The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 4:32 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 2:17 pm 
Offline
Tinhorn

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 12:50 am
Posts: 317
Favourite food: overmuramovingcake
I already wrote this as response in another thread, but I think it deserves a special topic:


For complete diagnose of G first connect pedal (momentary ON type like FC-5), MIDI cable (connect MIDI IN to MIDI OUT) and optical cable (connect IN to OUT). Some of these tests will work even without cables...
Press Utility + Track 4 buttons at the same time, and then power ON. When you see bios version page you can release buttons.
Now you will see a list of tests which you can operate with Enter or Cancel buttons (+ follow directions which button to press).

[edit: stickified]

edit II: 1600 included, also in subject

For 1600 Diagnostic test there's little difference:
Press Utility + Track 6 keys at the same time, and then power ON.
Here you need coax spdif cables (no optical on 1600).
If you want to test USB too, you need to connect it to PC with USB 2.0 port and Win XP.

You probably don't need cables to test inside hardware only, but I never tried this.
Also: you are doing this on your own risk :!:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 5:08 pm 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1256
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
Great info! Never heard about that before. You must have worked for Yamaha or knew someone that did. :)

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 2:15 pm 
Offline
Tinhorn

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 12:50 am
Posts: 317
Favourite food: overmuramovingcake
Hehe... No, I never worked directly for Yamaha, but years ago I used to work as instructor on similar machines. However, I found this "by accident" years ago... never used it... I thought I lost it... until now, when I finally found it in my PC.

HogTime, can you confirm this test procedure also works for AW1600?

For users of other models (AW2400, AW4416, AW2816...): please try it and confirm if it works there too. Thanks!

dejan wrote:
For complete diagnose of G first connect pedal (momentary ON type like FC-5), MIDI cable (connect MIDI IN to MIDI OUT) and optical cable (connect IN to OUT). Some of these tests will work even without cables...
Press Utility + Track 4 buttons at the same time, and then power ON. When you see bios version page you can release buttons.
Now you will see a list of tests which you can operate with Enter or Cancel buttons (+ follow directions which button to press).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 4:24 pm 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8110
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
dejan wrote:
Hehe... No, I never worked directly for Yamaha, however, I found this "by accident" years ago...


So, one day you decided to connect a foot pedal, a MIDI cable and an optical cable. Then you decided to press Utility + Track 4 buttons at the same time, and then power ON and found the list of tests? I'm lucky if I remember where the on button is! :shock:

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 5:23 pm 
Offline
Tinhorn

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 12:50 am
Posts: 317
Favourite food: overmuramovingcake
RZ wrote:
dejan wrote:
Hehe... No, I never worked directly for Yamaha, however, I found this "by accident" years ago...


So, one day you decided to connect a foot pedal, a MIDI cable and an optical cable. Then you decided to press Utility + Track 4 buttons at the same time, and then power ON and found the list of tests? I'm lucky if I remember where the on button is! :shock:


Yes, lots of combinations I know... Also took me another week when I found out that pedal type was wrong... :lol: :D
OR
do you think I should write "I found this info by accident on Internet years ago"...? :wink:

BTW-Did you try this test on 2400?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 5:42 pm 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1256
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
dejan wrote:
HogTime, can you confirm this test procedure also works for AW1600?

Yes, the diagnostics screen comes up on the AW1600, too. However, I can't cursor past #4-LED. The items below that all have an extra "dash" in front of them, compared to #1 to #4. Test #4-LED did work.

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 3:30 am 
Offline
Spaminator Extraordinaire
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:58 pm
Posts: 8110
Favourite food: sushi
Machine type: AW2400
dejan wrote:
RZ wrote:
dejan wrote:
Hehe... No, I never worked directly for Yamaha, however, I found this "by accident" years ago...


So, one day you decided to connect a foot pedal, a MIDI cable and an optical cable. Then you decided to press Utility + Track 4 buttons at the same time, and then power ON and found the list of tests? I'm lucky if I remember where the on button is! :shock:


Yes, lots of combinations I know... Also took me another week when I found out that pedal type was wrong... :lol: :D
OR
do you think I should write "I found this info by accident on Internet years ago"...? :wink:

BTW-Did you try this test on 2400?


I don't have the foot pedal, I don't have the optical cable nor do I have the balls to do that test.

_________________
GSMUSIC: Hey RZ, Im not no upper class american, the gear I own is what I have special to me. My car sucks, my house sucks, my nieghborhood sucks. Does yours RZ? Does it?

rz-land


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 8:12 pm 
Offline
No More Coasters!
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:33 pm
Posts: 1793
Machine type: AW1600
RZ wrote:
dejan wrote:
RZ wrote:
dejan wrote:
Hehe... No, I never worked directly for Yamaha, however, I found this "by accident" years ago...


So, one day you decided to connect a foot pedal, a MIDI cable and an optical cable. Then you decided to press Utility + Track 4 buttons at the same time, and then power ON and found the list of tests? I'm lucky if I remember where the on button is! :shock:


Yes, lots of combinations I know... Also took me another week when I found out that pedal type was wrong... :lol: :D
OR
do you think I should write "I found this info by accident on Internet years ago"...? :wink:

BTW-Did you try this test on 2400?


I don't have the foot pedal, I don't have the optical cable nor do I have the balls to do that test.


I have everything I need to do it......and I'm still to scared to try!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 12:38 am 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5017
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
utah wrote:

I have everything I need to do it......and I'm still to scared to try!


Just do it. If you mess up, press the "undo" button. :)

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2016 11:09 am 
Offline
Tinhorn

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 12:50 am
Posts: 317
Favourite food: overmuramovingcake
dejan wrote:

For complete diagnose of G first connect pedal (momentary ON type like FC-5), MIDI cable (connect MIDI IN to MIDI OUT) and optical cable (connect IN to OUT). Some of these tests will work even without cables...
Press Utility + Track 4 buttons at the same time, and then power ON. When you see bios version page you can release buttons.
Now you will see a list of tests which you can operate with Enter or Cancel buttons (+ follow directions which button to press).


For 1600 Diagnostic test there's little difference:
Press Utility + Track 6 keys at the same time, and then power ON.
Here you need coax spdif cables (no optical on 1600).
If you want to test USB too, you need to connect it to PC with USB 2.0 port and Win XP.

You probably don't need cables to test inside hardware only, but I never tried this.
Also: you are doing this on your own risk :!:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group