The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 1:03 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:39 am 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 7:42 pm
Posts: 26
I,m back,

Now I'm trying to get several songs off my old Korg d8. Your suppose to be able to get them off in digital stereo but I have a s/p dif digital out on the Korg. How do you tie into what looks like phone plug ins on the aw16
digital stereo ins?? Then how can you sync what you record. :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:17 am 
Offline
Cowhand
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 758
the jacks on the g ar spdif too, i think, its just that they are optical spdf and you most likely have coaxial spdif (looks like rca jacks) on the korg.

You would need to get an interface to hook em up so you could record digital to the g from the korg.

Use the midi jacks to sync the two boxes together.

good luck
:)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 4:49 am 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 7:42 pm
Posts: 26
Thaks for the reply Paul,

It looks like I need to buy a MIDIMAN CO2 coaxial/optical converter.
The korg has the square digital output with the red light in the end and the aw16 has the coaxial type connector. I didnt understand that they both transmit digital sound. All very confusing. :?:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 5:31 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
This is a lot cheaper

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:50 am 
Offline
Cowhand
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 758
Quote:
The korg has the square digital output with the red light in the end and the aw16 has the coaxial type connector. I didnt understand that they both transmit digital sound. All very confusing


Ok, the square digital output with the red light in the end is the digital optical connector. The G has these too so you are in luck!!
No adapter needed, just plug the optical digital out on the korg to the optical digital in on the G and you are in business.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Optical connectors
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 4:50 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 7:42 pm
Posts: 26
Paul,
I dont think I have that type of optical connector. At least if I do I cant find it. I have a new aw1600 and it looks like they changed that to coaxial connectors. I think I need what MYSKYGOD is showing me an ebay. :?:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 5:03 pm 
Offline
Guitar Ho
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:25 pm
Posts: 7793
Location: A la belle Côte d'Azur sans chaussettes
Machine type: Other - please inform admin
I think I remember reading that the 1600 went to coax. I have a CO² converter which I can set for 44.1 to work with the G, but it is adjustable. The one MSG has up is a lot cheaper, but it's not as versatile and doesn't say anything about data rate.

_________________
Honor is a debt you owe to those that see it in you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:21 pm 
Offline
Tenderfoot
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 10:16 am
Posts: 526
Location: Wales (UK)
The digital in that I use into my 1600 from my dr880 is a standard mono phono plug.
I thought this a bit strange but it works, I just use half of a stereo phono lead, the white half, (Though I don't suppose it matters).
There you have it perfect digital stereo, never come across it before, stereo from one lead but it works :lol:

_________________
Spishak really is the man!!!!!
But Sleepless is the Superstar!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 11:03 pm 
Offline
Ultra Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 6:44 pm
Posts: 1354
Location: Where the big toe goes... the foot will follow...
Does your D8 have a CD burner?

(I know the D16 did, not sure about all models of the D8 )

If it did - it would be easier to export as wav files to CD then import them on the G.

This would allow you the opportunity to archive your masters as well.

Cin

_________________
"I'm not trying to play guitar, I'm trying to make music." - Michael Hedges.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 1:21 am 
Offline
Cowhand
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 758
duhhhh, sorry man, didnt realize i was in the 1600 section...
yeah, you need that or something like it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group