The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:36 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: msg--midi question
PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:05 am 
Offline
The Reverend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:45 am
Posts: 4047
Location: dusty border town
Favourite food: cheddar-lol
Machine type: AW16G
[url]http://cgi.ebay.com/JL-Cooper-NEXUS-PLUS-MIDI-Patc[url]hbay-Router-Merger_W0QQitemZ250099059576QQcategoryZ41784QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem[/url]

Would something like this be adequate for midi expansion?

...right now its just my Micron, Roland jv880, and a Roland controller...

_________________
it's funny, the older you get, the older you wanna be


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 4:43 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Sure , I have an identical unit myself. Been reliable so far but you gotta remember if things go ta tas up , you need to check the position of the input switches. Mine's zip tied to the back of a 2u rack filler panel mounted in the rear of one of the synth racks. The switches are very easy to move reaching around in the dark recesses of tangled cables.

You really don't need a thru box with no more stuff than you have at present. If you doubled you stuff then it would be a good idea.

msg

BTW , I fixed your link to make it work. You gotta put a [url] deal in front of the actual url.

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:42 am 
Offline
The Reverend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:45 am
Posts: 4047
Location: dusty border town
Favourite food: cheddar-lol
Machine type: AW16G
...gracias amigo!

_________________
it's funny, the older you get, the older you wanna be


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 1:03 pm 
Offline
Professor Emeritus of BovineCompostology
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 9:46 pm
Posts: 418
Location: Great Falls, MI
Machine type: AW16G
Might want to think about an 8x8 rather than a 2x8, that's a pretty limited number of ins. If you're plugging in your yammie recorder and a drum machine you've just blanked the front panel. try this


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:12 pm 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Eight midi ins is way more than the average guy on the block would ever use. I have a motu unit as well. (very versatile piece of hardware) One thing for sure , the price is right.

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 3:39 pm 
Offline
Professor Emeritus of BovineCompostology
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 9:46 pm
Posts: 418
Location: Great Falls, MI
Machine type: AW16G
Quote:
Eight midi ins is way more than the average guy on the block would ever use


True dat Geno but 2 inputs just isn't enough unless you want to be switching cables, which is a drag. In my world it's just too easy to connect to the in port when you need to connect to the out port. And as we all know giving all the children their own connection goes a long way to ameliorating latency issues.

One other thought, if other musicians are in your studio with midi gear that you want to synch you'll have open ports. Not that I've ever done this mind you, but Gabriel has a midi out on each channel of his main board for this reason.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 5:13 pm 
Offline
The Reverend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:45 am
Posts: 4047
Location: dusty border town
Favourite food: cheddar-lol
Machine type: AW16G
yeah, you're probably right about the limited nature of the first item...but price is a factor for me...so value is more important that expandibility :(

_________________
it's funny, the older you get, the older you wanna be


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group