The DijonStock Digital Home Recording Support Forum

*** USER REGISTRATION DISABLED! FOR ACCESS TO THE BOARD, MAIL TO registration AT dijonstock DOT com. THANK YOU ***
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:02 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 5:42 pm 
Offline
NEWBIE OF THE MONTH!

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 11:30 pm
Posts: 38
Location: New England
Favourite food: lebanese
Machine type: AW4416
Hey All,

This is WAAAAY overdue for AW16G owners, but I have finished a BETA version of software for Windows(!)

It will extract the audio tracks from AW16G backup disks.
It is virtually the same as my AWare Mac software, but has one or two less features. If you want to see what it does, just watch the demo video for AWare on my website... I made the Windows version look and act identical to the Mac version.

http://www.sillymonkeysoftware.com/gee_audio

Just please report any bugs and errors to me at support@sillymonkeysoftware


Last edited by jeffthedrummer on Tue Apr 21, 2009 9:19 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 6:56 pm 
Offline
No More Coasters!
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:33 pm
Posts: 1793
Machine type: AW1600
I just moved about 15 or 16 song projects off my AW16G, and I backed them up on CDR using the G's Song backup function. I then copied those CD's and backed them up on my PC's HD, and also on an external HD connected to the same PC. Then I formated the hard-drive on the G ( first time since I've owned it ).

This software will allow me to export the individual audio tracks from the G backup files on my Windows PC, without having to re-load the songs into the G....in order to use the wav export function. That's cool! I'm going to download the beta, and give it a whirl.

Thanks for the trial offer!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 7:21 pm 
Offline
City Slicker

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 9:04 pm
Posts: 38
Location: Houston
Favourite food: Mexican
Machine type: AW1600
utah wrote:
I just moved about 15 or 16 song projects off my AW16G, and I backed them up on CDR using the G's Song backup function. I then copied those CD's and backed them up on my PC's HD, and also on an external HD connected to the same PC. Then I formated the hard-drive on the G ( first time since I've owned it ).

This software will allow me to export the individual audio tracks from the G backup files on my Windows PC, without having to re-load the songs into the G....in order to use the wav export function. That's cool! I'm going to download the beta, and give it a whirl.

Thanks for the trial offer!


Ok, will this work when attempting to download old files from my 16G (it's gone now) to my 1600? In other words, my 1600 will not accept my old 16G files because the backups were not done in 2816. Thanks in advance.

_________________
My top 50 album (Japan) with "Stride" is here http://www.myspace.com/garybelinstride
My new pop rock demos are here http://www.myspace.com/garybelin


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 1:14 am 
Offline
NEWBIE OF THE MONTH!

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 11:30 pm
Posts: 38
Location: New England
Favourite food: lebanese
Machine type: AW4416
Yes. It will work for that.
All you will need to do is convert the audio files from AIF to WAV and re-import them into the AW1600.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:35 pm 
Offline
City Slicker

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 9:04 pm
Posts: 38
Location: Houston
Favourite food: Mexican
Machine type: AW1600
Ok guys, I'm confused. I loaded aw extract, the new Beta version of the software we're discussing, loaded an old backup cd from my 16G to the computer, went into Winrar, downloaded the file to the 1600 transport folder, and am getting nothing. PLEASE HELP! I can't see tracks in Aw Extract, however, I can see the size of the disc. In other words I can't extract any tracks because I have no way of opening or seeing them.
\
Is there a good step by step help guide for this?

By the way, thanks to Hogtime for his help, but I'm pretty sure he's on vacation so I don't want to bother him.

Thanks in advance.

Edit: for some reason I'm getting the archive cd in Microsoft Word, and when I try to click on it, it tells me that I can't open the file because it's larger than 512 mb. Thus, I'm doing the download via the Winrar software. Is that correct?

_________________
My top 50 album (Japan) with "Stride" is here http://www.myspace.com/garybelinstride
My new pop rock demos are here http://www.myspace.com/garybelin


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:51 pm 
Offline
NEWBIE OF THE MONTH!

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 11:30 pm
Posts: 38
Location: New England
Favourite food: lebanese
Machine type: AW4416
Vocalist,

I'm not too sure what you need Winrar for... ?

