple enough, correct me if I am wrong copy and paste?
Its the getting everything onto my pc that concerns me. Is there an easy to follow idiot guide that lets me dump the lot inc. songs/settings etc?

Cheers in advance

FTI


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:55 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3469
Machine type: AW2400
Yes, you can hook up to PC via USB. Then the AW will show as two external storage devices. In each of these partitions is a folder called song folder. In this folder reside all your projects. Open this folder to see what is inside. Each has the file type .AWS . Drag and drop individual projects to your PC. Or if you wish, don't open this folder --- > drag and drop the whole song folder to the PC. Put what you want in two locations, off the AW. Then you are safe to delete a project from the AW. To restore - reverse the process.

There are two song folders, one in each partition. It matters not to which partition a song is restored.

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 4:27 pm 
Offline
Greenhorn

Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 2:36 am
Posts: 185
Hmmm,
Im getting an unknown device message and its not showing up on my pc.
I have windows 7 and am getting an error code 43.

Cheers again,

FTI


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 6:00 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8190
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
You can get a 128gb flash drive (jump drive) for under $100usd. Probably more like $80. But I agree, why not buy a 500gb portable for around $80. You can't have enough storage IMPO.

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 8:39 pm 
Offline
Greenhorn

Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 2:36 am
Posts: 185
Quote:
why not buy a 500gb portable

Have.
But why wont my PC recog my AW2400?

FTI


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 9:56 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8190
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
free trade inn wrote:
Quote:
why not buy a 500gb portable

Have.
But why wont my PC recog my AW2400?

FTI


Have they been introduced? :wink:


Make sure the POWER switch on the AW2400 is set to OFF, then connect the AW2400 to the computer via a USB cable.
Turn on the AW2400.
No driver installation is necessary for WAV file transfer. If it is the first time you have connected a USB cable on a Windows machine, however, you may see a
message prompting you to install a USB MIDI driver. Even if you will not send and receive MIDI messages via the USB cable, install the USB MIDI driver as
described on page 266.

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 7:38 am 
Offline
Greenhorn

Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 2:36 am
Posts: 185
Quote:
install the USB MIDI driver as
described on page 266.


I cant find cd so used this

http://download.yamaha.com/usb_midi/

Installed ok but still wont recog aw2400.

What am I doing wrong?

FTI


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 8:01 am 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3469
Machine type: AW2400
What operating system on the PC?

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 8:14 am 
Offline
Greenhorn

Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 2:36 am
Posts: 185
Win 7 64 bit

FTI


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:06 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8190
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
And the 2400 power was off when you connected it?

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:34 pm 
Offline
Greenhorn

Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 2:36 am
Posts: 185
Yes

http://img547.imageshack.us/img547/3766/captureusb.png

FTI


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group