The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Fri Sep 22, 2017 10:45 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 2:04 am 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 12:18 am
Posts: 11
Machine type: AW1600
This should be my last question as i get up to speed with this machine!
it seems this forum isn't so active and i'm the only one asking, but thankfully i get replies which means i don't have to hault my recording.

I record a lot of low level sources at the moment, some such as piano where you want it soft sometimes, but there is unavoidable noise as i have to turn up the preamps, or any post level increases. some times the correct level would be approaching full gain (on 16bit, i use 24 too) which i know is incorrect but its where its appropriate aside from noise sometimes-they're just quiet signals.

I've seen the art tube mentioned a lot here, but i've also heard its not worth getting preamps from some ears. would the noise floor be reduced? how much more useable gain could i get from this? is it just meant to add colour and will it have the same noise problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 4:29 am 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1254
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
Preamps generate the most noise when set near the maximum gain point. Therefore, if you had an external preamp, you could set it to just under the "noisy gain" point and make up the difference with the AW gain to get a usable signal.

BTW, this forum is much, much more active than the one where I suggested you come here to get your questions answered. :lol:

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 4:35 am 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8091
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
I guess it depends on what you consider active.

In any event, a pre amp should be considered an important part of any recording studio. Take a look at any major studio. I'm sure they have more gear than a just a stand alone DAW center stage on their desk.

Ok so I'm being a smarta$$. But yes a decent pre amp is a good idea as are decent monitors placed properly. Sound defusers, bass traps and quality mics won't hurt either.

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 4:51 am 
Offline
No More Coasters!
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:33 pm
Posts: 1793
Machine type: AW1600
I use a couple of ART Tube pre-amps as well, with my 16G and 1600.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 2:32 pm 
Offline
Greenhorn

Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 1:59 pm
Posts: 188
Location: Gloucestershire, England
I have an art tube mp studio 3 which iam happy with.just actually ordered another one. i use it with a rode nt1a for vocals and i use it to di bass guitar. it seems to do the trick and add a bit of warmth.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 4:51 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8091
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
Hey not too shabby for an inactive forum. Keep those posts coming! :roll:

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 5:29 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5004
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
:lol:

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:16 pm 
Offline
HamelnStock Survivor and Midi Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:20 am
Posts: 2640
Location: Belgium
Favourite food: the edible kind
Machine type: AW16G
If you have to work with cheaper preamps as i do and even 'not so high end' mics you can still get a decent result by 'staging' the preamps. This means you use a preamp or mixer with preamps a set the gain to an acceptable level (low noise) then you plug that into the Yamaha or even another Preamp. Technically each added device will add noise but if you choose level carrefully (mostly 70 to 80% dial) you can get a better signal than with each device on it's own.

Just my two cents.

_________________
In a minute it might be gone. Life is a bear in a bubble.

http://www.soundclick.com/bearinabubble


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 5:44 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 12:18 am
Posts: 11
Machine type: AW1600
I'll give it a try. sometimes the noise is noticeable sometimes not but it seems piano has to have the inputs over 2 o clock which i understand introduces noise.

I guess its not a dead forum, thanks for the replies.

it was only noticing maybe one 'last post' in the other forums, last posts were back to 2004 front pages as well, and i've asked a few questions in a row. but at least questions aren't ignored like on SOS.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 5:48 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5004
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
We're not dead, we're taking it easy. :)

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 6:14 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8091
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
One thing to consider when using a preamp, is to run your levels at -6 or perhaps even lower. I know people think -6 to 0 is optimum, but reading this Reaper thread on mixing has opened my eyes. Trying to be redbook compliant by maxing the signal isn't always a good thing. As you mention, you start to get noise at certain levels. Why not eliminate the noise and go with lower levels and them look at mixing the over all song within those boundaries. If you need to boost the final product in the mixdown stage that might be the better place. Less noise, better sound.

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:47 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 12:18 am
Posts: 11
Machine type: AW1600
yeh i've found that out recently. still too high for the preamps practically.

i found this good article which has a pretty handy diagram that cleared up all the recording at 0db business. now peak at -12 when recording., although if its a hot singal and preamps are low i go up further to -6 (i don't have that brilliant set up!). i don't want to go much lower than that as i end up having to boost or attenuate levels in extreme ways to match other tracks.

http://dbzeebee.blogspot.com/2009/10/di ... thumb.html

I'm thinking if i used an art tube mp with a VU meter though, i would set 0db on the VU whilst send the output level into the desk at 12db?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:10 pm 
Offline
Mr. Blues
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:51 pm
Posts: 3369
Location: Germany
Favourite food: Sauerkraut ;-)
Machine type: AW2400
Hi,

2 weeks ago I found out a really impressive use for my art-preamp. Tried to use it with my Dobro, equipped with a Schaller-Jazz-Pickup to get more warmth and life to the sound out of the AW2400. With slightly overdriving the preamps input stage I am getting a warm full sound with a touch of dirt in it. Amazing ...

Andreas

_________________
Blues aint nothing but the blues!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group