Here's the steps to get the files off an AW16G backup disk, and into the AW1600.
1.) Insert the backup CD into your computer.
2.) Launch Gee Audio.
3.) In the Gee Audio menu, choose 'Open...' and browse for the .16G file found on the backup CD.
4.) Gee Audio will read the contents of the disk, and show the names of the songs it contains.
5.) Click on the name of a song in the Song box (left side of screen).
6.) Select tracks you want to export* (right side of the screen)
7.) Click on Extract button.
8.) Choose a destination folder where the tracks will be saved.
9.) Wait for extract to complete.
10.) Done.

This will create a folder full of AIFF files.
AIFF files are similar to WAV files, but you cannot send an AIFF to the AW1600. It first must be converted into a WAV.
Audacity is a very good free program that can convert them (use the EXPORT feature).

I'm afraid one of the AW1600 owners will need to input some advice at this point.
I'm not sure of the next step for getting WAVs into an AW1600 through USB, because I have an AW16G... The instructions should be in the manual though.
Maybe you first need to create a new song to upload the WAV files into? Just guessing... I don't really know.


*To select ALL tracks at once;
a.) Click on the first track.
b.) Hold down SHIFT and click on the first track AGAIN.


Last edited by jeffthedrummer on Thu Apr 16, 2009 11:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:57 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5015
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Jeff, if I have a backup file on my local HD (so not on CD), is it supposed to work?

I get no response from the application but it keeps eating CPU time.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 11:03 pm 
Offline
NEWBIE OF THE MONTH!

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 11:30 pm
Posts: 38
Location: New England
Favourite food: lebanese
Machine type: AW4416
Robbie,

Yes. any .16G or .CFS file should work (from the CD or from HD)
Are you seeing the main window for the program? Or, when you launch it, does it just do nothing?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 11:09 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5015
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
I start the program and get the front page.
Click file, open and choose my 16G backup file and click open.
Then, it hangs. Opening the task window, I see it as an active task constantly eating about 50% of the processor time. That does not change, even after waiting for several minutes.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 11:38 pm 
Offline
Website Slayer and Problem Solver
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:28 am
Posts: 1256
Location: 1/2 Central CA Coast; 1/2 RVing
Machine type: AW1600
It appears "The Monkey" needs to get back on that keyboard and crank out some code changes. :)

I downloaded AWare to try and assist Vocalist. I open a *.16G file from my hard drive and nothing appears in the Song window. Tried it with another *.16G file and same result.

Program does not appear to be using a lot of CPU time on my system, though.

Running Toshiba Tecra S2 laptop, XP Pro, SP2.

Very useful program, when you get it going Jeff! Being an ex-programmer, I feel your frustration. :)

Code on,

_________________
Ralph (aka The Head Hog)
"What's Time to a Hog?"
Hog Time Music Website - My Songs on Soundclick -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 1:00 am 
Offline
NEWBIE OF THE MONTH!

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 11:30 pm
Posts: 38
Location: New England
Favourite food: lebanese
Machine type: AW4416
Hmmm.
Let me do some debugging.
Looks like I'm going to need to buy a copy of XP and try it on that (I built and tested it on Windows 2000).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 8:19 am 
Offline
No More Coasters!
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:33 pm
Posts: 1793
Machine type: AW1600
Here's the issue that I'm having. I have a bunch of songs backed up on my Hard Drive as .16G files. Gee Audio works with about 3 or 4 of the 15 song backups, and doesn't recognize the rest.

For some songs.....Gee Audio works as it should. The song appears in the song window and all the individual track files show to the right. But on maybe 11 or 12 songs, I get nothing in the song window or any track files showing when I try to open the backup song file.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 4:41 pm 
Offline
NEWBIE OF THE MONTH!

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 11:30 pm
Posts: 38
Location: New England
Favourite food: lebanese
Machine type: AW4416
Utah,

Can you take one of the backup disks that Gee Audio failed to recognize and try to re-load it back into the 16G?

