The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:33 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: CD Backup problem
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 4:29 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 4:12 pm
Posts: 4
Each time I attempt to back up songs, I get as far as the CD write percentage screen, which briefly sits at 0% until I get an error message. The message is: "System Error". My CD then locks up, and I need to reboot to get it out. I can see that the CD has been slightly burned, and yet my computer cannot find any data on the disc, and the disc becomes unusable. I have tried both CD/R and CD/RW with the same baffling results. The hard drive fills up pretty fast and I can only Optimize so many times. Help!!
Chaz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 4:35 pm 
Offline
Has Been To Cheeseland
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:09 pm
Posts: 5995
Location: Just west of DEE-troit
Machine type: AW16G
Welcome to the forum, Chaz. Did you set the burn speed to 4X (in the CD/setting screen)? Doing this and enabling the underrun protect feature tend to remedy most CD burning problems.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: cd backup
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 4:46 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 4:12 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks for your reply, but I just wasted another CD....very puzzling
Chaz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 7:19 pm 
Offline
Guitar Ho
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:25 pm
Posts: 7793
Location: A la belle Côte d'Azur sans chaussettes
Machine type: Other - please inform admin
Chaz, do me a favour...go into the Utility function and do a check disk (bottom just above format).

I got this this error message just the other day, did a check disk and had link errors (again).

_________________
Honor is a debt you owe to those that see it in you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 8:04 pm 
Offline
Boot Polisher
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:54 am
Posts: 97
Location: Sutton, MA
Favourite food: Jamaican Jerk
Machine type: AW1600
I ran into the same problem, 6 disks into the backup. I think it happens when the CD is flawed in some way. What I consider a bug is the fact that there's no chance to take the bad disk out and insert another and retry. At this point, there's no knowing which tunes have been successfully backed up and which haven't. My solution is to back each tune up one at a time, that way if it fails for some reason, I at least know which tune it was backing up.

_________________
LarryV - Guitarist for The Birdz Sessions

http://www.birdzsessions.com
http://www.myspace.com/birdzsessions


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: CD backup
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 8:35 pm 
Offline
Lone Star

Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 4:12 pm
Posts: 4
I wish that I could back up one tune at a time. I've used (and wasted) high quality CD's, both CD-R and CD-RW. My CD player will burn tracks, and play the most crappy CD's I have, and yet it still refuses to backup any tunes. No report I've read has the same problem I am experiencing. I give up.
Chaz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 8:38 pm 
Offline
Ranch Hand
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:22 pm
Posts: 1086
Location: 75W 40N and 200 ft ABOVE sea level
Machine type: AW16G
Why aren't you backing them up one tune at a time?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 10:52 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5120
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
You can always backup one song at a time.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 11:32 pm 
Offline
Boot Polisher
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:54 am
Posts: 97
Location: Sutton, MA
Favourite food: Jamaican Jerk
Machine type: AW1600
Have you tried running Check Disk as DC suggested? Based on the fact you mentioned that you fill up your disk often, I suspect that your CD is fine and that it's the disk generating the error.

_________________
LarryV - Guitarist for The Birdz Sessions

http://www.birdzsessions.com
http://www.myspace.com/birdzsessions


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 2:07 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Another question. Will the CD player on the G play any disks? Say a commercial one?

I'm try to assertain if we have a CD prob or a software prob or a HD prob.

msg

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group