The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Tue Oct 23, 2018 6:45 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 65 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Linking two G's
PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 5:48 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5120
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
First let me say that I don't know what I'm talking about, but, as I came to see it some time ago, the G can only talk when it needs to be able to talk (one G) and listen (the other G). So a G can behave as a master for a different device that understands what it needs to be a slave, but the G itself can't be a slave - so it can't be mastered by another.

When I have the time, I will definitely try again.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking two G's
PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 8:32 pm 
Offline
Tinhorn

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 12:50 am
Posts: 317
Favourite food: overmuramovingcake
Robbie wrote:
First let me say that I don't know what I'm talking about, but, as I came to see it some time ago, the G can only talk when it needs to be able to talk (one G) and listen (the other G). So a G can behave as a master for a different device that understands what it needs to be a slave, but the G itself can't be a slave - so it can't be mastered by another.

When I have the time, I will definitely try again.


I'm sure most of the time you know what you're talking about, Robbie :D
It's just that here one thing is not completely true. G is digital audio slave when U enable Digital IN.
So, in theory - as I don't have 2 G's - what I can suggest:
Put one G to slave with Digital IN enable, but on other G (master) leave Digital IN setting disabled (it is already a master), just send 1 optical cable into first-slave machine.
Then set also MIDI as you already know or try some new settings.
Maybe U tried this before but wasn't working?

I forgot to write down my perfect MIDI settings when I was syncing to PC, I'll do it next time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking two G's
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:32 pm 
Offline
Advancing newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 3:24 pm
Posts: 290
Location: Surfside Beach, SC
Thanks for the advice, Robbie.
Is it possible to use the advice also to connect the G to a 4416?

Would like your advice on that.
Thanks in advance.

Leo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking two G's
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 2:05 am 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5120
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
I don't know Leo as I don't know the 4416. The G in itself has a few mysteries. I remember successfully connecting two G's, and, following the exact same procedure, running into strange behaviour later. I should try again.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linking two G's
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 2:46 pm 
Offline
Advancing newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 3:24 pm
Posts: 290
Location: Surfside Beach, SC
Thank you Robbie. I just will try to follow your procedure once I get the 4416. I will let you know if it works or not .

Sorry to hear about Geno. It broke my heart. After all he went thru

Leo


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 65 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group