Since creating this software, I've dealt with lots of folks having problems with the backups, and one thing I've found (especially for users of AW4416!) is that AW's frequently create 'junk' backups... Something gets corrupted during the back-up, and neither my software or the AW that created the disk can re-read it.

I *may* be able to recover some of your data though.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 6:04 am 
Offline
No More Coasters!
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:33 pm
Posts: 1793
Machine type: AW1600
Yep, I've already done that. I've loaded one of my song backups back into the AW16G and it re-loaded the song info fine, but Gee Audio won't open that same song backup when I try to use the software.

I'll try one of the other song backups that Gee Audio won't open tomorrow, and see if the AW16G reloads it ok.....just to make sure.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 7:36 pm 
Offline
City Slicker

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 9:04 pm
Posts: 38
Location: Houston
Favourite food: Mexican
Machine type: AW1600
jeffthedrummer wrote:
Vocalist,

I'm not too sure what you need Winrar for... ?

Here's the steps to get the files off an AW16G backup disk, and into the AW1600.
1.) Insert the backup CD into your computer.
2.) Launch Gee Audio.
3.) In the Gee Audio menu, choose 'Open...' and browse for the .16G file found on the backup CD.
4.) Gee Audio will read the contents of the disk, and show the names of the songs it contains.
5.) Click on the name of a song in the Song box (left side of screen).
6.) Select tracks you want to export* (right side of the screen)
7.) Click on Extract button.
8.) Choose a destination folder where the tracks will be saved.
9.) Wait for extract to complete.
10.) Done.

This will create a folder full of AIFF files.
AIFF files are similar to WAV files, but you cannot send an AIFF to the AW1600. It first must be converted into a WAV.
Audacity is a very good free program that can convert them (use the EXPORT feature).

I'm afraid one of the AW1600 owners will need to input some advice at this point.
I'm not sure of the next step for getting WAVs into an AW1600 through USB, because I have an AW16G... The instructions should be in the manual though.
Maybe you first need to create a new song to upload the WAV files into? Just guessing... I don't really know.


*To select ALL tracks at once;
a.) Click on the first track.
b.) Hold down SHIFT and click on the first track AGAIN.



Ok, I'm still trying to figure out why I can't get the tracks to open up. The program see's the disc, and size, but when I try to open the disc (to view tracks) either it goes directly to "Word", or I try to open it with a different program (Gee, Windows media, etc), and still nothing works.

What are you guys using when opening the disc in Gee? Also, I'm using XP.

_________________
My top 50 album (Japan) with "Stride" is here http://www.myspace.com/garybelinstride
My new pop rock demos are here http://www.myspace.com/garybelin


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 3:09 pm 
Offline
NEWBIE OF THE MONTH!

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 11:30 pm
Posts: 38
Location: New England
Favourite food: lebanese
Machine type: AW4416
Guys,

Thanks to Utah I found the bug.
It was an easy fix, and it seems to work great now.

If you have already installed the 1.0 version of Gee Audio, remove it completely by;
Start->Settings->Control Panel->Add/Remove Programs->Remove Gee Audio

The new version can be downloaded here:
(temporarily removed link until ALL bugs are fixed)


Last edited by jeffthedrummer on Mon Apr 20, 2009 5:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 5:17 pm 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5015
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
Tried it, but the same happens as before. :(

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 5:35 pm 
Offline
No More Coasters!
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:33 pm
Posts: 1793
Machine type: AW1600
I've uninstalled the previous trial version, and I'll download the newest version once it's good to go. Thanks Jeff!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 6:39 am 
Offline
No More Coasters!
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:33 pm
Posts: 1793
Machine type: AW1600
Latest version works great ( so far ). I've extracted individual tracks from the .16G backup files, which wouldn't work previously. The program works nicely, and it's very quick.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 10:37 am 
Offline
Robbie The Botkiller
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:46 pm
Posts: 5015
Location: Netherlands
Favourite food: Ria's cheesecake
Machine type: AW16G
I tried a different backup file using 1.0.1 and that works. I'll try the 1.0.2 too. I don't know why the first backup file didn't work. I may as well put it back on the machine to see if that works.

_________________

Don't judge the coffee by its cup.
The proof of the cheese is in the eating


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group