The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 6:38 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 8:56 am 
The Reverend

Favourite food: cheddar-lol
Machine type: AW16G
...regarding Dijonstock...

Tell us Rob...how did it all get started, you being the proud papa? ...Seriously :)

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:07 pm 
Robbie The Botkiller

Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
I was an IT teacher at the time, so I was obviously supposed to be a techie. Searching for information on the AW16G I found aw16g.com and registered. After a year or so that forum started malfunctioning. The owner wasn't there for maintenance.

DCinFrance arranged a meeting in Dijon which we gracefully baptised DijonStock (a Woodstock alternative). So I registered dijonstock.com to be able to upload pics and movie clips.

I felt I should be able to also install a forum like the aw16g.com site, and I more or less copied the structure. I didn't tell anyone except for MicEater. When aw16g.com went down Pete Young was the first to provide a safe haven, some kind of html based one-dimensional forum. Then, I decided to tell other about the forum on DijonStock.com. That was on June 19, 2004. Most of the oldies also registered here, but a lot of things changed. On the old forum, there was no moderation or administration. It was only like an empty bar. On this site, there was administration and moderation and not everyone was equally happy about that. So it took about three years for the "dijonstock culture" to settle. Many people left and I regret that of most of them. But in the meantime, new friends arrived and fit in seamlessly with the established culture.

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating

Last edited by Robbie on Thu Dec 23, 2010 12:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
typo