The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Wed Sep 20, 2017 11:26 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 7:59 am 
Offline
The Reverend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:45 am
Posts: 4047
Location: dusty border town
Favourite food: cheddar-lol
Machine type: AW16G
Got an old Alesis hr-16 which, though sometimes sounding pretty stiff, seems to meet my needs right now...Any suggestion how best to put it to use...

Do I go direct thru midi?

Do I record to a paired channel?

Do I record in stereo?

Do I have a clue?


I can't answer the first three questions, but the fourth is a definite NO...

Help..Thanks for any tips...

BK


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Reggae
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 8:01 am 
Offline
The Reverend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:45 am
Posts: 4047
Location: dusty border town
Favourite food: cheddar-lol
Machine type: AW16G
Forgot to ask if anyone knew of any sites that had decent reggae one-drop loops that are fairly long...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 9:23 am 
Offline
Cowhand
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 758
send a midi out from the g to the drum machine. then you can (hopefully) figure out how to get it to start on cue and sync'd up.

connect your audio leads(1/4 inch) to the G and send those 2 inputs to one of your paired tracks.

_________________
shine on crazy diamonds :)
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemus ... dID=520654


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 2:56 pm 
Offline
Tinhorn
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:04 pm
Posts: 216
Location: Great White North
What MorePaul says - I have my Boss DR670 connected by MIDI to the G = G MIDI OUT -> BOSS MIDI IN
The 1/4" OUT from the drum machine into the G to record the audio signal.
When I hit PLAY on the G the drum machine starts.

The drum machine gets its tempo from the G through the MIDI so you have to set up a tempo map in the G.

This works great if I don't like the drum track down the line, as I can easily lay in another one since the 2 machines are synched.

Definitely worth the effort to get it going.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:26 am 
Offline
The Reverend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:45 am
Posts: 4047
Location: dusty border town
Favourite food: cheddar-lol
Machine type: AW16G
Tempo map , huh?

I'm not sure I'm up to that level yet...but thanks for the info.

I think I'll just program a song on the hr-16 and go direct...

But it sounds like tempo maps are the way to go in the future..

BK


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 7:43 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
CW wrote:
The drum machine gets its tempo from the G through the MIDI so you have to set up a tempo map in the G.



Well kinda........... scenes are snapshots of the G at any given time , the tempo map is the pages of the "photo album".

All you need to do is set a tempo (beat per minute) in the G for the drum machine to follow.

That is done on the tempo map page. Nothing more is needed on that page for midi clock.

The midi page is where you set who is master and slave.

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 1:32 pm 
Offline
Tinhorn
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:04 pm
Posts: 216
Location: Great White North
Mrskygod wrote:
Quote:
All you need to do is set a tempo (beat per minute) in the G for the drum machine to follow.


Yep .... he's right. That is all I did. Sorry for the confusion.

CW


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 1:59 pm 
Offline
Wants You
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 9:52 pm
Posts: 5276
Location: Hamilton Square, NJ
Machine type: AW16G
The HR-16 is a pretty old machine. If it does have MIDI capabilities, tying it in to the G's timeclock makes life easier in so many ways. From people coming from recording on cassette multi-tracks it's the best thing since sliced bread. :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 7:40 pm 
Offline
The Reverend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:45 am
Posts: 4047
Location: dusty border town
Favourite food: cheddar-lol
Machine type: AW16G
I used to really like sliced bread...

So do you think joining small drum loop samples to make a complete song would be easier/better? Seems more "time intensive" than a dad with two kids might be able to spend....geez, I'm lucky if I have enough time to plug-in the preamp...I guess the old hr-16 will have to suffice for now

BK


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 9:37 pm 
Offline
Cowhand
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 758
bokchoy wrote:
So do you think joining small drum loop samples to make a complete song would be easier/better?


You can record your instrumenst/song with just a scratch drum beat from your drum machine (sync'd to temp with the g) and then replace that drum beat later with your sliced and diced sampled drum masterpiece..

