The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Tue Sep 26, 2017 11:46 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 7:45 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 7:31 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Northern Ohio
I've been pulling my hair out, trying to midi up Aw16G Slaved to a Alesis SR-16. I hoped to be able to control the tempo from the SR 16 and also use the start and stope buttons from the SR 16. My thinking is that would give me a good metronome and then I could go back and change parts on the drum track to add fills. When setting the G as a slave and the SR 16 as master I can't get the G to start to record from its start button or th SR.
I have looked through the manual and can't see what I'm doing wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 7:56 pm 
Offline
Wants You
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 9:52 pm
Posts: 5276
Location: Hamilton Square, NJ
Machine type: AW16G
Welcome Herman. I have an SR16 but I use the 16G as the master. You can set the tempo and use the start/stop buttons on the G. I think this will do what you want it to do.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:13 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 7:31 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Northern Ohio
Thanks Bob
I have tried that too, with the same results. I wonder if it may be that I need to set it back to factory specs. I just bought it on Ebay. In any case what do you set the time code to on the G? Also anyone have a factory disk or a web site to download that info. I have the manual but not the disk. :?:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:29 pm 
Offline
Wants You
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 9:52 pm
Posts: 5276
Location: Hamilton Square, NJ
Machine type: AW16G
I'm not incredibly midi savvy so I'd have to check and see exactly what I did to get this thing working.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:41 pm 
Offline
Has Been To Cheeseland
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:09 pm
Posts: 5967
Location: Just west of DEE-troit
Machine type: AW16G
Welcome to the forum, Herman. This subject came up not too long ago (in a thread on metronome bleed in the "recording" section, if you care to look at the whole discussion).

I've managed to get this to work with my ancient Roland TR 707 rhythm machine being started/stopped and tempo controlled by the G, as Bob described. I got it to work again recently and posted the results in that thread:

Quote:
I played with it for about ten minutes last night and managed to get it to work again. On the G's midi screen I had the settings on "master" and had the clock function enabled.

On my ancient rhythm machine I had the "global" setting set to on. This allows data to come into any channel. Not sure I needed it, but not knowing which channel(s) it would be receiving data on, I figured it couldn't hurt to turn them all on. Finally, I found a "midi sync mode" that I turned on which allows the machine to be a slave and sync to other machines.

That's what I did, and it worked. Don't ask me how or why, because I couldn't answer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:22 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5004
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Hi Herman, welcome to the club.

Do you happen to be of Dutch origin?

BTW I will view this topic as well because I also have an SR16. I don't know anything about midi.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 11:12 pm 
Offline
Wants You
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 9:52 pm
Posts: 5276
Location: Hamilton Square, NJ
Machine type: AW16G
I did some searching thru some old posts. This bit below might be helpful to you in synching up the SR16 and the G.

Go to the utility page on the G and set (under midi out) MIDI to on, then underneath that set CLK to on, disable MTC and the THRU buttons (if you have trouble here refer to page 150 of the manual)

..on the sr16 press "mdi setup", then press the tempo down to get to the "clock in" page and then press the up or down button (above the "FILL" button to turn on the clock.


Hope that helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: link drum machine
PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:31 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 7:31 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Northern Ohio
Thanks
I got it to work, using the G as the Master, So much better than a Metronome.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 3:01 pm 
Offline
Tenderfoot
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 10:16 am
Posts: 526
Location: Wales (UK)
I am Totally midi ignorant :oops:
What cables do i need for this? I am assuming a midi cable?

And do I still need to use the audio cables or will the midi cable carry that?

May sound a silly question to all you technical guys but I've never used midi :oops:

_________________
Spishak really is the man!!!!!
But Sleepless is the Superstar!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:18 pm 
Offline
Wants You
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 9:52 pm
Posts: 5276
Location: Hamilton Square, NJ
Machine type: AW16G
You still need the audio cables to transmit the audio.

You connect a midi cable from midi-out on the G to midi-in on the drum machine. In this case, it just syncs the tempo on the G with your drum machine.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group