The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:56 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:52 pm 
Offline
Tinhorn
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:04 pm
Posts: 216
Location: Great White North
Quote:
Is there a reason the sound should be degraded when monitored through the G compared to when my Motif is directly connected to the monitors?


No. We have D.'s ES-7, my bass, and the drum machine, all plugged in directly to the G, using the G's preamps. The G's Monitor Out is connected to a pair of Wharfedales. (bass into HiZ)

We practice using that set up, and then eventually record a take to get an objective listen. We don't have any noise issues from anything, during practice or during the recording.

I apologize that I can't give you any insight into solving your problem, I can only confirm that it should work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 3:10 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
CW wrote:
Quote:
Is there a reason the sound should be degraded when monitored through the G compared to when my Motif is directly connected to the monitors?


No. We have D.'s ES-7, my bass, and the drum machine, all plugged in directly to the G, using the G's preamps. The G's Monitor Out is connected to a pair of Wharfedales. (bass into HiZ)

We practice using that set up, and then eventually record a take to get an objective listen. We don't have any noise issues from anything, during practice or during the recording.

I apologize that I can't give you any insight into solving your problem, I can only confirm that it should work.


That's a double no..... :lol: :lol: :lol:

However........degraded sound quality could be defined as not as much dymanic range on the recorded signal vs. direct to the the monitors. That is the reason why the Mo should be recorded at 3/4 or full throttle. The patches will sound dull and some of the background sounds (like aftertouch modulations , etc. ) on the patches will not be heard on the recording.

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:24 am 
Offline
Boot Polisher

Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 6:11 am
Posts: 97
Bottom line? Sounds like shit when I go through the G.

Maybe I should try and mic the monitors while they are directly connected to the Motif? Probably more musical.

I am a little frustrated. :x


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:51 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Too strange.......mine works fine.

We gotta figure this out. Go to the voice mode of the Mo.

Key in these buttons ......Voice , Edit , F2 (output) Set the volume of the patch to about 75 in the window. The other parameters are pan , and the effect sends. leave them alone. press voice and try again. It seems like the Mo's outputs are blowing out the G's inputs for some strange reason.
If that doesn't work , go back and try 50. Whatever works press save and say yes to the confirmation screen then wait for the memory to write and the change will be saved upon shutdown and restart of the Mo.

In a way I hope this isn't it because there is no software global patch volume setting that I am aware of other than the Mo's hardware external volume fader. one would have to reset each patch. :twisted:

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2006 2:41 am 
Offline
Cowhand
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 758
kahuna wrote:
Bottom line? Sounds like shit when I go through the G.

Maybe I should try and mic the monitors while they are directly connected to the Motif? Probably more musical.

I am a little frustrated. :x


It should sound reall good when you plug into the g.

Do you have your inputs panned left and right? If not , you are sending your L and R signal from the motif directly down the center , which can result in some wierdness....

I wish you lived nearby. Id cruise over and try to help you. Hang in there man.

_________________
shine on crazy diamonds :)
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemus ... dID=520654


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 12:42 am 
Offline
Boot Polisher

Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 6:11 am
Posts: 97
More Paul wrote:
kahuna wrote:
Bottom line? Sounds like shit when I go through the G.

Maybe I should try and mic the monitors while they are directly connected to the Motif? Probably more musical.

I am a little frustrated. :x


It should sound reall good when you plug into the g.

Do you have your inputs panned left and right? If not , you are sending your L and R signal from the motif directly down the center , which can result in some wierdness....

I wish you lived nearby. Id cruise over and try to help you. Hang in there man.


I wish you could drop by too. Thanks.

The input pan L R was set to the middle, naturally because it is the default setting, and I am about the fire it up and listen.

Good thinking.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 1:16 am 
Offline
Boot Polisher

Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 6:11 am
Posts: 97
Hey! This is definitely much better!

I need to find those pesky patches and make 'em scream.

Timing is everything. I will wait until my five-month old daughter has finished her nap in my studio. She loves falling asleep to live music, but I want to really fire up the Motif.

Later


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 6:56 am 
Offline
Cowhand
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 758
Glad that worked. :)

_________________
shine on crazy diamonds :)
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemus ... dID=520654


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:54 am 
Offline
Boot Polisher

Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 6:11 am
Posts: 97
More Paul wrote:
Glad that worked. :)


I wish..

As soon as I turn up something like a concert grand and play a bit of bass I continue to get this horrible sound.

More experiments...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 8:59 am 
Offline
Boot Polisher

Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 6:11 am
Posts: 97
mrskygod wrote:
Too strange.......mine works fine.

We gotta figure this out. Go to the voice mode of the Mo.

Key in these buttons ......Voice , Edit , F2 (output) Set the volume of the patch to about 75 in the window. The other parameters are pan , and the effect sends. leave them alone. press voice and try again. It seems like the Mo's outputs are blowing out the G's inputs for some strange reason.
If that doesn't work , go back and try 50. Whatever works press save and say yes to the confirmation screen then wait for the memory to write and the change will be saved upon shutdown and restart of the Mo.