Thats why its so important to sync your drum machine. Then all your tracks are perfectly in time at a given bpm. You can export them and get rid of the drum machine track and they will sync up perfectly in acid or whatever software as long as you set the BPM the same !!! FUN :)


Or you can make your drumbeats first on your computer , burn a cd and import the track to the G. Dont forget to remember your BPM again though as thats what syncs it all up .....

peace

_________________
shine on crazy diamonds :)
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemus ... dID=520654


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 2:52 am 
Offline
Wants You
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 9:52 pm
Posts: 5276
Location: Hamilton Square, NJ
Machine type: AW16G
Having everything all synched up makes slicing and dicing all the other stuff infinitely more easy too. 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 3:06 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
I hope Rob doesn't see this slice and dice thread........

Image

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 8:38 am 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5004
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
How many slices? Of what?

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 3:51 pm 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Yer on a diet remeber?

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 4:35 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5004
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
:cry:

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 6:52 am 
Offline
The Reverend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:45 am
Posts: 4047
Location: dusty border town
Favourite food: cheddar-lol
Machine type: AW16G
This question should probably go in the newbies section...

I've got drums patterns(old Alesis hr-16) and actual songs(combos of drum patterns) for songs I recorded on my old 4 track...I like them the way they are, and want to keep them and overdub new guitar, bass, keys tracks on the G...anyway, what's the best way to record them onto the G ? Is it possible to record the individual drums(e.g., kick, snare) onto different tracks so I could pan them and then copy to a stereo track?

Am I even going about this in the right way???

Thanks,

BK


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 10:09 am 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5004
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Your 4 track probably has two outputs only (L+R). So, getting 4 tracks on the G gives a timing problem, you would have to record twice (first: 1 on the left and 2 on the right and then 3 on the left and 4 on the right). The second playback will never have the exact same speed as the first.

There's a trick which enables you to align them. It's a bit of work, but it may solve your timing problem.

First record track 1 of the 4 track to track 1 of the G, and track 2 of the 4 track to track 2 of the G. You can do this by panning track 1 completely left and track 2 completely right.

Then, record track 2 to track 3 of the G, and track 3 to track 4 on the G.

Next, record track 3 to track 5 on the G and track 4 to track 6 of the G.

Your track assignment will be:

Code:
4T - G  runnr

1 - 1    1
2 - 2    1
2 - 3    2
3 - 4    2
3 - 5    3
4 - 6    3


Now, you have three runs that need alinging, but for each pair of runs you have info that is on both runs: you can use track 2 (that is on run 1 and run 2) to get them exactly aligned by deleting and adding milliseconds. In that way you will have track 1 and 3 aligned as well. Then, you can use the info on track 3 (that is on run 2 and run 3) to get them exactly aligned, in that way you're automatically aligning track 4 as well.

Hope this helps.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 6:00 pm 
Offline
The Reverend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 7:45 am
Posts: 4047
Location: dusty border town
Favourite food: cheddar-lol
Machine type: AW16G
Thanks, Robbie...I think I mislead you...What I want to do has nothing to do with 4 track. That was just the old unit that I used my drum machine on....I want to use the patterns
that I constructed(and are still saved on the hr-16) and go directly into the G...The hr-16 has two outputs(each has a 1/4 inch left and right) and also a midi....Is it possible to take the individual drums/cymbals etc. and record onto their own seperate tracks? The hr-16 has drum pad assignments, but I'm afraid I'm not up to going back and doing that kind of work...don't wanna spend the time to learn that stuff now as I'm still trying to learn the G...lazy I guess...
Are there any workarounds?

Make sense?
Sorry for the miscommunication....

BK


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 6:10 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5004
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
No problem, now I see what you want. I have no clue about midi, but I suspect it would be possible, provided you can tell the SR16 to play one channel at a time. I'm sure some Midiots will come along with better help. I'll keep an eye on the thread since I'm interested as well in the possibilities.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 6:39 pm 
Offline
Wants You
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 9:52 pm
Posts: 5276
Location: Hamilton Square, NJ
Machine type: AW16G
You can go in and, one-by-one, pan each of the drums to one of the outputs (let's say the left one). Pan all the other drums to the right. Feed the output from the left, which will contain just your one drum sound, and record it onto the G.

Rinse and repeat. :D

Of course, this will be infinitely easier if you got the midi-synch thing working. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group