The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Thu Feb 22, 2018 8:49 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Hope this ain't a bug
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:08 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Turned on the 16G for the first time in several weeks. I can't play any songs :shock: . A message at the top flashes wrong word clock and the transport doesn't work on any selected song. Nothing but the power supply is plugged into the back. This doesn't look good.

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:19 am 
Offline
Master of Logic
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 9:37 pm
Posts: 3327
Location: In my own little world
Geno, try going to UTILITY, D-IN HDD, and check that the Digital In Patch is set to disabled.

_________________
"Saying you're an adult would make you an IM-poster." - Robbie jan 2006

I will use my robot hand for good.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:30 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
ahhhhhhhhhhh great call my friend , it was set to 7/8 in the fine print. I woulda never found it . I'm so used to patching on the 4416 (completely different)


Now maybe I can help Beagle

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 9:03 am 
Offline
Guitar Ho
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:25 pm
Posts: 7793
Location: A la belle Côte d'Azur sans chaussettes
Machine type: Other - please inform admin
This one scared the crap outta me too once. I thought for sure it was all over but the crying. :cry:

_________________
Honor is a debt you owe to those that see it in you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: serious bug
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 1:05 am 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:00 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Burnstown,Ontario
Hello to all..I have rarely asked for help and have been with this forum since the beginning..it's been great to say the least :( .This is the 3rd year with the G and suddenly...turn it on..message appears..checking drive..
loading song data..
thats it ,nothing else,no lights ,no action at all.I've shut it down,unplugged..nothing...It has been a treasure and I'm not sure what to do..any help would be greatly appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 1:09 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
That really doesn't sound good. Maybe the power supply is not up for the task? jeeze that's all I can think of at this time. :(

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 1:17 am 
Offline
Master of Logic
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 9:37 pm
Posts: 3327
Location: In my own little world
Not sure either, but I would guess problems with the disk drive.

_________________
"Saying you're an adult would make you an IM-poster." - Robbie jan 2006

I will use my robot hand for good.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: serious bug
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 1:36 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Stehen wrote:
suddenly...turn it on..message appears..checking drive.. loading song data..thats it


Just checked mine. The next after screen described is a working screen. May be not talking to the HD or vice versa. Might only be be a loose cable inside. I might be inclined to at least have a look inside the cover but I'm pretty lucky with tools.

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 2:35 am 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:00 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Burnstown,Ontario
Thanks for such speedy replies.I'm pretty handy with many types of tools but electronic,chips and boards scar me a bit so I suppose I shall be taking it (not sure where ) to a Yamaha dealer.It will be missed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:04 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Stehen wrote:
Thanks for such speedy replies.


Another satisfied customer. Drum fixed my problem in 11 minutes :shock: , gotta be a record!

Sorry we don't have better news. Still thinkin.

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 8:46 am 
Offline
Guitar Ho
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:25 pm
Posts: 7793
Location: A la belle Côte d'Azur sans chaussettes
Machine type: Other - please inform admin
Not the power supply...the fact he starts the boot sequence should be sufficient I think. Well, unlikely at least...the drive demands power and if it is not putting out what it needs, then maybe but most controllers detect when voltage is low.

I'm betting hard drive is the problem, and the cable just may be something simple that you could check, Stehen...especially if you have been going mobile with your unit. If it's been sitting in one location and not subject to any shock or vibration and it had been working like a champ for three years, then I would say that is unlikely too.

Let us know how service at Yammay treats ya.

_________________
Honor is a debt you owe to those that see it in you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: fixed
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:24 am 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:00 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Burnstown,Ontario
Hi Stephen,
your AW16G is repaired - The circuit board needed resoldering, and
transmitter pak - retensioned battery pack, installed new batteries.
All tested ok
$299 taxs included.


So looks like that so called bug has been fixed...very happy to record again ...thanks for the help a month ago ...Stephen 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: fixed
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:51 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Stehen wrote:
retensioned battery pack
:shock:

WTF?

I musta been absent that day in physics class

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 6:35 am 
Offline
Cowhand
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 758
WTF is the transmitter pak. also, wasnt sure the g had an internal battery pack and batteries too. Sounds like you got scammed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 7:42 am 
Offline
Guitar Ho
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:25 pm
Posts: 7793
Location: A la belle Côte d'Azur sans chaussettes
Machine type: Other - please inform admin
:lol: :lol: :lol: Sounds like car repair for blondes.

_________________
Honor is a debt you owe to those that see it in you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 9:10 am 
Offline
Cowhand
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 758
I hate getting my car fixed, the bastards always try to rip you off, and im not even blonde ;) Thats why I buy cheap cars and invest my money in music gear, lol !!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 9:23 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:00 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Burnstown,Ontario
normally batteries for this unit are to keep
the internal memory settings and/or the word clock running.

I'm certainly not blond and I too was curious.It was repaired by a yamaha technician who I think possibly knew more about the inside of the machine than most of us on the recording end.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 9:42 pm 
Offline
Guitar Ho
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:25 pm
Posts: 7793
Location: A la belle Côte d'Azur sans chaussettes
Machine type: Other - please inform admin
Stephen, there are no internal memory settings that need to be "kept" by a battery. The "word clock" is simply a crystal to keep track of the length of data coming in via an analog source...in this case the optique input (it must synchronise the on/off length, i.e. timing, of signals to determine a bit and assemble it into a word...yes, boys and girls, although it it transferring digital data, it is an analog source that must assemble serial data in memory; that is, turn light pulses into bits and words). There is no battery involved...it is not a real time clock but a relative clock. Everything runs under power...there is no battery of any kind that would be necessary for anything that you've mentioned.

Sorry, buddy...don't mean to hurt your feelings. Nonetheless, assuming that all on the "recording end" wouldn't fathom the insides of the machine would be a mistake.

_________________
Honor is a debt you owe to those that see it in you.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group