In a way I hope this isn't it because there is no software global patch volume setting that I am aware of other than the Mo's hardware external volume fader. one would have to reset each patch. :twisted:


Now this is getting somewhere. I just turned the Concert Grand patch down to 75 from 120. The sound is much improved - 90% and with a bit of tweaking - crap, this means I need to adjust every patch?

More experimenting...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 3:58 pm 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Ok what that tells me is that your Mo is sending too hot of a signal into the G. Where are the positions of the G's input gain knobs during recording.?

Like I said earlier you shuld not have to turn down every single patch. There are a few I turn up and a few I turn down. I have only adjusted maybe 1% of the patches in mine.

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:15 pm 
Offline
Boot Polisher

Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 6:11 am
Posts: 97
mrskygod wrote:
Ok what that tells me is that your Mo is sending too hot of a signal into the G. Where are the positions of the G's input gain knobs during recording.?

Like I said earlier you shuld not have to turn down every single patch. There are a few I turn up and a few I turn down. I have only adjusted maybe 1% of the patches in mine.


The G's input gain is usually around 10 o'clock. I sometimes have had the gain all the way to 'line' and I use the preamp gain. I have tried all sorts of combos.

I'll tell you what sounds beautiful is playing through my (faulty) Kurzweil Rumour reverb. Damn, if only the assembly guys had a clew how to solder!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:47 pm 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Leaving the pre amp out of the loop , Mo straight to G. inputs knobs to 10o'clock , Mo output set to 3/4 to 7/8 volume w/factory output virtual gain yields a signal in the Grand Piano patch of 0db on the meter if I hit low full chords (both hands) at full velocity on mine.

I'm wondering now if you have a missmatch in the pre or something.

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 4:25 am 
Offline
Boot Polisher

Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 6:11 am
Posts: 97
mrskygod wrote:
Leaving the pre amp out of the loop , Mo straight to G. inputs knobs to 10o'clock , Mo output set to 3/4 to 7/8 volume w/factory output virtual gain yields a signal in the Grand Piano patch of 0db on the meter if I hit low full chords (both hands) at full velocity on mine.

I'm wondering now if you have a missmatch in the pre or something.


I don't normally use the peramp, I have always directly connected the Yamaha to the monitors, unless going through the G, so the pre/G mis-match idea is out of the loop.

I'll go back and re-up the virtual gain on the keys and check it out.

Time to get back to beating our rugs and maybe give them a shampoo.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:58 am 
Offline
Boot Polisher

Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 6:11 am
Posts: 97
I'd like to thank you all for giving me a hand here. Having new gear is no fun when you've just spent X greenbacks and it sounds off.

I just played the Concert Grand and for the first time I am getting a smooth sound without the crappy crackling I used to get when I would play full sounding notes and chords.

Now to make some sounds...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:47 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
\:D/ :cheers:

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 3:41 am 
Offline
Lava Boy
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 1714
Favourite food: Varies
Machine type: AW16G
Code:
I just played the Concert Grand and for the first time I am getting a smooth sound without the crappy crackling I used to get when I would play full sounding notes and chords.

Now to make some sounds...


Houston...we have a solution!

Geno is the MAN for all your synth needs.

P.S. to the Illustrious Synth Ho himself I recieved the memory chips Monday and they look the right size but I won't get a chance to install till this weekend.

_________________
Refusing to make waves is not an indicator of a life well lived. Refusing to
make waves is the state that precedes drowning. - Paul Coughlin author


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 5:03 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Suh.......wheat

:D

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 9:11 pm 
Offline
Cowhand
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 758
kahuna wrote:
I'd like to thank you all for giving me a hand here. Having new gear is no fun when you've just spent X greenbacks and it sounds off.

I just played the Concert Grand and for the first time I am getting a smooth sound without the crappy crackling I used to get when I would play full sounding notes and chords.

Now to make some sounds...


So, what exactly was the problem? Settings on the G ? or the Motiff?

_________________
shine on crazy diamonds :)
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemus ... dID=520654


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 10:26 am 
Offline
Boot Polisher

Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 6:11 am
Posts: 97
More Paul wrote:
kahuna wrote:
I'd like to thank you all for giving me a hand here. Having new gear is no fun when you've just spent X greenbacks and it sounds off.

I just played the Concert Grand and for the first time I am getting a smooth sound without the crappy crackling I used to get when I would play full sounding notes and chords.

Now to make some sounds...


So, what exactly was the problem? Settings on the G ? or the Motiff?


The Motif was sending too hot of a signal so when I turned down some of the individual patches it practically eliminated the distortion.

I still don't know why the noise was always in the left monitor G channel out. What I am amazed at is how I can connect the Motif directly to my monitors and there is no problem with distortion, no matter where the gain is set.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group