The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Wed Oct 24, 2018 12:32 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 6:49 pm 
Lone Star

Hello all,
I have been using the AW1600 for a couple years now doing location recordings of jazz and classical music with great mics (DPA, Gefell, AKG, etc...). I have gotten some fine results utilizing all the knowledge I have gathered from here and other forums, but in comparing my recordings from the AW1600 to other recordings (not A/B but, close enough) I have found that they are missing presence, punch, volume, etc...

My question to all of you is this - have any of you moved up to the HD24XR or RADAR or DAW that have given you the oomph your recordings needed to sound truly professional?

Thanks,
patrick

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 6:59 pm 
Website Slayer and Problem Solver

Machine type: AW1600
I don't know if you're doing any audio processing on a PC after mixing (compression, limiting, etc.), but that could add something. I use Sound Forge for that, although there are many other choices.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 3:06 am 
Mr. Electonica Dude

Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Not sure what you've been listening to but there are some great "pro" sounding recordings made on a G with SM-57's. It all depends on the talant , and knowledge of recording that make the true difference IMO.

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 3:32 am 
Tenderfoot

Machine type: AW2400