The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 5:04 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:41 am 
Lone Star

Favourite food: shaurma
Machine type: Other - please inform admin
im trying to record with a new samson c01 condeser. and a alto s-6 mixer that i have never used before. as soon as everything is in place, and i press the phantom pwr botton the outpot level leds all light up even the red ones, and so does the peak leds in all 6 channals. it dosnt metter what i do and even if i put all of the gain controls high or low the leds dont change, and i get no recordng.
now here is the really wierd thing. once i shut down the phantom pwr, and eveything is still in place, there are like 5 seconds in witch the microphone works on the left over pwr, and it records as well! then ofcurse it runs out of power and everything stops.
does any body know what am i doing wrong? what might be the problem?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:34 am 
HamelnStock Survivor and Midi Guru

Favourite food: the edible kind
Machine type: AW16G
hi there, welcome to the forum.

A C01 from samsom has a 36 to 52 volts range for phantom power. Check the mixers output to see if it matches. If possible to connect to another mixer. (Someone elses ?) If it is a recent purchase take it back to shop and have it checked while the waranty still applies. Also make sure your mic cable is not running parallel with power lines or lying against power supplies, it might pickup some unwanted noise there.

http://www.soundclick.com/bearinabubble

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:38 am 
HamelnStock Survivor and Midi Guru

Favourite food: the edible kind
Machine type: AW16G