The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:06 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:16 pm 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1259
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
I have an AW1600 without motor controlled faders. Since I'm not a "fader jockey" with my mixes, most of them have ended up with instrument levels constant throughout the song.

On my current "sure to be a Grammy winner" song underway, I wanted to raise the level of the fiddle between pauses in the vocal. I came up with this technique:

1) Set up to "bounce record" the original fiddle track to an unused track. Turn off any effects for the bounce.
2) While recording the bounce for the full song, ride the fiddle fader as desired. Even though the fiddle is the only thing being bounced, you'll still hear any tracks you have enabled in the Monitor screen.
3) Copy this bounced track to a spare VT of the fiddle track, select it and set the fader to 0dB. Set any effects desired.
4) Listen to the full mix and see it it's what you want. If not, repeat the above until it is.

Seems to work great. The advantage to this is that if you want to vary the level of more than one instrument throughout the song, you can do it one at a time.

I don't need no stinkin' AW2400! :lol:

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:49 pm 
Offline
HamelnStock Survivor and Midi Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:20 am
Posts: 2694
Location: Belgium
Favourite food: the edible kind
Machine type: AW16G
:D The world is to the inventiv ! Nice trick.

I use a differnt technique. Once i have recorded my tracks. I copy all wavs to my pc where i run a cubase LE4 which came with a recorder i bought. Although not the most powerfull cubase it does allow for all kinds of automation one can ever need. I can vary levels, Cut, paste and copy where i want in a jiffy whit a visual interface and even automate effects, panning ... The lot.

It's an unbeatable price quality package, aspecially if you collect some free vst's to go...

_________________
In a minute it might be gone. Life is a bear in a bubble.

http://www.soundclick.com/bearinabubble


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:44 pm 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1259
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
I've tried Cubase LE (that came with my AW1600). I played with the automation features. Was having to do a lot of reading to figure stuff out, though, so I stuck with the 1600 for this song. YMMV. :)

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:20 am 
Offline
HamelnStock Survivor and Midi Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:20 am
Posts: 2694
Location: Belgium
Favourite food: the edible kind
Machine type: AW16G
i can give you a couple of pointers with screenshots if you like. It"s like the yamies. Once you know which button to push its easy. Not saying you should do everything on computrers. For direct recording there is nothing like a dedicated multiinput recorder. Once you have the wavs i find pc's much quicker to edit. Note i did not say better.

_________________
In a minute it might be gone. Life is a bear in a bubble.

http://www.soundclick.com/bearinabubble


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:55 am 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1259
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
Thanks for the offer. However, I have actually drawn some mute and volume automation curves successfully. I just decided to return to the AW, which I know better.

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:29 am 
Offline
Greenhorn
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 7:44 pm
Posts: 185
Location: Scotland
Favourite food: Hot and Fatty
Machine type: AW16G
One method I have used is to route the primary track (vocal) to the AUX. Even if it's not outputting to anything external. The object is to get it on to the AUX buss. Then set up a compressor on the alternating track (fiddle) with the "self" source switched to AUX. This means the compressor is looking at the signal on the AUX buss and drops the required track to the determined preset level. (At work and doing this from memory so I hope I got it right) :)

_________________
http://members.soundclick.com/Bobby+M+Music


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 6:01 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8199
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
Yep that's a sure fire winner. Bouncing is what I used to do on the G in order to gain more tracks and ride the levels without doing the stereo track thing. I did that a lot when I parodied I am the Walrus. It freed up valuable tracks as I slammed 6 or 7 mono tracks to one side of a stereo pair and another 6 or 7 tracks to the other side. It's a beautiful thing.

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group