The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 2:54 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 8:15 pm 
Offline
Harry the Spaceman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 8:22 am
Posts: 1344
Location: South Africa
Favourite food: small children
Machine type: AW16G
Hey all, MSG

I have got my G setup with midi in and midi out in user remote mode. My up down buttons on my keyboard dont work anymore and I want to use the G to send these messages.

I set the G to learn, and it picks up the control code. But when I hit the programmed button the keyboard does not respond. I have tried latching and non latching. I am sure the two units are talking as the transport starts up the sequencer.

Help?! I'd LOVE to get this working.

TX 1 RX 2

art


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 8:35 pm 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
A G and what else Art ?

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 8:37 pm 
Offline
Harry the Spaceman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 8:22 am
Posts: 1344
Location: South Africa
Favourite food: small children
Machine type: AW16G
Thank goodness you're out there tonight! I'm going bananas... :)

The G and a Yamaha PSR 5700.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 8:40 pm 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Who's controlling who and what's the goal.

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 8:47 pm 
Offline
Harry the Spaceman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 8:22 am
Posts: 1344
Location: South Africa
Favourite food: small children
Machine type: AW16G
The G (master) is controlling the 5700 (slave) and the goal is to be able to press the track 1 select button on the G to send a message to increment the instrument number by one (same function as the plus button) on the 5700.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 8:50 pm 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
when you say instrument number you mean a patch change on the PSR right?

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 8:55 pm 
Offline
Harry the Spaceman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 8:22 am
Posts: 1344
Location: South Africa
Favourite food: small children
Machine type: AW16G
:oops: I wish I could just say yes... he he he, when the number goes up the instrument (patch?) changes? Pressing + when Piano2 is displayed moves us onto E.Piano.

Sorry for the laborious thread.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:08 pm 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
No prob Art. OK enough questions.

Since patch changes require a Program Change message I think you are grasping at straws. If you knew the exact syntax of the PC message inside the PSR you might be able to manually input the data in the Midi message (page 158 of the G manual) in Hex. That's asking alot.
I'm not that fluant in Hex but I have a conversion chart around here for PC# and Hex. we just gotta figure out what PC# the PSR uses to increase the patch by one.

Pretty tall order there partner.

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Last edited by mrskygod on Sun Mar 18, 2007 10:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:14 pm 
Offline
Harry the Spaceman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 8:22 am
Posts: 1344
Location: South Africa
Favourite food: small children
Machine type: AW16G
He he, I appreciate your help dude. It's awesome to have someone out there.

I wonder why the Learnt code is not working though? I have the owners manual for the 5700 and it gives some hex figures, but they are not as long as the code that is Learnt automatically by the G.

Such a gap in my education... a Canyon really! :)

So the short and sweet, if I can get the increment code, which will likely be binary and convert it to hex I can try that?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:27 pm 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Most likely hex.

I do have to eat a little crow here Art. Just dawned on me. The only natural form of program change messages the G sends are scene change numbers. If you want , you might try making a scene change up one number in the G song and see what happens to the PSR. It (the PSR) just might interpret the scene change up as a patch change. i.e. scene change 1 =piano on the the PSR , scene change 2= electric piano , etc. With 99 scenes available on the G , you can cover most of a bank of patches.

Now that's worth a try and much easier than sending billions of hex messages hoping one would work. And BTW the G limits incomming messages at 16 bytes.

Sharon says Hi everybody !

msg

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 10:17 pm 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Found it.


STATUS byte 1100nnnn Cn Program Change
DATA byte 0nnnnnnn nn Program No. ( 0-127)

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 3:24 am 
Offline
Professor Emeritus of BovineCompostology
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 9:46 pm
Posts: 418
Location: Great Falls, MI
Machine type: AW16G
I've had some luck finding hex code by setting up a midi track in sonar to record and executing the function I want to accomplish on the device I want it accomplished on. The hex will appear in the event list window. I hope this makes sense. Basically I'm letting the device tell me what code it wants. Usually, there are a bunch of other longer code strings in the event window but the hex stuff is pretty recognizable.

Good luck


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 5:08 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Now that you mention it in the Stec Midi Dump Tool also shows the hex code in the buffer view screen. Midi Ox also has a SysEx or Hex Command view window as well.

Good call Mr.William

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 8:21 am 
Offline
Harry the Spaceman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 8:22 am
Posts: 1344
Location: South Africa
Favourite food: small children
Machine type: AW16G
Thanks very much guys! I'm off to 'happy people' training today, but will look into this asap.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:59 pm 
Offline
Harry the Spaceman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 8:22 am
Posts: 1344
Location: South Africa
Favourite food: small children
Machine type: AW16G
GOTIT!!! :)

Thanks for the help MSG. The learn function is working perfectly fine... I hadn't turned on the MIDI transmit switch in the utility screen... DUH!

I am currently controlling the keyboard sequencer and the Behringer FX units parameters at once in remote mode... its awesome stuff.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group