The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:05 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 6:26 am 
Offline
City Slicker

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 5:01 am
Posts: 37
I don't mean to be a pain, but I am new to all this and I am trying to make sense of it all! :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 9:23 am 
Offline
Guitar Ho
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:25 pm
Posts: 7793
Location: A la belle Côte d'Azur sans chaussettes
Machine type: Other - please inform admin
So far, I wouldn't put you in the pain category just yet, Mo. Nonetheless, there are those that are and we love them anyway.

_________________
Honor is a debt you owe to those that see it in you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 5:47 am 
Offline
City Slicker

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 5:01 am
Posts: 37
LOL Good to know! :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 5:21 pm 
Offline
Greenhorn

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 11:01 pm
Posts: 142
motrock wrote:
I am using 1 mic, probably into an M-Audio Preamp, then into the Optical Input. I just want to do what I have to do to get the job done and sound good. I don't have any effects and I am going to start this thing out dry. Then I want to hopefully add the effects in the AW16G in later recordings.

So, once the Optical input is ingaged, do I select on the display screen:

Input 1 into Track 1

or

Input 1 into Tracks 1/2

Input 1 is obviously going to be rerouted to the optical input.........according to the manual?

I am not understanding the 1/2-7/8!


In the D.IN screen select the input channels you want the digital in to use - i.e has to be a pair 1/2, 2/3 etc to 7/8.

Then in the RECORD section route these input channels to the tracks you want them to be recorded on as per usual.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 4:36 am 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
CC wrote:

Then in the RECORD section route these input channels to the tracks you want them to be recorded on as per usual.


Yep , I only grasped this simple concept after learning how to do it on the 4416. The AW16 is much simpler in that respect. Still a valuable feature , much underused and understood.

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 12:27 am 
Offline
City Slicker

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 5:01 am
Posts: 37
CC wrote:
motrock wrote:
I am using 1 mic, probably into an M-Audio Preamp, then into the Optical Input. I just want to do what I have to do to get the job done and sound good. I don't have any effects and I am going to start this thing out dry. Then I want to hopefully add the effects in the AW16G in later recordings.

So, once the Optical input is ingaged, do I select on the display screen:

Input 1 into Track 1

or

Input 1 into Tracks 1/2

Input 1 is obviously going to be rerouted to the optical input.........according to the manual?

I am not understanding the 1/2-7/8!


In the D.IN screen select the input channels you want the digital in to use - i.e has to be a pair 1/2, 2/3 etc to 7/8.

Then in the RECORD section route these input channels to the tracks you want them to be recorded on as per usual.


Thanks. I kind of get it. I will have to just play with it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:05 am 
Offline
City Slicker

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 5:01 am
Posts: 37
Guys, check out this Soundblaster Unit. I have been told that this unit is really great for high quality recordings. I would have to get an XLR to 1/4in converter cable, cause it does not have an XLR port. It does have an Optical In/ Out.

Here is the link:

http://www.soundblaster.com/products/pr ... duct=10853

Is this unit something that would work with the AW16G? Or would the M-Audio be better?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 4:15 pm 
Offline
City Slicker

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 5:01 am
Posts: 37
Anyone?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 4:30 pm 
Offline
Guitar Ho
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:25 pm
Posts: 7793
Location: A la belle Côte d'Azur sans chaussettes
Machine type: Other - please inform admin
I don't know where Drum is at, but he's the resident Guru with PCs...in the past, he's warned me to stay away from Soundblaster.

_________________
Honor is a debt you owe to those that see it in you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 4:32 pm 
Offline
Mr. Electonica Dude
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:48 am
Posts: 11452
Location: Godly Taxas
Favourite food: Frog Legs
Machine type: AW4416
My buddy '61 has an Art a/d converter that's kind of a swiss army knife connected to his recorder. I forget the model ................


Coyote??????????????

_________________
THE MUSIC IS DOWN IN HERE
____________________________________________________

Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Not ignoring you
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 4:40 pm 
Offline
The General

Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 11:20 pm
Posts: 3870
motrock wrote:
Anyone?


Hey Mo!

I saw your post earlier but really don't know much about sound card quality. I can tell you that her and on the other forums I frequent, I don't hear Soundblaster mentioned in the same sentence with M-Audio, MOTU, etc....

That may mean absolutely nothing.....sorry, dunno.

Gary


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:33 pm 
Offline
City Slicker

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 5:01 am
Posts: 37
I would like to try the M-Audio. I am looking for something that is really good quality to plug in to my AW16G. It doesn't have to be big, just great sounding!

The Soundblaster Unit is not a sound card. Its the acctual unit. I am starting to get some negative replys on other boards about it. I think I am going to stick with more popular stuff.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:34 pm 
Offline
City Slicker

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 5:01 am
Posts: 37
Would a tube preamp be better to use?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group