The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Sun Apr 22, 2018 10:35 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 8:08 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 9:10 pm
Posts: 12
Location: yorkshire
Favourite food: curry
Machine type: AW16G
hi guys wonder if any of you had experienced the master fader losing volume during live or recorded play back, I did try an give it a blast a while back with compressed air but I think thats made things worse. its annoying the hell out of me now. thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 9:25 pm 
Offline
Ranch Hand
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:39 pm
Posts: 1141
Machine type: AW4416
Hi Delbert, I have`nt come across this personally, sounds like maybe something is left over from a previous scene, but I`m sure one of the more experienced members can help.
Hope you get sorted soon.

T.

_________________
http://tmacstudio.wix.com/tmac

http://www.soundcloud.com/t-mac-12

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmCjAzN ... ture=watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GETYJUJKu0

https://www.reverbnation.com/tmac


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 9:33 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8156
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
I would agree that it sounds like a scene to me. Have you cleared all your previous scenes by doing an initial recall or whatever it's called?

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:05 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 9:10 pm
Posts: 12
Location: yorkshire
Favourite food: curry
Machine type: AW16G
hi an thanks for replies, yep done the recall initial data from scene menu but no joy there


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:24 pm 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1259
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
There was at least one other report of a fader problem posted at http://forum.dijonstock.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=14254&p=153796&hilit=digikey#p153796

The poster was able to buy a replacement part. If you're into parts replacement, that might fix your problem. The other possibility is to swap the track 15/16 fader for the master.

The above link indicates the poster found the spare part number in a list from Yamaha and could buy it from either Yamaha or Mouser Electronics (cheaper there). Robbie indicated he would post the spare parts list in the Docs section of this site. However, I don't see it. Still got it Robbie?

Good luck,

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:47 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 9:10 pm
Posts: 12
Location: yorkshire
Favourite food: curry
Machine type: AW16G
hi hogtime thanks for the link, think it could need a new part, how do i go about swapping the master fader over to 15/16


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:39 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5073
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
I think I must have that list somewhere... but where? I'll look it up.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 12:15 am 
Offline
Muse-ician
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 6:37 pm
Posts: 465
Location: Out of my suitcase
Machine type: Tascam
delbert wrote:
hi an thanks for replies, yep done the recall initial data from scene menu but no joy there


If I remember correctly, hitting initial data will reset the fader... until it hits a scene! Try navigating to the scene menu and delete all the scenes...

Acoustic

_________________
Could you show that to me again... slower?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 12:59 am 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1259
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
delbert wrote:
hi hogtime thanks for the link, think it could need a new part, how do i go about swapping the master fader over to 15/16


This would require opening the unit and actually removing the two faders and putting the 15/16 one in the master position. Only helps if you're comfortable taking apart the unit and doing this. Would require a small soldering iron. If you're not handy with this type of repair, then my suggestion doesn't help. :(

However, if you have some sort of electronic repair friend or shop nearby, they could do it for you. This would tell you if the master fader is bad, without buying a new part. If it is bad, then you could buy a new part and put it in the 15/16 spot.

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 1:17 am 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5073
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
I'll put the parts list here for now...

EDIT: file deleted. It's now on the docs page.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 4:06 am 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1259
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
Thanks, Robbie! Turns out I had it on my computer, but couldn't find it. :)

Here's where one can buy an AW16G fader potentiometer for a whopping $3.07 (plus s&h).
http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/ALPS/RS45111A900F/?qs=%2fha2pyFadujEv9te7VFjB%2fAK4UjI5GTDrSecpeY1Up8%3d

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 1:40 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5073
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
It's now on the docs page, so I'll remove the attachment in this topic.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 5:08 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 9:10 pm
Posts: 12
Location: yorkshire
Favourite food: curry
Machine type: AW16G
thanks for the part ref, guessing you think its shot then. still at a couple of pounds at least the part is cheap. not sure if i have the nuts to open up the box though. have a great new year and thanks again


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 5:16 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 9:10 pm
Posts: 12
Location: yorkshire
Favourite food: curry
Machine type: AW16G
acoustic356 wrote:
delbert wrote:
hi an thanks for replies, yep done the recall initial data from scene menu but no joy there


If I remember correctly, hitting initial data will reset the fader... until it hits a scene! Try navigating to the scene menu and delete all the scenes...

Acoustic

hi i have gone to scene menu and the only one there is the original data, am i missing something?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 5:59 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8156
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
If you've never saved a scene then it shouldn't be the problem. If you listened to the demo song for example and then when to load a new song project, the scenes from the demo would still be in place. That's why they have the initial data restore feature. It clears house from the old scenes.

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 6:59 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5073
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Scenes can be nasty but they only change during playback when there's a tempo map!

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:54 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 9:10 pm
Posts: 12
Location: yorkshire
Favourite food: curry
Machine type: AW16G
sorry for the late reply but problem is i loose volume just playing a cd back. not sure if scenes would effect that.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 2:30 am 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1259
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
No, scenes don't affect playing a CD. The only affect playing tracks 1-16. They also don't affect playing a stereo mix already made on the machine (as long as it's on the stereo track).

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:43 pm 
Offline
Dude

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 9:10 pm
Posts: 12
Location: yorkshire
Favourite food: curry
Machine type: AW16G
thanks hogtime seems its definitely the fader. gonna have to grow some nuts and just open her up.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:43 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8156
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
delbert wrote:
thanks hogtime seems its definitely the fader. gonna have to grow some nuts and just open her up.




Image

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group