The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Wed Nov 14, 2018 9:38 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:33 pm 
Offline
Tinhorn

Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:33 pm
Posts: 241
Favourite food: Jägerschnitzel
Machine type: AW16G
Guys,

I've read somewhere on the forum how one can fatten up a track by copying one recorded track to another track and then shifting the new track by a few milliseconds and panning the two tracks hard left and right. What editing command should I use to accomplish this?

I have a drum machine-generated handclap that I want to make much bigger, like those old Slade handclaps. What's the editing method? Is it Move? I didn't see a Huge Handclap button on the editing screen; also, how much of a time shift for the new track? I've copied my handclap track, I just need to shift one of them.

Thanks, Randy

_________________
Y me preguntan por qué bebo.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 9:12 pm 
Offline
Has Been To Cheeseland
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:09 pm
Posts: 5996
Location: Just west of DEE-troit
Machine type: AW16G
You would use either the insert (to move the track back a little relative to the other) or delete (to move it ahead of the other). How much time? Good question. The undo key allows for quick trial and error, so just guess and go from there. Start with maybe 20 milliseconds and see how it sounds. Not what you want? Hit undo and try again.

Just a guess, but if you really want to get a "huge group handclap" effect, I suspect a single copy offset a bit won't leave you feeling satisfied. You might make several copies, shift them all a bit time-wise, change the pitch and EQ on some to make them sound like different sets of hands. Just thinking out loud here - I've never actually tried this.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 9:18 pm 
Offline
Tinhorn

Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:33 pm
Posts: 241
Favourite food: Jägerschnitzel
Machine type: AW16G
Thanks, JM; yep, I might have to play around with it a bit. I just did a search and found these instructions without too much trouble, courtesy of 60s guy:

"It's a simple procedure.

Press EDIT repeatedly to INSERT.

Cursor over and select the vocal track you wish to offset.

If you want to offset the track by 10 milleseconds for example, cursor to the lower set of numbers and adjust it to read

00:00:00:000
00:00:00:010

Cursor to EXEC

Press ENTER"

I will try this in the evening.

Randy

_________________
Y me preguntan por qué bebo.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 12:31 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5125
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Don't forget to pan one channel completely left and the other completely right for a full Clap experience! :)

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:03 am 
Offline
Footswitch Genius
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:54 am
Posts: 536
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Favourite food: Jarlsberg
Machine type: AW16G
Quote:
You would use either the insert (to move the track back a little relative to the other) or delete (to move it ahead of the other).

i've always used Move for that (e.g. Move Trk 1-1 from 1.1.000 to 1.1.020 etc.) - the result is the same though

_________________
Wanted to buy: one Right Word Clock, in good condition.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 9:47 am 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5125
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
I'd definitely use insert. De G has been known to mess up the file system when a move command is used where source and target overlap. Moving a track forward for just a few millisecond is almost entirely overlap.

It might depend on the version of OS you're using but I'd definitely not take the risk...

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 11:54 am 
Offline
Footswitch Genius
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:54 am
Posts: 536
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Favourite food: Jarlsberg
Machine type: AW16G
Quote:
where source and target overlap.

good point yes move it onto another track, not the same one.

BUT at the end of the day (in my opinion) the effect is of limited value as a double tracker. instead of 'double track' it should be thought of as 'wide' because that's all it does - makes your track wide in the stereo field.

true double tracking has a life and movement that a time-shifted clone does not, but of course it's also far easier to bugger up. the end results can be good though.

_________________
Wanted to buy: one Right Word Clock, in good condition.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group