The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Fri Sep 22, 2017 10:25 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]

Post subject: Newbie help!
PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 7:29 pm 
Welcome to the Forum!

Hi all,

Total beginner really. I have an AW1600 and a PC running Cubase SE 3. I'm pretty good running Cubase on its own and I'm OK with the AW1600.

Question is - how on Earth do I use the two together?
I have a midi sequence which I've got souding good (using Reason for the sounds) and I want to combine it with some live audio - drums etc.

I could just port the whole the sequence over by connecting the Audio output of my Tascam Audio interface to the inputs on the AW1600. But I want to be able to transfer the sequencer tracks one by one - strings separate from organ/piano etc etc, so I can add effects and compression and do the final mix with the AW1600.

I figure I need to be able to get the AW1600 to operate the transport controls in Cubase so that everything is neatly synchronised and the strings aren't for example half a beat late (as might happen if I manually pressed record on the AW1600 at the same time as pressing play on Cubase).

I have the AW1600's midi out connected the midi in on the Tascam interface, and I've fiddled with a few settings on the AW1600 and in Cubase, but I can't get it to do anything - basically I don't really understand the settings.

Can anybody point me in the right direction?

Many thanks in advance,

Xavier

Post subject: Re: Newbie help!
PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 8:34 pm 
Mr. Electonica Dude

Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416