The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:54 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 5:55 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 5:27 pm
Posts: 5
Machine type: AW1600
Hi folks - I was recently given an AW1600 that was going unused, but when it is powered on the screen just flashes. No Yammy logo, or anything. Anyone come across this, or have any ideas where I might want to start? Machine is surplus to my needs, but I'm hoping to get it functional for a student.

Cheers,
Matt


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 11:05 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5015
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Hi Matt, welcome to the forum.

When a system like the AW1600 behaves erratically the first thing I do is unplug it from power, let it alone for some time, reconnect and retry. But given the fact you obtained it in the state it is in, this will probably be of no help.

You could try an update of the software. On the docs page ( <<-- click ) of our website you can find the file. It's a zip file that includes the instructions.

Hope this helps. The AW16G and AW1600 are great machines. I've had mine for over 11 years now and still works 100%.

Some others may come along and have additional ideas. Keep us posted!

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 11:51 pm 
Offline
Wrangler
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 2:51 pm
Posts: 877
Favourite food: food
Machine type: AW16G
Make sure you are using the right power supply unit or equivalent.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2014 5:10 am 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 5:27 pm
Posts: 5
Machine type: AW1600
Thanks for the replies! I tried an update, but it doesn't get to the point of trying to load anything.

Power supply is a PA-300, 16vDC 2.4A - or at least it claims to be. The original was not with the unit, so it's an ebay replacement - could be anything, really.

I've just noticed the light on the PSU flickers in time with the flashing screen, too. Whether that means anything, I don't know.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2014 1:34 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5015
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
So that points in the direction of the power unit. A simple voltage meter will tell you whether or not the unit gives a nice steady 16 V. Until you make sure, I would not try to use it for the AW1600 as it might damage the machine.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 6:49 am 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 5:27 pm
Posts: 5
Machine type: AW1600
Yep, getting 16v. Any other thoughts? If not, I guess I'll see if anyone wants it for repair, parts, tinkering, or whatever.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 11:26 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5015
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Does it still say 16 V (or a little bit lower, but a steady value) when the AW is connected to it?

Sometimes when a power supply is broken, it gets trouble controlling the voltage when the power supply has a load.

My AW16G power supply says 16V 2.4 A, which means it can handle a 6.6 ohm resistance. So you could load the power supply with a resistor of around 7 ohms and the voltage should drop just a little bit but maintain a steady value.

Giving this more thought... there might be a short circuit in the AW so the power supply gets overloaded. The above test should rule this out if it isn't the case.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2014 1:20 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 5:27 pm
Posts: 5
Machine type: AW1600
So, put a 7 ohm resistor between the PSU and one of the MM prongs when I test it? I'll see what I can do. Thanks mate!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2014 9:11 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5015
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Yes, but be advised that the resistor should be able to dissipate about 30 watts. A small resistor will burn in half a second.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 6:45 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 5:27 pm
Posts: 5
Machine type: AW1600
Brief update - power supply was indeed dodgy. An alternate has been found, and I've passed the machine on to a young guy starting out. I'll be sure to point him this way if he gets stuck.

Thanks for all your help!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group