The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 6:52 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Pro Tools and AW`s
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 1:19 pm 
Offline
Ranch Hand
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:39 pm
Posts: 1138
Machine type: AW4416
Just in case it helps anyone looking in, I`ve been trying to link the AW1600 to Pro Tools 10 as a control surface for the faders etc.
Unfortunately it does`nt work, with an old version of Pro Tools like 6 or maybe even 7 it was made possible by downloading a CS-10 Driver and telling Pro Tools that`s what your using, it emulates it and your good to go, but I found out yesterday after a full day trying to suss it all out, Pro Tools stopped supporting this driver a while back. :roll:
Never mind, as I say this was just in case someone came to the forum to find the answer because I found the net is full of people using the Yamaha`s and trying to link them.

T.

_________________
http://tmacstudio.wix.com/tmac

http://www.soundcloud.com/t-mac-12

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmCjAzN ... ture=watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GETYJUJKu0

https://www.reverbnation.com/tmac


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pro Tools and AW`s
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 6:08 pm 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1256
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
At least now you can stop trying, and save the rest of your hair! :lol:

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pro Tools and AW`s
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 7:17 pm 
Offline
Ranch Hand
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:39 pm
Posts: 1138
Machine type: AW4416
:lol: :lol: I think your probably right there Ralph, I can`t afford to lose any more than what I`ve got :lol: :lol:

T.

_________________
http://tmacstudio.wix.com/tmac

http://www.soundcloud.com/t-mac-12

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmCjAzN ... ture=watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GETYJUJKu0

https://www.reverbnation.com/tmac


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pro Tools and AW`s
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 7:57 pm 
Offline
HamelnStock Survivor and Midi Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:20 am
Posts: 2640
Location: Belgium
Favourite food: the edible kind
Machine type: AW16G
T. The AW has the abillity to assign Control and program changes which means you can teach it the language of pro tools and it ain't that difficult. It's just quite a bit of settings.

Even better, i know from searching on the net that Pro Tools has a Midi learn Mode. You select a controll like a track volume in pro tools and put it in learn mode. Then you move a fader on the AW. Provided the TX channel on the AW is the same as the RX channel on pro tools (midi of course) Pro Tools will pick up what fader you are moving and will remember that you want to controll that track volume with that fader from the AW. Its is describes by others as :

"Go to the "Setup/Peripherals..." menu and go to the Midi Contollers tab. Select your Axiom in one of the slots of the leftmost side, set the send and receive channels to it and you will notice now that in your plugin windows a new set of mapping options will appear... learn mode included "

I'm a 100% certain that it can easily be done. If you want me to help you out let me know. We could work with teamviewer or so to get this done.

_________________
In a minute it might be gone. Life is a bear in a bubble.

http://www.soundclick.com/bearinabubble


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pro Tools and AW`s
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:05 pm 
Offline
Ranch Hand
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:39 pm
Posts: 1138
Machine type: AW4416
I`ll give it another go with what you`ve said Dirk and let you know how it goes, but I personally don`t think it can be done in Pro Tools 10, the earlier versions yes but not this one I believe.
I have it working in Presonus great, and I would love to get this going the same in PT 10, would come in handy.
Thanks.

T.

_________________
http://tmacstudio.wix.com/tmac

http://www.soundcloud.com/t-mac-12

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmCjAzN ... ture=watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GETYJUJKu0

https://www.reverbnation.com/tmac


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pro Tools and AW`s
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:35 pm 
Offline
HamelnStock Survivor and Midi Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:20 am
Posts: 2640
Location: Belgium
Favourite food: the edible kind
Machine type: AW16G
This video may help. It should be that easy. Technically you should be able to do the same thing with volume and pan etc...

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xilzx2 ... MDyeO9Xvro

_________________
In a minute it might be gone. Life is a bear in a bubble.

http://www.soundclick.com/bearinabubble


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pro Tools and AW`s
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 7:46 pm 
Offline
Ranch Hand
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:39 pm
Posts: 1138
Machine type: AW4416
Sorry Dirk but I can`t get that link to play :?:

T.

_________________
http://tmacstudio.wix.com/tmac

http://www.soundcloud.com/t-mac-12

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmCjAzN ... ture=watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GETYJUJKu0

https://www.reverbnation.com/tmac


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group