The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 4:48 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: preamp for reamp
PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 5:44 am 
Offline
Review Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:12 pm
Posts: 1156
Location: Connecticut
Favourite food: Vegetable Lasagne
Machine type: AW16G
Does anyone have experience in any way or knowledge of a stereo tube preamp that is good for taking signals already recorded from the aux out of the AW16 (any signals, guitar, drum, etc..) and giving them some nice 'warming up' and presence.
For example, if I wanted to record a 'clean' guitar track on the fly with no fx or treatment whatsoever.
I would later plan to 'process' this recorded track to a tube pre to emulate or reamp from amp or speakers into mic...back into the AW16 to make sure it got some kind of good chance to live.

The reason for a stereo preamp is just to run a complete mix through onto a reliable catch source for the master archive.

...?

and again, any aplogies for the set up of question :lol:

_________________
http://joelbooska.wixsite.com/thevideofringe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: preamp for reamp
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:05 am 
Offline
Review Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:12 pm
Posts: 1156
Location: Connecticut
Favourite food: Vegetable Lasagne
Machine type: AW16G
Well I bumped into this ancient thread and once again have a question.
After returning my presonus stereo pre (piece of redundance), I'm now interested in the Electro-Harmonix stereo tube pre stompbox.
This, of course, would be for reamping recorded tracks on my G to make them more dense and 'round'.
I.E.-getting a smashed snare sound instead of an eye gouging poke.

Anyone have any experience with these units?
I still have 65$ in credit at GC.
Thanks

_________________
http://joelbooska.wixsite.com/thevideofringe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: preamp for reamp
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 3:20 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3365
Machine type: AW2400
What Presonus unit did you return? I own a Presonus "Bluetube" It has two channels - each with separate tube gain controls.

I have used it to do as you have suggested in the original post. It certainly did no harm to signals I sent through it, but I must admit I did not continue with the experimentation i.e. I did not really push the tube gain in succesive passes to do A B C comparisons. I'll see if i can find some time.

( I think this is post 996!!)

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: preamp for reamp
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:26 pm 
Offline
Mr. Blues
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:51 pm
Posts: 3369
Location: Germany
Favourite food: Sauerkraut ;-)
Machine type: AW2400
Byron,

not far away to be welcomed to the "Club of the adult-section members".
Be sure the doc confirmed tha your heart is strong and healthy ...

Andreas

_________________
Blues aint nothing but the blues!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: preamp for reamp
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 6:19 pm 
Offline
Review Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:12 pm
Posts: 1156
Location: Connecticut
Favourite food: Vegetable Lasagne
Machine type: AW16G
Byron, yes it is the same model.
However, it only has one tube being shared by two channels and the plate has a low voltage making it more of a designer imposter rather than a true tube preamp. It does look nice, however :lol:
The electro, from what i read, has 200 v for the plate almost guaranteeing some substantial limit pushing, which, if running a re-amp, should only be treated with the 'thres' of any major breakup, anyway, IMO.

Oh yeah, 996..you're about to get in, too!

_________________
http://joelbooska.wixsite.com/thevideofringe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: preamp for reamp
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 9:36 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3365
Machine type: AW2400
joel2007 wrote:
Byron, yes it is the same model.
However, it only has one tube being shared by two channels and the plate has a low voltage making it more of a designer imposter rather than a true tube preamp. It does look nice, however :lol:


Oh yeah, 996..you're about to get in, too!


I do agree about the unit of which we speak. I too was disappointed when I learned it was one tube. I am not an electronics guy (yet) so the voltage thing is foreign to me, but i do understand the existance of the relationship between tubes and what we identify as "warmth". The Presonus unit does exhibit some form of "crunch" as the tube gain is increased, but it certainly wasn't what I'd hoped for when i shelled out for it a few years back. It has been useful for ramping up the gain for a couple of mics in my cabinet, without overdriving the AW's pres, but I'll certainly be a more educated consumer next time I buy any knid of a Preamp.

This is 997 Joel!

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: preamp for reamp
PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:02 pm 
Offline
Review Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:12 pm
Posts: 1156
Location: Connecticut
Favourite food: Vegetable Lasagne
Machine type: AW16G
you and me both on that ...If I enjoyed Guitar Center as much as I used to enjoy Daddy's Junky when they were near me, I'd just buy something, test it, return it and try again with no hassles.
Glory days...:-({|=

_________________
http://joelbooska.wixsite.com/thevideofringe


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group