The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Fri Apr 20, 2018 1:06 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: inserting
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 5:19 pm 
Offline
Greenhorn
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 7:44 pm
Posts: 185
Location: Scotland
Favourite food: Hot and Fatty
Machine type: AW16G
Question for everyone that I think I know the answer to. 16G. External effects while mixing down. Is there a way to use an external effect during the mix down process ? I think basically what I'm looking for is a way to insert into the stereo track, and I don't think there is any way :(

_________________
http://members.soundclick.com/Bobby+M+Music


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: inserting
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 5:49 pm 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1259
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
I can't think of a way to insert an external effect into the full stereo mix, while doing a mixdown. However, I think you could do it this way:

a) Do the mixdown
b) Copy the stereo mix to a set of paired tracks (e.g. 15/16)
c) Set up your external box connected to the Stereo Outs and back into another set of paired tracks (e.g. 13/14)
d) Set the Stereo Outs to be AUX 1 bus
e) Send tracks 15/16 to AUX 1
d) Do another mixdown with the tracks 15/16 and inputs 13/14 (or record 13/14 and do a 3rd mix later)

Hmmm, maybe you don't even need (d) and (e). Or, maybe you do to prevent feedback?

Then again, it's early in the morning and I haven't had my coffee, so maybe it wouldn't work. :)

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: inserting
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:46 pm 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1259
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
I thought about this some more and all you need in the mix of (d) is inputs 13/14 (the original stereo mix thru the external box). I know you're not a newbie, so you probably already realized this. :)

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: inserting
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:38 pm 
Offline
Has Been To Cheeseland
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:09 pm
Posts: 5980
Location: Just west of DEE-troit
Machine type: AW16G
Yeah, there's no direct way to insert an external effect into the stereo bus. Ralph's approach is probably the easiest/best way. I would add that the aux outputs are mono (aux 1 goes to one side of the stereo output and aux 2 goes to the other). If you want to use a stereo effect and maintain your stereo spread, you would need to send channel 15 to aux 1 and channel 16 to aux 2, for example. Dealing with the aux outputs and external effects is covered on page 167 of the G manual.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: inserting
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:21 pm 
Offline
Marker Magician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:20 pm
Posts: 3421
Machine type: AW2400
You could use the digital outs (or analog stereo outs) and send your mix to your external box. That processed signal could then be sent to another recorder, either an external deck or through your sound card to an audio recorder/editor that you have on your computer.

Otherwise, the advise given by Ralph and Jim is the route you would have to go, utilizing both Aux 1 and 2, as jim suggested.

_________________
Byron


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: inserting
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 2:01 am 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1259
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
Since I'm rarely an "aux man', I forgot about both being needed for this application. Thanks JM for clarifying that.

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: inserting
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 9:09 am 
Offline
Greenhorn
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 7:44 pm
Posts: 185
Location: Scotland
Favourite food: Hot and Fatty
Machine type: AW16G
Thanks Guys

What you've suggested is pretty much what I thought. I guess I was hoping to have been missing something to enable me to do it on the fly.

Thanks again

Bobby

_________________
http://members.soundclick.com/Bobby+M+Music


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: inserting
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 9:48 pm 
Offline
HamelnStock Survivor and Midi Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:20 am
Posts: 2650
Location: Belgium
Favourite food: the edible kind
Machine type: AW16G
If you want to do it on the fly, can't you use an external recorder ? Perhaps combined with a mixer. I often use a small digital stereo recorder (Boss Micro BR in my case) to mix down to. They are not that expensive and the recording quality is pretty good. Just an idea that might help.

_________________
In a minute it might be gone. Life is a bear in a bubble.

http://www.soundclick.com/bearinabubble


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group