The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 4:31 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Tempo Map
PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2012 2:34 pm 
Offline
Ranch Hand
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:39 pm
Posts: 1138
Machine type: AW4416
Hi, I`ve never used the tempo map before, never needed to but want to try something.
Can I add a delay on just a single word on a vocal track so that when I`m mixing down it kicks in at the correct point?
I have quite a lot of other stuff going on while mixing down and need this to work.

Thanks.
Any help vey much appreciated.
T.

_________________
http://tmacstudio.wix.com/tmac

http://www.soundcloud.com/t-mac-12

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmCjAzN ... ture=watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GETYJUJKu0

https://www.reverbnation.com/tmac


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tempo Map
PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2012 2:53 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3365
Machine type: AW2400
The tempo map can be used to trigger a scene and /or it can be used to trigger the pads. The word you want could be loaded as a sample into a pad and then the pad can be triggered using the Grid recording matrix that is available on the 1600 ( not the G). The grid is controlled by the beat structure, as set up by the tempo map. Therefore, your song is best accessed through the grid if it is performed to a click, and that tempo is recorded in the map. If you are not on a strict click, it becomes a bit of a hit and miss as you try to adjust the tempo number to find a spot where beat one matches the time at which you wish to insert your sample. You can also put a bit of time infront of the sample to provide a delay that adjusts just when the audible part of the sample will be heard, as the grid always triggers at the downbeat of the specified tempo/time signature.

I have done this sort of work before, many times, so ask questions if you are not quite getting the job done.

Good luck

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tempo Map
PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2012 3:31 pm 
Offline
Ranch Hand
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:39 pm
Posts: 1138
Machine type: AW4416
Thanks for that Byron, I`ll give that a go, I must say it sounds a lot easier to do it on a pc, I was hoping to do it on the AW1600, anyway if I get stuck I`ll give you a shout.
Thanks again.
T.

_________________
http://tmacstudio.wix.com/tmac

http://www.soundcloud.com/t-mac-12

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmCjAzN ... ture=watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GETYJUJKu0

https://www.reverbnation.com/tmac


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tempo Map
PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2012 4:29 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3365
Machine type: AW2400
If you are working in the AW environment, it is a lot of work to export to the PC, etc. What i described works easily and really well, if you are locked on to the tempo set on the map. If you aren't it is more of a hunt and peck exercise.

Is your song recorded to a click tempo - for which you know the BPM? If so, you are away to the races.

The pads are very useful for "flying in" items at specific points in a mix. I have used them this way many times. I have a 2400 now, so the automix has replaced the pads as a tool for me. I still have my 1600. Idecided not to sell it because of the pads. Now I use the 1600 to track sessions away from my studio and have rarely used the pads of late, but I am glad to have both machines. On occasion I have linked them to increase track count, and it is then that the pads have come into play, for me.

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tempo Map
PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2012 5:13 pm 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1256
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
You can also use the Tempo map to recall a scene that has the delay effect active on the vocal channel. However, it can only be turned on and off on exact beats of the measure. A second scene would be needed to turn off the delay.

If you only want a straight delay on one word, why not just copy that word to a new track with the start time offset by the amount of delay you want?

BTW, scenes are very powerful, but a pain the in rear end, also. If you decide to change something in the mix, you have to modify all the scenes you have already setup. I speak from recent experience. :)

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tempo Map
PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2012 6:22 pm 
Offline
Ranch Hand
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:39 pm
Posts: 1138
Machine type: AW4416
Thanks again for the help guy`s, I`ll get my head round it when I get home.

T.

_________________
http://tmacstudio.wix.com/tmac

http://www.soundcloud.com/t-mac-12

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmCjAzN ... ture=watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GETYJUJKu0

https://www.reverbnation.com/tmac


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tempo Map
PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2012 6:39 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3365
Machine type: AW2400
As Ralph says - scenes are powerful, but a pain in the arse - particularly if you build your mix around them. Better to try to learn your mix moves in real time, and then when your mix concepts are well undersatood, create a scene to accomplish the moves you just can't do in real time during the mixdown recording.

Tempo is king!!! It really facilitates editing and "automation" (through scenes and the pad "grid recording") when the song is locked on to the tempo specified in the tempo map.

By the way, this can be changed mid song, should your tune have need to change tempo as part of the arrangement. But once again the performers should be locked on to the specified tempo.

Of course you no doubt understand that once you have at least one of your tracks true to a click or Rhythm structure with a steady BPM, the other players can play to that track, which is easier than playing to a metranome. But it is definately worth investing the time to accomplish this creation of a "ghost track" - in order to allow accurate building of your multi track pieces for the tune you wish to build.

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group