The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:37 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Reverb in the AW
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:08 pm 
Offline
Advancing newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 3:24 pm
Posts: 290
Location: Surfside Beach, SC
When I push the effect1 button I eventually get to a screen that allows me to dial in (in the bottom of the screen) reverb settings for all tracks that I recorded. I can hear the changes when I play the song, but seem to be loosing the effects when I record the song. Is it not right to select the "apply to PRE" function? Should I be adding the reverb to the PAST function?

Thanks for your help

Leo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:28 pm 
Offline
Professor Emeritus of BovineCompostology
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 9:46 pm
Posts: 418
Location: Great Falls, MI
Machine type: AW16G
Quote:
loosing the effects when I record the song
Are you talking about mixdown or the original signal aquisition? If it's the latter of the two, make sure you are applying the Fx pre to the inputs and not the tracks. You would do this by pressing any of the input buttons while on the Fx screen you describe to control Fx to the ins rather than the tracks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:31 pm 
Offline
Advancing newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 3:24 pm
Posts: 290
Location: Surfside Beach, SC
Sorry, I meant the mixdown.........


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:47 pm 
Offline
Professor Emeritus of BovineCompostology
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 9:46 pm
Posts: 418
Location: Great Falls, MI
Machine type: AW16G
I'm stumped :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:51 pm 
Offline
Advancing newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 3:24 pm
Posts: 290
Location: Surfside Beach, SC
Sorry Mr. Bill. Here I try again :shock:

After I have recorded several tracks get ready to mixdown and record a song, I have the option to use the EFF1 controls and can add or subtract reverb to any of the recorded tracks. My question is :
Should I be using the PRE or the PAST for adding or subtracting reverb from the recorded tracks.
Sorry about the confusion. Just let me know <s> I am not good at this :oops:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:33 am 
Offline
Guitar Ho
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:25 pm
Posts: 7793
Location: A la belle Côte d'Azur sans chaussettes
Machine type: Other - please inform admin
Are you using the effect as an insert or a send? We'll get to pre and post, which only apply to sends. (And yes, we're making you think about it to assist your learning.)

_________________
Honor is a debt you owe to those that see it in you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2007 6:00 am 
Offline
Advancing newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 3:24 pm
Posts: 290
Location: Surfside Beach, SC
So.........now you got me totally confused :shock:
I have ti go back and look it up again, but I think I was trying to ask this.
When I record a track from the ES and I would like more reverb for that particular track ( lets say it is a violin) . How can I achive that effect best. I tried to use the " effect send " on the ES at a level of about 31, but that in the recording did not really make me smile at all. I am trying to achive a sound on a violin as it would be played in a large hall or cathedral

Leo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2007 6:56 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
I guess a month is long enough. Actually the ES has lots more effects than the recorder.

Pressing the [F3] EFFECT button in the Voice Play mode calls up the same EFFECT display in the Voice Edit mode ([VOICE] > [EDIT] > [COMMON] > [F6] > (EFFECT).

From this display, you can set the effect related parameters for the current Voice. See page 194 in your ES manual for more detailed information about effects in the voice and performance mode. Note the differences and how the effects are applied in the two modes. I normally use the voice mode and do not save the settings unless it is used in a sequence (song mode) so it can be reproduced later and then do a ALL SONG save or even smarter is an ALL save either the SM card , USB (mine has a 100GB external HD) or even a jumpdrive.

Sometimes I'll route another synth's or even a guitar thru the Motif's effect section. It's like having several stacks of rack effects at your disposal. A very under used feature of the ES and it's already paid for.

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reverb in the AW
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 4:38 am 
Offline
City Slicker

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 9:00 pm
Posts: 40
Location: In the depths of Grandville
:P I think he means PRE OR POST.

Before the fader or after the fader. Try both and see or check your manual for an explanation of PRE/POST.

Lix


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reverb in the AW
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 5:53 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Any effect applied to a voice inside the ES would most certainly be pre fader in regard to the AW recorder , ya think ? :roll:

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group