The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:20 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Melodyne Plugin???
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 5:45 am 
Offline
Ultra Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 6:44 pm
Posts: 1354
Location: Where the big toe goes... the foot will follow...
There are 4 videos on the Melodyne Plugin

Video One
Video Two
Video Three
Video Four

I'm incredible impressed... almost enough to make me want to switch to software.

Cin

_________________
"I'm not trying to play guitar, I'm trying to make music." - Michael Hedges.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:05 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
That is cool.

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 8:26 am 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:38 pm
Posts: 6539
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Favourite food: Sushi
Machine type: AW16G
That is possibly the most interesting thing I've ever seen.

Now, even I can sing in tune 8) !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 8:55 am 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5097
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
The first minute of the first video I thought, another toy. I take that back! :oops: 8)

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:28 am 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:38 pm
Posts: 6539
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Favourite food: Sushi
Machine type: AW16G
I'll download the demo tonight... if it sounds half-decent, I'll buy it.

Having used the Voiceworks for quite some time now... I'm not all that impressed with its performance anymore. The "Thicken"-function makes my voice sound weird and makes me drift out of pitch because I keep hearing the slightly off-tune secondary voice and start to take that as the primary input... leading me to beleive that I'm outta tune, pitch correction makes me sound like Cher if I don't dial in the exact right amount of everything and his brother...

The only thing it's really good for - again IMO - is harmony vocals... that's where it shows its potential.

Well, and fiddling around with hillarious settings such as "Radio Voice" or "Kids", "Toons" make it a nice toy - or special effect for a gig.

I mostly use it as a 1000$ preamp nowadays... which sucks if you ask me.

I can imagine using the VW live... but for the studio, I'd need something just like this plugin!

Mic


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:51 am 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5097
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
What's it cost?

And, given the fact that it is a plug-in, you need something to plug it in, like Cubase. Another bag of bucks...

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:58 am 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:38 pm
Posts: 6539
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Favourite food: Sushi
Machine type: AW16G
Well, it goes @ 299$... which I think is decent for what it does... the VW cost 5 times as much... +/-.

I've got the host-application... so that shouldn't result in additional costs :wink: .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:38 am 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5097
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
No, but for me it does... :cry:

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 11:26 am 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:38 pm
Posts: 6539
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Favourite food: Sushi
Machine type: AW16G
Robbie wrote:
No, but for me it does... :cry:


Well, take this with a grain of salt... but I currently use Magix Music Studio Deluxe, selling at 70€. I've used Cubase on my old laptop... and honestly can't see too much of a difference between the two.

Sure, Cubase might well do everything a tad better... but for a 300€ difference in price... I'll accept that.

It's not that big an investment, and makes working lots easier than on the G.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 12:11 pm 
Offline
preset ho
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:41 pm
Posts: 4093
Location: Île-de-France
DC has been using this for some time now and wont stop raving about it.

_________________
"You think you are going to die...and then you don't." © Robbie Jukebox - 23rd July 2004.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 12:17 pm 
Offline
preset ho
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:41 pm
Posts: 4093
Location: Île-de-France
Robbie wrote:
No, but for me it does... :cry:


Robbie: I use FL Studio producer edition a LOT. How good is it? Mike Oldfield runs his entire recording system with it - it's good enough for him and it can be had for as little as $49 via download. Easy upgrade path as your needs grow - best of all, I took the offer of lifetime upgrades for the product - cost @ £25 :D

The programme works as a VST host and also as a plugin for other VST hosts.

Take the trial and see for yourself- nothing offers better value that I have found.

_________________
"You think you are going to die...and then you don't." © Robbie Jukebox - 23rd July 2004.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 12:18 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5097
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Thanks for the tip, I'll definitely look into that.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 12:19 pm 
Offline
preset ho
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:41 pm
Posts: 4093
Location: Île-de-France
MicEater wrote:
I currently use Magix Music Studio Deluxe, selling at 70€. I've used Cubase on my old laptop... and honestly can't see too much of a difference between the two.


Michel - the reviews of Magix in the UK have been nothing short of impressive - it scored highly on all counts.

