The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:15 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:54 pm 
Offline
Greenhorn

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:08 am
Posts: 100
hey guys..just wondering..i have to back up my album on a disk and the last time i used cd-rw i could NOT restore the files back on to the G...it kept saying insert disk 2?...what the hell..there was no "disk 2". Is it cause i used a cd-rw disk rather than a normal cd-r disk?..Is that what i should be using for this procedure? And does anyone know what can be done to get the files from the cd-rw disk back on the G?...Has this happened to anyone out there..any suggestions..please and thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 8:28 pm 
Offline
Tinhorn
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 4:49 pm
Posts: 300
Location: Long Island
I've used both CD-R and CD-RW and not had any trouble as long as I bought "quality" brands of disks. The restores went fine on both disk types. After backing up number of disks on CD-RW I realized that cost was becoming a factor and since I probably wouldn't back up any one song more than 3 times, that CD-R were a cheaper way to go (around 15 cents each).

For the file that you have on CD-RW which doesn't work you might try copying data to your computer hard drive then copy back to another CD. However, you may have a disk error on the original but it's worth a try.

_________________
www.myspace.com/drumheadspercussionorchestra
www.soundclick.com/denniscarlsoncomposer
www.soundclick.com/denniscarlsonperforms


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 8:40 pm 
Offline
G-crazy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 7:44 pm
Posts: 600
Machine type: AW16G
What Denny said. Also, concerning the "insert disk 2" alert--that indicates, correctly or not, that the original back-up required more than one disk. That's happened to me many times when I'm backing up particularly large files. When you were backing up your file, are you sure that you didn't miss a prompt asking for disk 2? If so, that would explain the problem. Just a possibility. Good luck with the rescue. J.

_________________
Recent AW16G fiascos: http://www.jlh.2tunes.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 8:52 pm 
Offline
Greenhorn

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:08 am
Posts: 100
so what computer program do i load these files to?...what do i need to download..remeber i have a AW16G


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 8:57 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5120
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
An AW16G backup is nothing more than a file in DOS format.

Take the CD-RW, copy the file to your PC, take a new CD-R, burn the file on it. Then, using that CD-R, try to restore the backup on the G (what Denny suggested).

For burning the CD you can use any CD burning software, like Nero. I'm sure there are free alternatives.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 1:44 am 
Offline
Tenderfoot
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 11:37 am
Posts: 516
Location: Australia
Machine type: AW2400
I always use CD-R, usually TDK Gold. These have come down in price and are currently about $AUD0.20 here, a small price to pay for ensuring you don't lose the work you've slaved over. I have used cheaper Imation and Verbatim with no probs but you only have to pick up a TDK Gold to feel the difference. I buy them in 100pks although you can now get 200pks which are cheaper per disc.

I back up multiple times per session and, if you sequentially number and date them then you can go back to any point to restore. I simply drop them onto a spare spindle as they are made.

When I have finished each project, I make duplicate backups in 16G, AW2816, ST_WAV and WAVTrk1-16 for storage. I then copy each of these to my computer HD. I have never had a restore problem.

I hope this helps.

_________________
Visit my alter ego
http://www.myspace.com/dannyducheine


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group