The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Mon Jul 16, 2018 4:25 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 3:45 am 
Dude

I came upon one of those "can't pass up" deals today and got a brand spankin' new Line 6 Bass POD xt for $150.

Do any of you use this gear to record bass with?

What patches, tweaks, hints can you give to me?

I am a guitarist that is forced to play bass on my demos.

Thank you!

Jeff
Tupelo, MS

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 6:31 am 
Mr. Electonica Dude

Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
A really good friend once told me , "Geno you play bass like a guitar player instead of a bass player". Once I began playing with good drummers , I began to realize he was right. You gotta lock in with the percussion.

I don't use pods but when I do actually play a bass it is direct recorded into the high z. Sometimes I'll run it through a pre then to a lo-z input. There are other times I'll mic a cabinet. When I get real fustrated in how it all sounds , then I just find a good synth bass patch and let the fingers or feet do the walking.

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:13 am 
preset ho

Hi Jeff, I use the Bass Pod XT Pro - the best tool for recording bass out there I think.

You'll struggle to get a poor sound from it as it's so easy to use. Play with it - run your guitar through it, vocals, synths - it's a superb audio manipulation tool for all of those and more.

The Uni-Vibe fx is a very strong favourite of mine along with the Eden amp model and the Ampeg 8 x 10 cab. The SWR 1 x 15 is awesome - a word I try my damnedest never to use. :wink: