The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 6:53 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Synching two AW16G's
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 6:01 pm 
Offline
HamelnStock Survivor and Midi Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:20 am
Posts: 2640
Location: Belgium
Favourite food: the edible kind
Machine type: AW16G
It's a walk in the park really. Just go to Utillity -> Midi and switch to MTC mode (the midi button will switch off). Then set one device in master (twice) on the same page and the other one in slave mode. Now when you start the master the slave will follow (obviously). When you rewind to a position half way trough the song and press record for example, the slave will start at the exact same position so now i have an AW32G or a AW16G² if you will. :D

_________________
In a minute it might be gone. Life is a bear in a bubble.

http://www.soundclick.com/bearinabubble


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Synching two AW16G's
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 6:12 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5017
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
That is waaay cool, but what went wrong here?

http://forum.dijonstock.com/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=7664

It sounded like an old fashioned tape machine with a broken motor.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Synching two AW16G's
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:26 pm 
Offline
HamelnStock Survivor and Midi Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:20 am
Posts: 2640
Location: Belgium
Favourite food: the edible kind
Machine type: AW16G
Robbie wrote:
That is waaay cool, but what went wrong here?

http://forum.dijonstock.com/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=7664

It sounded like an old fashioned tape machine with a broken motor.


I don't know but i will try to find out. As we speak i have both machines recording each others click track for 200 measures and then will do that again the other way arround. If need be i'll rerecord each others recording. See what comes up.

(20 Minutes later)

Boy is that metronome sound boring !

Strange 222 measures and the clicks stay rigt on top of each other ...
Is there a representable tests i can do ?

_________________
In a minute it might be gone. Life is a bear in a bubble.

http://www.soundclick.com/bearinabubble


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Synching two AW16G's
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 11:58 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5017
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
I don't know - I used the procedure mentioned in that topic and found the playback frequency to change constantly in a range of 6% (that's a complete semitone). As if someone is putting a break on a tape. Horrible!

Maybe I did something wrong. If so. I'd like to know about it so I can use it successfully later.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Synching two AW16G's
PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 12:20 am 
Offline
HamelnStock Survivor and Midi Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:20 am
Posts: 2640
Location: Belgium
Favourite food: the edible kind
Machine type: AW16G
I checked the procedure.

I did not use any optical stuff as i don't have any.
I have set both MTC and MMC to slave on the slave which may be overkill.
I activated MTC for midi out on both machines.
I did connect both midi in and out to each others oponent.
The recorded clicks sound ok.
The machines follow each other but on playback it takes a second before you hear the slave kick in. The display shows that they are synched to the beat if i start the master on measure 100.1 so starts the other. I have to press play and record on the slave at which point it starts blinking. When i press record start on the master they both start recording.

I also checked out another cool feature. Calling scenes with program change messages. I can send those from my midi controller and record them on the PC. An automated G seems pretty interessting.

_________________
In a minute it might be gone. Life is a bear in a bubble.

http://www.soundclick.com/bearinabubble


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Synching two AW16G's
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:55 am 
Offline
Footswitch Genius
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:54 am
Posts: 535
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Favourite food: Jarlsberg
Machine type: AW16G
a bit of thread necro - rise thread, and live again

tldr:

i've just done the 2 x G thing and have encountered the issue with the optics and the speed increase. the solution is to use the slave machine as the audio master i.e. feed the digital out from the MTC Master to the MTC Slave, and the main audio outs used are those of the MTC Slave

if you use the MTC Master as the main output and feed the slave's digital audio to it, problems arise from the slave dropping behind a little then increasing its clock to catch up*; the master syncs with the increased clock being fed to it; the slave drops behind again as per usual; slave catches up and increases its clock to do so; master syncs with the new increased clock; slave drops behind again, and the whole thing repeats

i'm quite amazed at how simple the 2 x G setup seems to be, i was expecting it to be more fiddly. everything stops and starts on cue, sync is perfect, scenes all change in unison, and i did a small take to make sure audio from both machines was being passed through the mastering filters and recorded properly*** and it was

*** don't forget to disable the mastering filters/dynamics on the 'audio slave' machine, (i.e. the MTC Master) or else you'll be passing it through them on both machines. to do this, on the MTC Master machine only: select 'Recall Safe' in the Scenes menu, and highlight the Stereo button down the bottom right. then turn dynamics off for the Stereo channel - now no scene event can turn the Stereo's dynamics back on again. this setting persists after power-off/restart.

* a midi synched slave gives the impression of being somewhat like a kid's wagon with a long handle, i.e. however far or fast you (the master) walk, the wagon follows at the same speed/distance, held rigidly in place by the handle. midi sync is actually more like having the wagon on a spring, where it lags behind then suddenly speeds a little past you, then slows down and falls behind again etc. - these little automatic adjustments are normally very quick and imperceptible. normally.

/tldr: 2 AW16Gs is good. don't wire them the wrong way round. also, you are lazy.

_________________
Wanted to buy: one Right Word Clock, in good condition.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Synching two AW16G's
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 12:11 pm 
Offline
Tinhorn

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 12:50 am
Posts: 317
Favourite food: overmuramovingcake
Robbie wrote:
That is waaay cool, but what went wrong here?

http://forum.dijonstock.com/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=7664


I guess in 3 years nobody with two G's ever tried my (theory) advice about setting Audio slave/master ;)


So, after 3 years... we have a winner =D> :
clivewil wrote:

i've just done the 2 x G thing and have encountered the issue with the optics and the speed increase. the solution is to use the slave machine as the audio master i.e. feed the digital out from the MTC Master to the MTC Slave, and the main audio outs used are those of the MTC Slave


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Synching two AW16G's
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 1:20 pm 
Offline
Footswitch Genius
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:54 am
Posts: 535
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Favourite food: Jarlsberg
Machine type: AW16G
Quote:
I guess in 3 years nobody with two G's ever tried my (theory) advice about setting Audio slave/master

um no sorry, i only saw your thread just now. i replied in this one only because i didn't see an answer to the problem posted, but had i already solved it by then on my own setup.

next problem: fixing 'Professioinal'

_________________
Wanted to buy: one Right Word Clock, in good condition.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Synching two AW16G's
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 2:43 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5017
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
I have two G's and a 7 week holiday coming up... Me gonna try again.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Synching two AW16G's
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 3:51 pm 
Offline
Footswitch Genius
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:54 am
Posts: 535
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Favourite food: Jarlsberg
Machine type: AW16G
i just found that vari-pitch works on both machines (adjust the master and the slave's pitch follows) which is a bonus for me. my old Ibanez Jem is cantankerous and it's usually easier just to tune the recorder to the guitar - so i thought i'd have to do any guitar parts on the Master machine only, thinking the slave wouldn't track to the clock changes but it did. so now this means i can use either machine. same for vocals - many times i'd only just scrape by on the high notes by dropping the recorder's pitch a semitone.

mmm vari-pitch :love5: nice discovery :)


Quote:
Me gonna try again.

i think you'll like it, i certainly do. it works much better than i expected it to, almost seamless

_________________
Wanted to buy: one Right Word Clock, in good condition.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Synching two AW16G's
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 4:26 pm 
Offline
HamelnStock Survivor and Midi Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:20 am
Posts: 2640
Location: Belgium
Favourite food: the edible kind
Machine type: AW16G
I want a 7 week holiday ... :(

_________________
In a minute it might be gone. Life is a bear in a bubble.

http://www.soundclick.com/bearinabubble


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Synching two AW16G's
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:51 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5017
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
That's why I work 45 hours a week, being paid for 32. :)

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group