_________________
"You think you are going to die...and then you don't." © Robbie Jukebox - 23rd July 2004.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 1:01 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:38 pm
Posts: 6539
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Favourite food: Sushi
Machine type: AW16G
Lysdexia wrote:
Michel - the reviews of Magix in the UK have been nothing short of impressive - it scored highly on all counts.


Wow, thanks for the heads-up Anndra 8) !

What's most impressive and audible to me is that I *think* it uses system resources more wisely than Cubase... I've never had pops, crackles and the like with it - and I used to have constant crackling with Cubase!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 6:07 am 
Offline
Ultra Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 6:44 pm
Posts: 1354
Location: Where the big toe goes... the foot will follow...
Okay... I purchased the Melodyne Uno... I tried it out on vocals, lead guitar and bass.

The Uno does pitch correction quickly and accurately. It doesn't have the headache of working with the Antares AVP-1. With the AVP-1 you have to dial in the scale. With this, set it and forget it. It does a good job of figuring out the key - and it's very accurate. It's just like the video.

I'm not a big fan of the quantize function.

I'm still trying to figure out how to work this with the AVP-1 and the Vocalworks.

What I'm thinking about doing is exporting to the Melodyne, then using the AVP-1 for vocal thickening (doubling).

Then, I may use the vocal works after that for harmonies... this should be fun!

I don't want to over process, but the tools are great.

I'm going to invide some friends over that can't sing... see what they can do.

Cin!

_________________
"I'm not trying to play guitar, I'm trying to make music." - Michael Hedges.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:45 am 
Offline
THE man!!!
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 4:05 am
Posts: 1091
Location: Upper-Left Coast
Favourite food: roasted pig snouts
Machine type: AW16G
This is a VERY cool plug in.......unfortunately I lack the skills to do anything other than post in forums and check email on my computer......I'm such a dummy :crybaby:

:rr:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:27 pm 
Offline
Ultra Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 6:44 pm
Posts: 1354
Location: Where the big toe goes... the foot will follow...
SPISHAK wrote:
This is a VERY cool plug in.......unfortunately I lack the skills to do anything other than post in forums and check email on my computer......I'm such a dummy :crybaby:

:rr:


You would be surprised at how easy this is to use...

You should at least try the free demo...

Cin

_________________
"I'm not trying to play guitar, I'm trying to make music." - Michael Hedges.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:58 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5097
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Free demo?? Free is good.

But I'll need to have a host application. I don't think Audacity does that, does it?

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 3:02 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 1:38 pm
Posts: 6539
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Favourite food: Sushi
Machine type: AW16G
Robbie wrote:
Free demo?? Free is good.

But I'll need to have a host application. I don't think Audacity does that, does it?


In fact... it does - seems to be a standalone... at least there's an .exe-file that opens a proprietary working interface. Doesn't ask for anything else ;-)!

_________________
Today's mighty oak is just yesterday's nut that held its ground


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 10:59 pm 
Offline
Thief crusher
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2006 2:50 pm
Posts: 275
Location: Hell, Scotland
The thing looks F.A.B.

small note, though.... here is the specs required for VST plugin from your PC

1 GHz processor (Intel or AMD), 512 MB RAM (1 GB recommended), Windows XP (SP2) or Windows Vista (32 bit); RTAS or VST host.

I reacon the 1GB RAM would be a minimum(also watch out because if you run XP it 'steals' some of your RAM - about 50 odd meg so when you think you have 512 you only got 450 in reality)....unfortunately I only got the 512 MB plus XP at mo and the way my system creaks along I'm lucky to run more than 5 stereo channels with a couple of effects on each.....

ah well, one can but dream.

Andraa wrote


Quote:
DC has been using this for some time now and wont stop raving about it.


I have heard the results done by David and was very impressed - good system, natural sounding and easy to use.

I would throw a bit of caution up in the air though, and that is.....You still gotta have a good sounding voice in the first place - if you have, this baby is the one for you for now.... if your voice sucks, melodyne may well put it in tune, but it will still suck. - same for doing guitar parts/bas parts as shown - crap sound doesn't get any better - just more in tune.


Does anybody know if it can handle chords? - I only saw it on single notes.


The Doc 8)

_________________
The art of conversation is not talking, but listening...

http://www.myspace.com/higherpoweruk


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group