The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Fri Apr 20, 2018 6:41 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ATAP 1 ERROR
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 pm 
Offline
Welcome to the Forum!

Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:08 pm
Posts: 2
Favourite food: salmon
Machine type: AW16G
Hello. I am new to this site, but found it because of a potential problem I encountered with my aw16g. I have had it for quite some time (about 4 years I think) and I haven't had too many issues with it. But today I was trying to burn 3 stereo tracks to a disk using the disk at once method, and about halfway through it stopped, ejected the disk, and said ATAP 1 ERROR. I tried it again, and the same thing happened. I put the cd into a computer to see if it wrote anything, and all 3 tracks appeared on the windows media player, with their song lengths. The first song played through in its entirety, but the other were just complete silence, and caused the media player to freeze mementarily if they were selected. I have never seen this before, and I couldn't find any references to the ATAP 1 error anywhere. I shut off the unit, and I haven't tried anything since. If anyone has any advice about this, it would be much appreciated.

Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ATAP 1 ERROR
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:17 pm 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
Try another disk. Maybe a different brand.

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ATAP 1 ERROR
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:39 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5073
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Hi nwm and welcome to the forum.

Trying a different brand is the way to go.

If it doesn't help, check burning speed and buffer underrun protection.

And maybe this (http://forum.dijonstock.com/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1473) can help you.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ATAP 1 ERROR
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 4:46 am 
Offline
Footswitch Genius
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:54 am
Posts: 536
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Favourite food: Jarlsberg
Machine type: AW16G
Quote:
and said ATAP 1 ERROR.

that's more likely to be atapi - AT Attachment Packet Interface - which is the interface between your CD drive and the main unit

you might try sliding the CD drive out, giving the contact pins a quick blow to make sure they're dust-free and then re-inserting the drive again, just in case it was badly seated or one of the pins wasn't making good contact.

you might also check that the laser lens is clean but use extreme care if you go touching this - on many drives the wires used are as thin as a human hair and are extremely delicate. broken wire = throwaway drive.

_________________
Wanted to buy: one Right Word Clock, in good condition.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ATAP 1 ERROR
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 5:20 am 
Offline
Tenderfoot

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 8:22 pm
Posts: 431
Location: New Hampshire
Favourite food: Peking duck
Machine type: AW1600
You can save yourself a lot of trouble just by buying Taiyo Yuden CD media only. That is the top brand out there and what professionals use for mastering. The disks last a lot longer too. They do not even cost all that much more than consumer grade media.

Bill

_________________
I play old school because I am old school.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ATAP 1 ERROR
PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 8:43 pm 
Offline
Welcome to the Forum!

Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:08 pm
Posts: 2
Favourite food: salmon
Machine type: AW16G
Thank you everyone that replied to the post. Apparently, it was just simply the disks I was trying to use, which were memorex re-writable disks. Sometimes they worked, but I was getting the error message frequently. Following suggestions, I switched to regular blank disks, and never had the problem again. ANd I'm going to definitely look into those top-level brand cd's mentioned above.

Thank you again!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group