The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 5:39 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2009 7:46 am 
Offline
Welcome to the Forum!

Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 7:36 am
Posts: 2
Favourite food: home cooking
Machine type: AW1600
Hi everyone,

I have a Roland TD-12 electric kit that sounds big and phat through my home stereo but thin and lame through my AW1600.

Does anyone have any tips as to why this is so ? Ive turned the effects off the channels. I just wish I could get the same sound in the AW as when I run it direct into the stereo.

All time on this matter is greatly appreciated.

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2009 11:59 am 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5017
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Hi BR,

First of all, welcome to the forum, make yourself at home.

About the problem, there could be many causes. First thing I would do is check if there's nasty scene active. Press the scene button and recall initial data. That'll kill all settings that are different from default. Second thing is, I would record something else. Plug in a mic and sing something. Does it also sound so thin through the AW?

Is there any hardware between the Roland and the G that is NOT there when you play it directly over the hi fi set?

Compare the levels; are they the same? It could very well be that through the AW, the levels that are offered to the hi fi set are lower.

These are the things that come to mind, but there probably are more. Any more takers?

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:29 pm 
Offline
Tinhorn

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 12:50 am
Posts: 317
Favourite food: overmuramovingcake
Hi BR,
I'll add something to Robbie's suggestions. First we must know if U are listening AW through the same home stereo as Roland drums or through other speakers? HI-FI speakers always sound "nicer" to ears, because they're made for final consumer, not studio.
Did U try to compare sound of all 3 sources through phones? (3rd is Roland's phone out, I'm sure it must be there)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:43 pm 
Offline
Tinhorn
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 5:15 am
Posts: 231
Location: Easton, PA
Favourite food: lucky charms
Machine type: AW16G
Boognish..

great name by the way...Ween are the shizznit!

I record my TD-6, straight into an AW16G. As Robbie metioned, make sure all settings are clear and check the volume produced by the Roland. Your kit is superior to mine, so I'd imagine there are compression/eq settings for the kit parts...check those, and reset all Roland settings to defaults...if you are able. I found I had to turn my kit nearly all the way up to get a descent sound that was close to listening via the headphones, direct from the Roland brain. Also, I had to adjust each piece (cymbals etc..) several times to "tune" the volume levels while playing since the velocity is true.

And like Dejan mentioned, the stereo speakers could be making all the difference as well.

Long live the boognish!!
Image

_________________
"And the Argus has practiced compassion. With an eye on you, as one is on me"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2009 3:37 pm 
Offline
Has Been To Cheeseland
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:09 pm
Posts: 5967
Location: Just west of DEE-troit
Machine type: AW16G
Hi Boognish - welcome to the forum. I'm curious about the speaker/listening environment question as well. If the drums are sounding great through different speakers and in a different room than where you are listening to the direct recordings, you might consider sticking a mic up and capturing them through your home stereo speakers. It wouldn't be the first time somebody pumped a direct signal through speakers and mic'd it up to give it some life.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2009 6:59 pm 
Offline
Mr. Blues
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:51 pm
Posts: 3369
Location: Germany
Favourite food: Sauerkraut ;-)
Machine type: AW2400
Hi and welcome Boognish,

I have the TD12 in my studio. I record the TD-12 directly from the 2 master outputs of the TD-12 plugged in my AW2400. EQ and effects in nthe AW are always flat and I can hear the same sound like produced with this http://www.thomann.de/de/roland_pm30_drummonitor_21system.htm monitors.

Maybe your home stereo needs other settings in the TD12 than the speakers connected to the AW. Try to compare the TD12 sound with the recorded tracks with the same speakers. A flat recording must produce the same sound.

HTH
Andreas

_________________
Blues aint nothing but the blues!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 8:59 am 
Offline
Welcome to the Forum!

Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 7:36 am
Posts: 2
Favourite food: home cooking
Machine type: AW1600
Thanks to everyone for their time on this, I really appreciate it.

To anwser a few questions, im listening to with the same speakers , (I use an old powerful marantz amp and speakers)
When I plug the kit directly into the stereo it sounds huge, when I run it through the AW then same input on stereo it sounds not as warm or loud.

Im going to go try a few of the suggestions and let you know how it goes.

Thanks again everyone.

Will


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 8:25 pm 
Offline
DS Techie and Newbie of the Month!
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 5:50 pm
Posts: 47
Machine type: AW1600
I am curious. How are the 2 devices connected?

Forgive me if these 2 ideas are not helpful:

1) The TD12 manual (page 76) refers to switches which affect the MASTER out or PHONE connections. Is something switched off? A loss of 'ambiance' or 'mpx' in the output would affect the sound.

2) Are the impedances of the devices compatible? I am not knowledgeable in this area, but assume it would affect the quality of the sound.

_________________
Tim Andrews
United Kingdom


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group