The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 5:00 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 5:41 am 
Graduated from newbie status

Favourite food: Cheese
Machine type: AW16G
OK, other than our little Christmas album I did with my family last year for some friends, this is my first time doing everything on the G, from tracking to mixing.

So the issue I'm facing: I have a rack reverb I want to use instead of some of the G's internal reverbs. I have almost everything tracked and I want to do this just at the mix-down stage.

So I'm wondering how to do that post-tracking. I always think of this like an out and then a return. How do I do this on the G?

(I'm using the behringer v verb pro - it has 1/4" and 3 prong mic ins and outs... it also has optical ins and outs).

So what I want to do is this: When I get to mixing, say, the vocals, I want to have the vocal track on the G, send it out to the v verb, then return it to the G onto the stereo track with control over the return or how much of it is wet vs. dry onto the stereo track.

Do I need to do everything through the opticals? I'm not seeing any options for "return" on the G. So without any expert knowledge, I would do this: Send the track out to the v verb. Then return it to an input and activate that input with the effect engaged from the v verb, then blend the 2 into the stereo track.

Is that crazy? It seems like a poor man's "effects return" but when it comes down to it, I'm certainly not a rich man, so whatever.

As always, any advice would be most appreciated. I am learning from past experience. A year ago I would have just tried everything for hours, brought myself to the point of total emotional meltdown, and THEN asked you guys. This time I've read the manual for the 50th time and I'm asking before the meltdown.

Thanks guys