The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:15 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Midi setup
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 5:40 am 
Offline
Sodbuster
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 1:04 am
Posts: 54
Location: Ottawa, Canada
I dont have a lot of experience with midi so I'd like to pick the knowledgeable brains here.
I would like to link my G and Roland XP60 workstation to create drum tracks on the XP and then sync them with the song recorded on the G. My devices are patched together and I can control the sequencer with the play button on the G. Is this the right setup and if so what is the best way to use it to create the drum tracks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 6:39 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
You can do that. I have latency problems between both my 4416 and the 16G and my workstation. Because I am limited by 16 channels of midi , I will play the finished sequenced audio into a pair of recorder channels. (sometimes 6 channels , depending on the rack unit I play back through)
This is repeated until I have all the tracks recorded that I want. Any latency is simply removed with the edit controls on either recorder. The computer guys out there will have a much easier solution but being "hardware" based that's one way I do it.

I need to set up a master clock and run everything in the studio off of it.
Some day ................

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:52 pm 
Offline
Sodbuster
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 1:04 am
Posts: 54
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Thanks for the reply. Is there not a adjustment for the time latency? I believe I read there is or am I just dreamin'? I think it may be on the sequencer itself. Something about the frame rate...or is this something altogether different?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:09 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
There is an offset parameter that is supposed to help with the sync latency deal but I've had very poor luck with it. Say the timing is off by 25ms , I set the offset to 25ms. Next run it might be 30ms the other way. :shock: My latency seems to vary for some reason with every remote start. Funny thing is my Korg sequencer does twice as good as the Yamaha's. ( Less timing errors) I have so many things going on via midi during a performance or recording (external effects on and off , program changes , sequence on /offs, 3 - 8 channel midi patch bays) the poor G or the 4416 won't keep perfect time with each other much less all the other stuff. Your sync may vary. :lol:

The frame rates deal with digital audio sync from say a synth with an optical out into the G's optical in. Someone correct me if I'm wrong. Don ('61) or DC could probably explain it better than I.

I am currently in the process of redesigning my midi setup. Like I said last night , my current line of thinking is to have everything running off of a separate master clock.

Others here have had good experiances with G sync. Not me. :twisted:

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 4:55 am 
Offline
Cowhand
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 758
skygod, are you using a multi in/out midi routing box?

_________________
shine on crazy diamonds :)
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemus ... dID=520654


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:42 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
More Paul wrote:
skygod, are you using a multi in/out midi routing box?


Yep 3 of 'em

I am using one 8 channel in and 8 out , a 3 in and 8 out , and a 2 in 2 out merger.

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group