The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:31 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 7:33 am 
Offline
Harry the Spaceman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 8:22 am
Posts: 1344
Location: South Africa
Favourite food: small children
Machine type: AW16G
Install this update at your own risk, being a flash based update there is the unlikely chance that your AW16G may become inoperable.

1. Download the Upgrade OS version 1.06 here: http://docs.dijonstock.com/AW16PROG.bin
2. Burn the BIN file to a CDR or CDRW
3. Turn on your AW16G, insert the CD containing the BIN file
4. Shutdown and turn off your AW16G.
5. Press and hold down the SONG and REMOTE buttons at the same time, turn on your AW16G, once the upgrade process begins, release these buttons and follow the prompts.

Done!

So far I have noticed that the update causes the menu system to speed up slightly. The default action when saving a scene now seems to popup a Title Dialog Box.

For anyone with two AW16G units, I would appreciate an A/B comparison?

EDIT by Admin: this should be a sticky.

_________________
People lover city builder future liver bigger dreamer louder rocker greater giver looking at the bigger picture.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 4:37 pm 
Offline
The other man !!!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:45 pm
Posts: 417
Location: tossing frogs
Wow! Where did this come from? (I'm too scared to try it)

_________________
))))))))))((((((((((


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:29 pm 
Offline
THE man!!!
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 4:05 am
Posts: 1091
Location: Upper-Left Coast
Favourite food: roasted pig snouts
Machine type: AW16G
err...umm....watsa BIN file? :tard: :tard: :tard: And yes it does sound scary and doesn't seem to do much :dontknow:

:rr:

_________________
I just Febreezed my Fro!.....it smells GREAT!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 9:21 pm 
Offline
Harry the Spaceman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 8:22 am
Posts: 1344
Location: South Africa
Favourite food: small children
Machine type: AW16G
This is the original YAMAHA update that they will ship you if you phone and request it.

If you are a junkie, go ahead, if you subscribe to 'If it ain't broke, don't fix it' thinking, then just move on. :)

_________________
People lover city builder future liver bigger dreamer louder rocker greater giver looking at the bigger picture.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 10:22 pm 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
About frickin time Yamaha. :roll:

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:06 am 
Offline
Tenderfoot
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 10:16 am
Posts: 526
Location: Wales (UK)
SPISHAK wrote:
err...umm....watsa BIN file? :tard: :tard: :tard: And yes it does sound scary and doesn't seem to do much :dontknow:

:rr:


The BIN
is where your G goes after installing the file :roll: :roll:

_________________
Spishak really is the man!!!!!
But Sleepless is the Superstar!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:07 pm 
Offline
Red Wax Eater
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 2:44 pm
Posts: 551
Location: london , UK
Favourite food: chinese
Machine type: AW1600
Verydangerous wrote:
SPISHAK wrote:
err...umm....watsa BIN file? :tard: :tard: :tard: And yes it does sound scary and doesn't seem to do much :dontknow:

:rr:


The BIN
is where your G goes after installing the file :roll: :roll:



:D :D :D :D

This is why G users don't want to upgrade to 1600's
:D :D

Must admit to be honest I fall into the "ain't broke" as well , even though I'm trying to build my own strat at the moment...
:?

_________________
No worries


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:00 pm 
Offline
Harry the Spaceman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 8:22 am
Posts: 1344
Location: South Africa
Favourite food: small children
Machine type: AW16G
Being a programmer, I can't help myself, if someone paid a coder to take the time to review and change the OS, then it has to be worth something that perhaps we cannot see.

My G has never malfunctioned. Not once ever, but who knows, the reboot bug may have been sorted in this build, we won't know till people try it out.

_________________
People lover city builder future liver bigger dreamer louder rocker greater giver looking at the bigger picture.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 3:16 pm 
Offline
City Slicker

Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 5:54 pm
Posts: 32
but if i put a new disk i can only upgrade this?
an it'll work well?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 7:38 pm 
Offline
Harry the Spaceman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 8:22 am
Posts: 1344
Location: South Africa
Favourite food: small children
Machine type: AW16G
Heya David

Yes, if you are putting a new disk in, this is your only option. It is a good one. You should not have any trouble. Please note, you MUST NOT format your disk before installing it, it needs to remain in a low level formatted state.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 4:55 pm 
Offline
City Slicker

Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 5:54 pm
Posts: 32
and what king of disk should i buy do you know?


let me know...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 5:11 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5073
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Ah, you found the sticky. See your original post about the HD replacement.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 7:46 pm 
Offline
G-crazy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 7:44 pm
Posts: 600
Machine type: AW16G
Thanks a lot for sharing this, Robert. Anyone else tried this yet or phoned Yam for more details?

J.

_________________
Recent AW16G fiascos: http://www.jlh.2tunes.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 11:12 pm 
Offline
Harry the Spaceman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 8:22 am
Posts: 1344
Location: South Africa
Favourite food: small children
Machine type: AW16G
Quote:
Thanks a lot for sharing this, Robert


You're most welcome. :)

_________________
People lover city builder future liver bigger dreamer louder rocker greater giver looking at the bigger picture.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 3:38 am 
Offline
Poco fan
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 9:45 pm
Posts: 2174
Location: Orangevale, CA
Machine type: AW16G
My attempt registered this:
ERROR: CAN'T LOAD OS FILE
PLEASE TURN OFF

I have version 1.01

Help???

_________________
2 hours from fun.

http://www.beccaandchuck.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 3:55 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8156
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
Just reading this thread caused my computer to freeze.

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 5:30 pm 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
:laughing3: Sonar just crashed here.

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 9:54 am 
Offline
Harry the Spaceman
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 8:22 am
Posts: 1344
Location: South Africa
Favourite food: small children
Machine type: AW16G
Heya Basso

It's pretty straight forward, so I think if you are having 'loading' trouble it may be the CD Type / Quality?

Try a slow speed CDR if you can?

Hope that works out for you!

!me

_________________
People lover city builder future liver bigger dreamer louder rocker greater giver looking at the bigger picture.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 2:53 pm 
Offline
Poco fan
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 9:45 pm
Posts: 2174
Location: Orangevale, CA
Machine type: AW16G
RP,
Done. Thank you!

_________________
2 hours from fun.

http://www.beccaandchuck.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 5:41 am 
Offline
Welcome to the Forum!

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 5:39 am
Posts: 2
Favourite food: pasta
I am getting a "can't load oss" will this update fix this problem? Will it still load and read the cd once inserted?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group