The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Thu Aug 16, 2018 1:36 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 1:20 am 
Offline
Welcome to the Forum!

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 12:45 am
Posts: 2
Favourite food: pasta
Machine type: AW1600
Can anybody tell me what might be going on? I have a Yamaha AW1600 and have made recordings and burned CD's. But today I tried to mixdown a single track to the stereo track, and I was losing between 6 and 15 db. The eq and dynamics are off, the bypasses for the effects are on.

There is a good, strong signal on the original recorded track, and the sliders for the track and stereo track are up all the way, but the stereo track is peaking at minus 18db.

Also, I can't find anywhere in the manual how to access the compressor and then go to the expander. At present when I press the dynamics button the compander comes up, but I can't find the other two.

I'd appreciate any help. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:35 am 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1259
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
Try this:

1) Go to the VIEW-CH VIEW screen
2) Press the button above the red master fader
3) Look at the lower left part of the screen and see if the ATT knob is showing a negative number.
4) If so cursor to it and use the jog wheel to make it "0"

OR

Press SCENE and RECALL the Initial Data scene. This should reset the master fader attenuator. Might have to run the real fader up and down to make it work again.

Sorry, can't help on Expander.

Welcome to the forum,

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:13 am 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5103
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Welcome to the forum, Willie. For now, HogTime's advice (recal initial data from the scene list) is the way to go. It doesn't affect all settings though.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 1:41 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3468
Machine type: AW2400
If you press the dynamics DYN button a few times a Library will appear. the expander is there. There may not be a preset named to your liking, but choose any that indicates EXPander. I think the presets in the percussion part of the list have most of the available varieties of dynamics. Tweek from these starting points.

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 9:43 pm 
Offline
Welcome to the Forum!

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 12:45 am
Posts: 2
Favourite food: pasta
Machine type: AW1600
Thanks Ralph,

The attenuator was the problem, and the stereo track is now even with the recording track.

Willie J


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 4:20 am 
Offline
Has Been To Cheeseland
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:09 pm
Posts: 5992
Location: Just west of DEE-troit
Machine type: AW16G
Hi Willi - welcome to the forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group