The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Mon Apr 19, 2021 7:35 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:56 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 12:25 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Amsterdam
Hi everyone,

Probably a newbie question here, sorry for that.

Trying to record from my Roland RD700GX stage piano to a Yamaha AW16G DAW using 2 regular line inputs for stereo sound. Both jack-jack and balanced XLR outputs give the same problem:
When gain is over 25% a horrible clipping/distortion occurs. Reducing the volume of the RD doesn't solve it. Because of this it becomes quite hard to find the right settings to record loud enough.

Can anyone help? Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 5:09 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8494
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
Hello. First I would make sure you have nothing residing on those two tracks. Initialize all tracks to make sure you have no effects running or dynamics. You should be able to plug in to 2 inputs from your keyboard. Set your keyboard to 50% volume. Adjust the g trim until you get a -6 level. Doesn't matter how little trim u use so long as level is good.

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 5:49 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3738
Machine type: AW2400
Sounds as if the Roland is sending out a very strong signal ??? When you refer to the 25% level in your post, is that 25% of the roland volume or 25% of the Aw's trim? RZ set out what you first need to do.

Not sure how the roland sends its signal. Does it always run through the volume control, or is there a master volume that would have an output that is before the headphone volume control?? (just curious here)

At any rate there is opportunity to attenuate a signal at the entry point to the AW's signal chain. It can be found on the Ch View screen (use the View button). It can also be accessed on the EQ screen, as it is normally utilized to soften a signal that will be boosted by an EQ manipulation further down the line. So if you can't control the Roland's output try damping the signal on the way into the AW.

As RZ said, there is no need to use any of the AW's trim if it is receiving a strong line level signal from the instrument.

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group