The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 3:50 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2008 11:25 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 8:03 pm
Posts: 13
Help i have just purchased a Rode NT2 mic and I cannot get a single squeak out of it (and yes it is Xmas Day!).

I have checked the usual things like cables, switching input channels, switching phantom power on/off, I am confused all other mics work OK.

Is there an incompatibility between the two items, sureley the mis should produce some sound through the AW1600 gain controls or do I need a separate Mic amplifier?

Any help would be appreciated, I have also e mailed "Rode" direct

Regards
Peter


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 12:49 am 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5017
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Hiya Peter,

That is strange, you should get something out of it altogether.

Phantom power should be on as it is a condenser. Have you tried with other condenser mics?

An external preamp should not be necessary to get something.

You probably tried the switches.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 1:48 am 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3365
Machine type: AW2400
Sounds mysterious. Have you made sure that the input for the mic is designated as "on" (Monitor screen), or armed as an input > track link in the Direct Record dialog?

Hope you get it soon. Got to be something small, unless the mic is faulty.

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 1:58 am 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1256
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
Definitely wouldn't be any incompatibility issues.

I use an NT2-A through an external preamp. However, I just hooked it direct to the 1600, turned the phantom power on and it works.

Here's what I would do:
a) Hook another condensor mic up to the 1600 and verify it works. Look at the Monitor screen and press the Input button of the channel the mic is using. Make sure the meter is moving for that channel when you try the mic.
b) Disconnect that mic from the same cable and try the NT2-A. Make sure the 1600's input gain is up to max.
c) If no output, you've got a bad mic.

If you don't have another mic that needs phantom power, then verify (twice) in step (b) that both phantom power switches are ON on the rear panel of the 1600.

Good luck,

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 12:07 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 8:03 pm
Posts: 13
Hi
I have tried all suggestions, nothing coming through so it points to the mic being faulty, thanks to those that have replied.
Regards
Peter


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 1:22 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5017
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Bummer. Too bad you couldn't solve it. As you just purchased it you will probably be able to exchange it for another. Please let us know what you do and what the results are.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 3:25 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 8:03 pm
Posts: 13
I presume it is not necessary for cables with XLR connections at both ends!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 3:38 pm 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Phantom powered mics need XLR connectors on both ends. There is no phnatom power transmitted from TRS jacks.

Sometimes condenser mics accumulate moisture. Placing them near a 40watt light bulb can sometimes dry them out enough to make it work again.

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:42 pm 
Offline
Wants You
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 9:52 pm
Posts: 5276
Location: Hamilton Square, NJ
Machine type: AW16G
Yes, if you're using TRS jacks you've just solved your problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 7:18 pm 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1256
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
It's interesting how that one piece of critical info sometimes takes a while to surface. :)

Buying a new cable is a lot easier than returning the mic.

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2008 3:56 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 8:03 pm
Posts: 13
Thanks everyone, yes the solution may seem obvious to many and yet not to all others and there is always something extra to learn. I have now sorted the problem and the Mic works fine thanks.

Regards
Peter


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2008 7:55 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5017
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Everything starts by being new, to everyone. :)

Glad it works. You will surely love your mic.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2008 8:36 pm 
Offline
Wrangler
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 2:51 pm
Posts: 877
Favourite food: food
Machine type: AW16G
I love my NT2A. Rode rock!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group