The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 4:40 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: midi basics Lesson 1
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:12 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Lets talk a sec about what midi can and can't do.

MIDI CAN

Play numerous sound modules at once or even other keybords using a master keyboard .

Play numerous sound modules at once or even other keyboards using either a hardware or computer based sequencer.

Synchronize all types of midi software sequencers or hardware bases units. This allows them all to be locked in perfect time together.

Record the movements of faders , or almost any other parameter on software and hardware recorders and interfaces.These actions will be carried out when the sequencer plays back the data.

The above things are not all midi can do but are the most common uses.

MIDI CAN'T DO

Midi is used to connect several devices together. This means a lone MIDI device's midi functions are for the most part dormant until other devices are connected.

MIDI does NOT transmit audio signals. Example........you own 2 keyboards and you want to hear sounds from both instruments. MIDI connection only will not get the job done. You also need to send the audio outs of both keyboards to the amp , mixer or whatever.

Different instruments can't swap sounds via midi. (with one special exception.) Say you connected a sound generator brand X to another made by company Y via midi. One of the sound gererators has a killer string patch you want to transfer to the other sound generator. Again with another special exception we will discuss in later tutorials , and as convieniant as that could be , it is not possible. Every manufacturer uses a sound generator of it's own so even if you could transfer the patches via a SYSex message it won't sound the same. This also holds true for effect devices and signal processors.

Next time ........Midi sequencers,

msg

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:48 am 
Offline
Harry the Spaceman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 8:22 am
Posts: 1344
Location: South Africa
Favourite food: small children
Machine type: AW16G
Nice Boss! Excellent Idea! 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 3:00 am 
Offline
THE man!!!
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 4:05 am
Posts: 1091
Location: Upper-Left Coast
Favourite food: roasted pig snouts
Machine type: AW16G
WHOOOOOA!!!! I think my brain just melted!!! just kidding....good thread MSG :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 2:03 am 
Offline
No More Coasters!
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:33 pm
Posts: 1793
Machine type: AW1600
Midi....

I've never worked at all with midi, despite the fact that I have midi capability in my guitar synth, keyboard, and Roland V-Drums, the G, and my PC.

If I can figure out how to use it, from reading here....I'll be one happy camper!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 7:45 am 
Offline
THE man!!!
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 4:05 am
Posts: 1091
Location: Upper-Left Coast
Favourite food: roasted pig snouts
Machine type: AW16G
UTAH!!!! BEST AVATAR EVER!!!!! Where did you get it?....did you make it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:38 am 
Offline
Harry the Spaceman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 8:22 am
Posts: 1344
Location: South Africa
Favourite food: small children
Machine type: AW16G
He's got a DISEASE.... and the only cure is more cowbell!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 4:23 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Chicago
Favourite food: pizza
Machine type: AW16G
Hey everybody, my set up is AW16G for recording my tracks.
I then export my wavfiles and import them into Cubase SE.with Lexicon Lambda interface.My keyboard is a Yamaha SO3 for midi controller.
My goal is to be able to add samples and or loops where needed. Then be able to export my project from Cubase and take it to be mixed and mastered.(my current crisis is) Trying to get sound out of the VST collection that came with Cubase SE.
My midi cables are hooked up from my Lambda interface to my Yamaha SO3 keyboard, my Lambda interface is hooked up to my computer with USB 2.0 cable. When I press keys on my keyboard the meter lights up on the Cubase track line. On the VST (HALion) screen display the keys move also, but I cant hear anything in my head phones hooked up to my interface. Any help would be great, thanks much, Jim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 1:51 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
The fact that the "keyboard" lights up tells me that the interface is working and that midi note messages are being recognised. The fact no audio is present suggests problems in the monitor settings of Cubase. I'm not an audio software recording expert so maybe someone on the Cubase forum could help.

msg

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Thanks again Sky
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 2:19 am 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Chicago
Favourite food: pizza
Machine type: AW16G
Im working on that, might be internal settings of audio in the preference window. Also found out that seeing that the HALion SE is a sampler, it first has to be loaded with sample files. Im also working on that.
All this software stuff is totally new to me, thanks again, Jim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Thanks again Sky
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 2:56 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
james t. calka wrote:
the HALion SE is a sampler, it first has to be loaded with sample files.


Yep you didn't say anything about that. :lol: I for some reason was thinking you wanted to add samples to your G.......... Duh........

A good lesson for those that may doubt that midi does not make sounds on it's own . :lol:

I've been hounding the local guitar center for over two years to blow out an E-Mu 6400 Ultra that doesn't make a peep for the same reason. Nobody there has a clue why the there are no sounds comming from it :lol: Sitting in a rack , on all day , blank display. <sigh>

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group