The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Sat Nov 17, 2018 9:43 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Paired tracks
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 3:37 am 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 12:34 am
Posts: 4
Machine type: AW16G
I did a search for this subject to see if my particular question was already brought up and answered but didn't quite find it. What I want to know is how do I for example recording something on track 9 and something on track 10. When I try this (or on any of the tracks beyond 8) I end up just recording over the previous passage. I tried a couple of things like clicking on 10 after I put something on 9 and messing with the balance. Is this unit really more of a 12 track recorder and not 16 or am I total bonehead? If it is the latter please educate me.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paired tracks
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 5:15 am 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8204
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
Greetings. I wouldn't be concerned about finding answers in the search. It's a hit or miss not only here but most forums. Just too much stuff to decipher.

The answer to your question is yes you can use 9 and 10 independently. I've done it many times back in the day that I had the 16G. You can record the tracks individually, you can pan the tracks, but you can't control the volume levels individually.

I'm not near a manual tonight. But I or some will shed the news soon. I'll check in tomorrow and if no one has explained it, I'll see what I can find.

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paired tracks
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 10:07 am 
Offline
Greenhorn
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 7:44 pm
Posts: 185
Location: Scotland
Favourite food: Hot and Fatty
Machine type: AW16G
Make sure you are not using a paired input. Link for example input 3 to 9 making sure input 4 is not linking to 10

_________________
http://members.soundclick.com/Bobby+M+Music


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paired tracks
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 2:52 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8204
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
BobbyMcK2 wrote:
Make sure you are not using a paired input. Link for example input 3 to 9 making sure input 4 is not linking to 10


Exactly! Press the input buttons to be sure you aren't pared. The fader knob should be left for 9, right for 10. Connect the one input to the track. I think that should do it.

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paired tracks
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 5:42 pm 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1262
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
Odd numbered tracks from a pair can only be connected to an odd numbered input on the Recording screen. Same with even. E.g., Input 1 can only go to track 9,11,13,15. If you only set up one input for recording, then it shouldn't affect the other track of the pair (IIRC).

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paired tracks
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 6:22 pm 
Offline
Has Been To Cheeseland
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:09 pm
Posts: 5996
Location: Just west of DEE-troit
Machine type: AW16G
If you want completely independent control over each track, then it probably is more of a 12 track recorder. As Ron mentioned, you can pan the two tracks of a pair individually, but pretty much anything else you change (effects, EQ, volume) will affect both tracks of the pair equally. I tend to use the paired tracks for stereo submixes of stuff, or just use one of the pair and consider it another mono track.

The input-to-track routings that Ralph just mentioned may explain why you keep recording over you first track. An odd numbered input will default to the odd track of a paired track. There are ways around this - record on a mono track (1-8) and move it to where you want it using the edit:move command. Also (it's been years since I've done this, so take it with a grain of salt), but I seem to recall being able to trick the machine into routing the input I wanted where I wanted it. If you already have an input connected to track 9 and try to connect an odd numbered input to 9/10, it will go to track 10...then disconnect what you have connected to track 9 so you don't record over it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paired tracks
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 9:20 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 12:34 am
Posts: 4
Machine type: AW16G
Thanks all. I figured out what I was doing wrong after reading the message here. I was trying use the same input for different tracks so for example I tried to run something from input 7 into track 9 and then again into track 10. Again after reading the posts it dawned on me that I needed to plug into a different input. I agree it's a bit tricky because if you don't watch you input level on a paired track and one is more dominant you're kinda screwed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paired tracks
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 10:11 pm 
Offline
Has Been To Cheeseland
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:09 pm
Posts: 5996
Location: Just west of DEE-troit
Machine type: AW16G
rorytroy wrote:
if you don't watch you input level on a paired track and one is more dominant you're kinda screwed.


Kinda screwed, but not completely screwed. You can always copy that pair to two mono tracks (say 1 and 2), pan them wide left and right, adjust the volumes individually (and do any individual EQ, effects, etc. while you're at it), do a stereo mixdown, then copy the stereo mix back to the original paired tracks.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group