The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Sat Nov 25, 2017 1:57 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 8:47 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 8:44 pm
Posts: 6
Favourite food: grapes
Machine type: AW1600
Lo all,
Newly acquired in this condition.
I loaded the demo and whilst playing there appears to be a helicopter trapped in there as there is a loud rotor beat sound!
Is it a 'striped' HD & has anyone replaced one?
I have sourced a Seagate Baraccuda 40gb.
It also sounds like an oscillation problem.
I am not familiar with the AW & I am now about to learn and attempt to investigate.
Any ideas out there?
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:31 pm 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1256
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
#1) Delete the demo song. It causes nothing but problems.
#2) Press SCENE, then Recall "Initial Data". After that run the red master fader completely up and down a couple of times.
#3) Import a song from a commercial CD (using TRACK-CD IMP) and play the song to see if you still have problems.

Welcome to the forum!

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 10:25 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8110
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
Welcome. As Ralph pointed out, what your ears are most likely witnessing is the cursed demo song. While it's nice to give you a tour around the parameters, because the machine remembers all setting, you'll hearing them. By doing as Ralph says, pressing scene and initializing data, it take the recorder back to it's raw dry state. Hopefully that will cure what ails ye.

Then find Recording 101 pdf file residing here on this site. That will get you started. From there tinker around with it and feel free to ask questions.

Happy recording.

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 10:38 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5017
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Welcome to the forum, Zaddy, glad you found this place.

Here <- click is a direct link to the docs page. Find the "recording 101" and even though it's written for the AW16G, it'll do just fine for the AW1600.

Never hesitate to ask anything. Happy recording!

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:37 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 8:44 pm
Posts: 6
Favourite food: grapes
Machine type: AW1600
Thanks for a friendly welcome and your kind help.
I followed your advice and though it has removed the majority of the glitching playing a CD there is still some residual digital noise.
It's not an AB comparison as that was the HD and this is the CD.
Every 5 seconds is a half second burst of popping at the same bpm akin to a cat purr that attenuates with the red fader.
I tried various commercial CDs.
So the choppers gone to be replaced by a cat!
I think there are/were 2 separate problems here.
I have very briefly accessed AW1600s before and the demo always played fine.
In my previous search for a solution I noticed a method of making the demo editable and would like to know how to do this?
Does anyone know the cause of the demo conflict problem and what I could now try to eliminate the CD play issue?
Chrs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 6:37 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5017
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Hiya Zaddy,

Most important is to make sure you have a "clean" environment. Are you sure the power is OK? Is there anything on the same group that might give problems? Is there anything that could create electromagnetic interference? Try a different power outlet.

I've seen similar problems before caused by the fact that the G/1600 is a microprocessor system. Microprocessors as well as peripherals use all kinds of settings and states. An illegal combination may cause the hardware to behave erratically. These problems are solved easily: unplug the machine from power and let it be for some time. Any electrical charge will flow away and reset the states. Then reboot the machine.

The demo song makes your machine behave strangely, but in fact this is a misconception. The demo song contains all kinds of settings (volume, pan, effects, dynamics etc) and applies this many times during playback of the song. So, in fact the song is taking over the settings. This is what it's designed for, but there are so many settings affected that it's hard to remember everything when putting things back by hand. That's why recalling the initial data (press scene button, choose initial data, recall), is the best thing to do. Personally I don't think those strange noises come from scene settings, but one can never be sure.

I hope this helps at least a bit.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:06 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 8:44 pm
Posts: 6
Favourite food: grapes
Machine type: AW1600
Hi,
I did an AB test with another AW1600 in identical surrounding and same power supply and there was no problem.
The same Tools disc loaded the Demo and it also worked faultlessly.
How do I decouple the demo from it's auto reset mode?

So, anybody?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:54 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5017
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
zaddy wrote:
How do I decouple the demo from it's auto reset mode?

You can't. The only way is not to play it, and since you're not playing it, delete it.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 11:25 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 8:44 pm
Posts: 6
Favourite food: grapes
Machine type: AW1600
zaddy wrote:
Hi,
I did an AB test with another AW1600 in identical surrounding and same power supply and there was no problem.
The same Tools disc loaded the Demo and it also worked faultlessly.


So, any ideas anybody?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 12:28 am 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8110
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
Format your hard drive and reload the demo again if you must.

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:36 am 
Offline
Ranch Hand
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:39 pm
Posts: 1138
Machine type: AW4416
Hi Zaddy and welcome to the forum.
The advice is good, the demo is ok to give you an idea of what the sound can be like, but is has caused so many people so much hassle and confusion, that the best thing is to delete it. Then I would format the hard drive and plug anything into an input, a guitar, a mike, an mp3 player or anything you can to record something, and see what happens from there, you need to eliminate the possible causes one at a time, and if there has been a left over from a previous scene from a previous owner, the format will get rid of it.
Hope you get sorted soon.

T.

_________________
http://tmacstudio.wix.com/tmac

http://www.soundcloud.com/t-mac-12

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmCjAzN ... ture=watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GETYJUJKu0

https://www.reverbnation.com/tmac


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 12:03 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5017
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Format is goooood. :)

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 1:24 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 8:44 pm
Posts: 6
Favourite food: grapes
Machine type: AW1600
I formatted it many times before replying.
I removed the demo on the faulty one as soon as it was recommended.
The CD still presented a problem.
To check the HD I will have to record a track though there was a track already that had the same fault that the CD still has.
However, on the working AW1600 I would appreciate messing with the demo to familiarise myself with tracks and fx etc.

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 3:22 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3365
Machine type: AW2400
The problems with these machines are rare. Most things are cleared up by the methods advised, and in the process the user jumps on board a steep but (usually) successful learning curve. Sounds as if your machine may have some hardware problems. I do not recall an example of symptoms that mirror what you describe. sounds as if you are a capable problem shooter, so keep at it and let us know what you determine.

Where did you get this particular unit?

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:57 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8110
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
Replace the cd burner.

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 7:50 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 8:44 pm
Posts: 6
Favourite food: grapes
Machine type: AW1600
Hi again. I recorded via a 58 mic and playback had the same hard tone 'purr' noise I originally heard and again later off the CD. Okay, the demo did have digital glitching that we removed. The noise vol. responds to the master, not the channel faders.
Is there a factory reset?
Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 7:56 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5017
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Format the HD. You can also reinstall the firmware. It has solved funny issues before.

You can find the firmware at the bottom of the docs page.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group