The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Wed Dec 19, 2018 11:21 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Linking Two AW1600
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:22 pm 
Offline
Ranch Hand
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:39 pm
Posts: 1155
Machine type: AW4416
I know someone mentioned something about midi linking two Yamaha`s but I can`t remember who it was at the moment.
What I want to know is, if I link two machines and want to burn a disc, do the tracks from both desks burn on to one machines cd burner?

T.

_________________
http://tmacstudio.wix.com/tmac

http://www.soundcloud.com/t-mac-12

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmCjAzN ... ture=watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GETYJUJKu0

https://www.reverbnation.com/tmac


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking Two AW1600
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:38 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3490
Machine type: AW2400
T.Mac. wrote:
I know someone mentioned something about midi linking two Yamaha`s but I can`t remember who it was at the moment.
What I want to know is, if I link two machines and want to burn a disc, do the tracks from both desks burn on to one machines cd burner?

T.



By the time you get to burning, you will have mixed the tracks down to a stereo file, resident on the master machine. So use that machine to burn you finished product.

I have done a link up a few times, as has Robbie and a few others, so ask away.

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking Two AW1600
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 12:21 am 
Offline
HamelnStock Survivor and Midi Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:20 am
Posts: 2695
Location: Belgium
Favourite food: the edible kind
Machine type: AW16G
Hi T.Mac. I'm one of the others who has had two machines running in synch. Feel free ...

_________________
In a minute it might be gone. Life is a bear in a bubble.

http://www.soundclick.com/bearinabubble


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking Two AW1600
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 1:21 am 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5129
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
I did it too, but although successful in the studio, I ran into a few strange problems on location. The start/stop/rew commands etc were transferred from one machine to the other, but the playback speed was far from constant... as if it was recorded on tape where the tape got jammed.

I ended up using both machines simultaneously without any link whatsoever. So the machines both had their own timing and at the end of the recording (close to an hour) the timing was off just a few milliseconds. I transferred 8 tracks from one machine to the other and listened every few minutes how far they were out of sync. Here and there I deleted a few milliseconds to resync them. In the end that was easier than doing the cable work.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking Two AW1600
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:08 am 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3490
Machine type: AW2400
I never experienced the timing issue. there are some settings to account for synching issues, as i recall (at least on the 2400). If you get into it, I will reacquaint myself with the process. If you need multiple inputs, it is worth the effort.

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking Two AW1600
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:13 am 
Offline
Ranch Hand
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:39 pm
Posts: 1155
Machine type: AW4416
I was looking to use the two desks to give me the 16 tracks at 24 bit, and was wondering how I mixed down to a stereo track and burned, I normally go to pc through usb with the stereo file into software, but was just trying to find out if I needed to burn to the AW1600 cd burner how it would happen.
Thanks.

T.

_________________
http://tmacstudio.wix.com/tmac

http://www.soundcloud.com/t-mac-12

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmCjAzN ... ture=watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GETYJUJKu0

https://www.reverbnation.com/tmac


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking Two AW1600
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:56 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3490
Machine type: AW2400
If the two are linked for transport control via midi, and you want to listen back/ mix on the AW, then you will not have 16 tracks, only 14. A pair on the master will be used for cascading the stereo out of the slave to the master.

On the other hand, if you intend to track only on the AW, then I would not even bother with the Midi if it is giving grief. Simply do as Robbie suggested, start both machines simutaneoulsly and export/ align on your computer platform.

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking Two AW1600
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 12:10 pm 
Offline
Ranch Hand
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:39 pm
Posts: 1155
Machine type: AW4416
"A pair on the master will be used for cascading the stereo out of the slave to the master"

That`s the info I was after, thanks Byron.

T.

_________________
http://tmacstudio.wix.com/tmac

http://www.soundcloud.com/t-mac-12

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmCjAzN ... ture=watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GETYJUJKu0

https://www.reverbnation.com/tmac


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking Two AW1600
PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 2:02 pm 
Offline
Greenhorn
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 7:44 pm
Posts: 185
Location: Scotland
Favourite food: Hot and Fatty
Machine type: AW16G
I ues 2 16G's and what I find is. If you stop the play you can't just restart it again. You have to go back or forward either to the next marker or rewind/ff a wee bit. Also always allow the slave hard drive led to go out before pressing play/record. If you're too quick with this the sync is out

_________________
http://members.soundclick.com/Bobby+M+Music


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking Two AW1600
PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 7:43 pm 
Offline
Ranch Hand
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:39 pm
Posts: 1155
Machine type: AW4416
Cheers for the info Bobby.

T.

_________________
http://tmacstudio.wix.com/tmac

http://www.soundcloud.com/t-mac-12

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmCjAzN ... ture=watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GETYJUJKu0

https://www.reverbnation.com/tmac


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking Two AW1600
PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 7:42 am 
Offline
No More Coasters!
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:33 pm
Posts: 1794
Machine type: AW1600
I have an AW1600 Master linked to an AW16G via midi.

I always mix down all the tracks on both machines, to the stereo track on the 1600. I don't burn on the 1600. I export the stereo track to my PC, and burn it there....because I usually touch up the stereo track in Soundforge first.

I use stereo out from the G into a paired track on the 1600, because the digital output/input caused audio syncing issues.

Some pre-roll is required in order for the slave to sync when using the transport control.

But, for the most part it all works really well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking Two AW1600
PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 11:54 am 
Offline
Ranch Hand
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:39 pm
Posts: 1155
Machine type: AW4416
Cheers Utah, I`ve decided to stick to the usb into pc which when using the utility button gives me the Yam`s 12 faders for the first 12 twelve tracks, and then change to usb 2 and that gives me the faders for the next 12 tracks.
Thanks.

T.

_________________
http://tmacstudio.wix.com/tmac

http://www.soundcloud.com/t-mac-12

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmCjAzN ... ture=watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GETYJUJKu0

https://www.reverbnation.com/tmac


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group