The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Sat Sep 23, 2017 6:30 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Guitar synth questions
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 1:55 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Not finding as much info as I'ld like on guitar midi pickups on the old search engine.

Looks like Roland has the market pretty much cornered on midi guitar.

Questions: The GK3 pickup uses a 13 pin midi type connector to its proprietary synth unit that I don't want to use.

Does anybody make a guitar midi pickup that has a standard 5 pin midi jack so I connect a rack synth or software synth to ?

Maybe a "converter box" 13 pin on , 5 pin midi out ?

This is a playground I wish to explore but I hate giving Roland money for stuff I pretty much already have.

msg

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 6:06 am 
Offline
Former Computer Geek
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 7:39 pm
Posts: 1556
Location: Tacoma, WA---Ghetto-licious!
Favourite food: Pizza, E.Coast plz!!
Machine type: AW1600
I just saw a guy tear it up with one of those midi things... boy did he have it dialed in! It was super cool. I think half the battle is getting the levels to be perfect as you switch between things. He went from guitar to strings to horns to organs seamlessly.

I think you're right though, you gotta cough it up for Roland.

-= Beer

_________________
I LOVE THIS!!! Ted Stevens, 82-year-old US Senator from Alaska and chairman of the Senate Committee on Science, Commerce and Transportation, for explaining in a speech how the Internet actually works: “It’s a series of tubes.”


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 1:34 pm 
Offline
Footswitch Genius
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:54 am
Posts: 534
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Favourite food: Jarlsberg
Machine type: AW16G
Quote:
you gotta cough it up for Roland

i did a bit of research and came up with the same answer - in order to have a usable output from a 5-pin midi cable, you first have to go via a GK-2/GK-3 + GR-20 controller or similar.

_________________
Wanted to buy: one Right Word Clock, in good condition.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:08 pm 
Offline
Tinhorn

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 12:50 am
Posts: 317
Favourite food: overmuramovingcake
Beerosaur wrote:
I think you're right though, you gotta cough it up for Roland.

-= Beer

Unfortunatelly Roland is the only way if U want pro quality/compatibility.
There are other MIDI guitar toys out there and I mean toys, I can't imagine someone using them on stage. Maybe for some simple studio ideas.
The cheapest guitar-midi converter I found is single layer MIDI out, but latency is 16-30ms if doesn't bother U:
http://www.sonuus.com/products_g2m.html
I tried guitar to MIDI software years ago, but -again- latency was bad, too.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:35 pm 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
I've tried several note to midi software demos and none have been very accurate. I was hoping the hardware route would be better.

From looking at the Sonus website , each note has to be played individually and cleanly with no harmonics or other strings vibrating.

The Roland system allows chords (guess that's why it uses a pickup). The demo I saw on U-Tube was very impressive.
Just can't help but wonder if the two extra pins in the midi plug actually do anything or is this something Roland does to keep the thing proprietery. (Like the new 7 pin special Leslie cable Hammond now uses)

Guess I'll have to bite the bullit. :lol:

msg

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:50 pm 
Offline
Tinhorn

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 12:50 am
Posts: 317
Favourite food: overmuramovingcake
Yes, a toy is just a toy unfortunatelly. It must have it's own pickup.
Did U check Axon system? Maybe there's some compatibility with Roland, I don't know.
I also tried Shadow MIDI system once at music fair, but setup was bad and didn't like results. Years later I met a guitarist using it succesfully. All these things are dependent on well done setup I guess.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group